We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it !”

The Penthouse at the Huntley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: California
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it !”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The setting is magnificent...the food is of excellent quality and well prepared. I had the lamb and it was spot on. It is certainly a place for the chic people in LA but if you want to splurge on a top notch night out then this is very special. The bar is full of LA's beautiful people and it's fun to be a part of that. max that Mastercard ! Oh yes...the waiters and general service is of a level that should be found everywhere...exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    168
    45
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friend's suggestion was right on...”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

In from Toronto once again and our L.A. friends suggested we try the Penthouse. It did not disappoint!

The restaurant was very busy, even for a Monday night and after being told it would be 20 minutes for a table, we were seated sooner.

Food and service were everything we were told and once again nothing disappointed!

Only suggestion would be to ask for a table with a view...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLY_GUY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning view, romantic decor and good food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant is located at the top level of Hentley Hotel in Santa Monica. It offers 270 degree of stunning view of Pacific Ocean, Santa Monica beaches, the town, the Westwood and Santa Monica Mountain. The decor is white and romantic. Some of the nooks have white gauze curtains that made the environment very intimate. The restroom has the white stone wall that isn't traditional stone wall. The windows in restroom has a beautiful view of the ocean. The fireplace is a modern fireplace that adds romantic mood.

I have been here severl time for both lunch and dinner.

I came here with a frew friends recently on a Monday night. The restaurant was full. I had crispy duck confit for the starter. The duck confit was crispy, salty and warm. Only a few of them I had hard time to chew. The rest of them was very good. I shaared Chateaubriand with my friend. The meat was good and tender. Only the sauce was a bit short. But I liked the horseradish sauce. The dessert is Venetian: Meringue Raspberry Sorbet. It's a very interesting dessert: the raspberry sorbet is between the flat meringue piece. The meringue is sweet and the sorbet isn't too sweet. The visual of this dessert is also very good.

This is a place to bring out-of-town friends to have a taste of good food in LA.

I didn't give 5 stars because the restaurant is pricy.

Tips: try to park your car on the street. Parking in the hotel with validation is 8 $.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I visited the Penthouse with friends while on vacation in LA, we were meeting other friends for a night out. The venue is located at the top floor of the Huntley Hotel in Santa Monica on Ocean Avenue. So without a doubt the first thing you would expect is a breathtaking view of the ocean. So if you are going there for dinner, make sure you book a table beforehand overlooking the west side towards the ocean, you will definitely enjoy a unique experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails, great view--but the staff needs some help.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited the Huntley Hotel bar on the top floor with a friend for some late-night cocktails. The cocktails were really wonderful, and excellently mixed--once we finally got them, that is. While the view from the bar was wonderful, and the lighting and music perfect, I'm afraid to say the bar staff took their time offering us the cocktail menus, coming back again to take our order, and processing our bill when we were ready to leave. Our bartender in particular seemed more preoccupied with making sure we knew he was top dog than actually proving why we should think he's simply an excellent bartender, which is what we were looking for.

It seem pretension takes precedence over good old-fashioned substance and service here. While I did enjoy the view and the atmosphere, the lack of service at this high-class no-class establishment pretty much guarantees we will not be coming again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Elisa_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Penthouse at the Huntley Hotel also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to The Penthouse at the Huntley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing