We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, but cozy. Friendly staff.”
Review of Glen Tavern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Tavern Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Paula
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband & I just returned from Santa Paula. We stayed two nights at the Glen Tavern Inn, as we heard it had been refurbished. We found it comfortable, clean and very interesting.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room rates were reasonable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

Whatever you do...Don't stay in Room 307!!!!!!!

Horrifying experience, I will never be the same again. I question all previous reviews. Do a lot of research before daring to stay in this house of mystery. I will never attempt to stay here again, I'm frightened just thinking about it!!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank hotelexpert1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Our 5 night stay at the historic Glen Tavern Inn was just incredible. From the moment we stepped in the front door, my husband & I felt like we stepped back in time 100 years. All the lovely photos we've seen of the Glen Tavern don't do it justice...you really need to see it for yourself. The Inn was very clean, well maintained and so beautifully restored & decorated.The staff was very helpful and friendly. The new Ironhorse restaurant was delicious, fair priced and the service was great. We stayed in a junior suite, which was very spacious yet cozy.
If you're looking for a unique lodging experience, whether it be a weekend getaway or even longer, you need to check this place out. We can't wait to come back!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank greenmtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My boyfriend and I were on our way to Santa Barbara...and couldn't book a single room there due to some big event. So we decided to take a scenic detour.
We past through Ojai..and decided to keep going, and were glad we did. That's how we found the Glen Tavern Inn...this is a owner run boutique hotel. It is historic...but well histored. We looked at a couple of rooms...with the original historic design...but decided to go with the "penthouse suite". This room was luxurious and modern. It included 2 flat screen TV's, HUGE jacuzzi tub..and we had we our own FULL BAR! After settling in to our suite..we then had dinner at the restaurant..called "The Iron Horse". They have a great lounge, and good american style food.

The overall experiance was quite relaxing..and we plan to stay there again on our next Santa Barbara road trip!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank palmway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Call and ask the staff directly before booking your room whether there are any events/concerts happening on the night of your stay. We booked the room online (& they couldn't find our reservation at 1st) for a little weekend getaway based on the many positive reviews here. There was a band playing in the driveway to an afternoon crowd when we arrived. We asked the young guy at the desk what the event was and he bragged to us that it was a concert happening on their private property, so the cops can’t say anything, & that last night it went til 1am. We were a little worried, but we went to check out the room. It was cool/old craftsman style (as was the lobby), very clean, small but charming - which is exactly what we wanted out of the experience. But soon some of the revelers from the concert came into the room next door, and were laughing and knocking things around, sounding drunk and very loud. Please bear in mind, my boyfriend and I are rock musicians! We’re from L.A. We like to be loud and blare music as much as anyone, but NOT when we’re paying for a room & a weekend getaway. Also, depending on who you are, the crowd might intimidate you. It was a lot of locals, mostly Latino bikers and their families. Again, that’s fine, but they were dominating the whole place and we just felt like we were intruding on their party. We asked for a room change and the desk staff said “if it’s a problem after 10pm, let us know,” but did not offer us any other option. When the concert-goers were slamming their door at midnight and blathering again, we called the front desk twice and no one answered! Eventually the partiers fell asleep & so did we, but it was a far more stressful experience than a relaxing one.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FadingCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here one night on our way to San Luis Obispo and I have to say that this place is like stepping back in time. Beautiful craftsman architecture which they try to stay true to. Some of the pieces of furniture in the rooms are not of the period but are older. They make a sincere attempt at keeping the place clean and neat. The attached restaurant had a great buffet deal. The salad bar could have easily been a meal in itself at $5.99 but the entire buffet was at $9.99. Not exactly gourmet fare but not bad either for the price. The center of town was extremely small and quaint. Severlay eateries throught especially offering Mexican food. Overall a beautiful place and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mariasolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We come often and can't wait for our next visit each time we leave. Accommodations are lovely, attendants are curteous and helpful and the owners have an acute sense of what hospitality truly means. We look forward to our future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Georue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
0.2 mi away
Santa Paula Inn
Santa Paula Inn
#2 of 4 in Santa Paula
151 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
9.3 mi away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
8.5 mi away
Best Western La Posada Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Tavern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Tavern Inn

Address: 134 N Mill St, Santa Paula, CA 93060-2882
Location: United States > California > Santa Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Paula
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Tavern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a unique blend of rustic charm and sleek sophistication at the historic Glen Tavern Inn in Ventura County, California. Built in the days of grand hotels, the Tudor-Craftsman style-landmark in Santa Paula, California offers guests affordable elegance. Whether you seek a romantic or family getaway, or just peace and quiet, we invite you to make it your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Tavern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Tavern Hotel Santa Paula
Glen Tavern Santa Paula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing