We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you do not have time to fly to Paris then make reservations here !”
Review of Bistro 29

Bistro 29
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 29 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 527 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riley Street
Transit: Downtown transit mall is three blocks away, taxis and pedi-cabs available.
Description: Bistro 29 located in downtown Santa Rosa, Sonoma County. Bistro 29 is a traditional bistro specializing in “Breton” regional cuisine. The number 29 comes from the department of Finistère (end of the earth) located in the upper tip of north-west France. Known for the Galette de blé noir (traditional buckwheat crêpe) and sweet crêpes, Bretagne also uses a variety of local seafood and produce that can easily be found in and around northern California.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
484 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“If you do not have time to fly to Paris then make reservations here !”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Over the years I have had the good fortune to dine in many great French restaurants both in France and around the world so when I find a really good one I have to write about it.

Bistro 29 is a small typically small bistro in Santa Rosa. A client of mine made the reservations and I soon discovered a gem in the middle of the "valley" .

The food and presentation is as good as it gets, solid service, good wine list and most importantly French Bistro food at it's best!

Our table of three had the Steak Frits, sole and double roasted steak along with salads and calms. All cooked perfectly.

If your in the mood for bistro food while in the Napa Sonoma area this has to be your stop!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
259 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best of Sonoma County”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner on our fifth night in Sonoma County. Previously have eaten at several of the highly rated restaurants ranging from the town of Sonoma to the town of Healdsburg. Bistro 29 was the best we've experienced in Sonoma County.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great night out at Bistro 29”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went to Bistro 29 for a small group meal and were not dissapointed. The staff were friendly and very efficient and the food was some of the best on our 2 week trip. Serving sizes were just right with an emphasis on quality over quantity, which is what I prefer. A good wine list that was reasonably priced as you would expect in Santa Rosa. Would defininitely reccomend Bistro 29.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Little Neighborhood Bistro”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

8 foodies enjoyed excellent service in a cozy bistro atmosphere. Their pri fix menu and paired wines were quite good and very reasonably priced. Wine list is not large, but has a broad enough selection and covers appropriate price points. They put obvious effort into having wines that pair well with their foods...and they make frequent changes as necessary. EVERYONE enjoyed EVERYTHING that we had. The only criticism would be that the delicate sweetbreads would be better served with a simpler recipe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good...not great”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took my girlfriend for her birthday celebration and we were both overall happy, but not impressed. The signature buckwheat crepe with ratatouille was non-too flavorful, just ok. The Pernod cream sauce was tasty with the mussels. The braised "daube of beef" was not very flavorful and the wine reduction rather thin, not very concentrated flavors. The potato croquettes that accompanied it were tasty, but rather like hashbrown patties, nothing special. My girlfriend, after the disappointing crepe, loved her gnocci parisienne, light fluffy balls with English peas and pea shoots/tendrils in browned butter. Unfortunately, she was already full from the crepe (she ate half, so it was a good portion) and wasn't able to finish the gnocci. The dessert sampler was good because, after all, it's dessert--full of sugar and fat. But, again, nothing spectacular. The chocolate fondant cake with salted caramel drizzle had no detectable saltiness and needed ice cream or creme anglaise, etc. to cut the richness. Normally, it comes with some, but not on the sampler plate. The apple beignet was doughy and a little heavy, and also needed ice cream or something to balance it. It was like a regular dumpling, no pizzazz, nothing unique. We liked the Breton lemon curd cake with Italian meringue best of the three. Still, it was only good, not great. With a bottle of red wine, our bill plus tip came to around $180. For that, it should be spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosytoes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 29 also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bistro 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing