We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveler rating
112
366
315
161
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
366
315
161
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee and pastries street promenade excellent location santa monica pier each morning an older hotel rooms are small light sleeper bars and restaurants complimentary breakfast two blocks lax
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

This was a great find. 2 blocks from the beach. 3 blocks from the Santa Monica Pier and one block from the 3rd Street Promenade. The room was nice. The staff was excellent. This is right in the heart of What makes Santa Monica a place to visit. Beach, bars, shops and restaurants. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you for posting a four bubble review here on TripAdvisor from your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to read that our location worked out well for your visit and our team provided you with excellent service. We hope you had a memorable time in Santa Monica and enjoyed everything our world class destination has to offer. We really appreciate you being a guest at Hotel Carmel and on behalf of our entire team, we want to say thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards and safe travels always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We were very happy staying here for one week on our way back from Europe. Loved the old fashioned styling of the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location one block back from the beach and one block from 3rd Street Promenade for even more cafes, shops, buskers etc. staff friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and room comfortable. Minor annoyance was the noise of the air conditioning in the centre courtyard,

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for the four bubble review. I'm so happy to read that we took good care of you during your week long stay with us. Our team is really focused on ensuring that our guests have a great Santa Monica holiday and we are thrilled that you shared your experience with the travel community. We also really appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you as a guest at Hotel Carmel and hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica. If by chance your future travel plans include a return visit to our area, we would be honored to welcome you back to our hotel. Take good care and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

I got many bug bites while I was staying for two nights here and am not willing to stay again though this is the least expensive hotel in the area. Also, it because really noisy at night and lasted till the morning...it was cleaning service going on outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASAKI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

First and foremost, I want to apologize for any issues you encountered as a guest of our Hotel. We strive for a much more favorable guest experience than you have described and we are disappointed to read your review. However your comment about bug bites is somewhat troublesome for us as we have not had any issues with bugs or insects and we are very proactive in inspecting our guestrooms on a daily basis. The room you stayed in was inspected today after we saw your review and we didn’t notice any issues. Per our protocol, our guest safety, and guest comfort we also had a independant professional pest control company inspect that room as well. The report from that company confirms there were no bugs detected. I would be happy to provide you with a copy of that report. You can contact me, Angela, at 310 -451-2469 or by email at angela@hotelcarmel.com if you wish to have a copy of the report or if I can be of further service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

This is a nice, clean hotel located in central Santa Monica well placed for the beach, shops and metro line. A nice welcome and good service of coffee and pastries each morning was a highlight. Booked the bus tour through the hotel as well which was quick and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. We really appreciate the positive comments and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Maybe we will see you again if your future travel plans include a return visit to Santa Monica. On behalf of everyone here Hotel Carmel, thanks for staying with us and we wish you safe travels always. Warmest regards, Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

This was our final hotel on our Route 66 Road Trip and it could not have been in a better position. Located at the corner of 2nd Street and Broadway, it is a very short stroll to Ocean Avenue and Santa Monica Pier.

This charming Boutique Hotel is well furnished with large rooms, but once again there was no fridge.

The Hotel offered complimentary light breakfast in the lobby each morning which consisted of; tea, coffee, fruit juice, pastries and muffins.

The valet parking in $20.00 a day whereby you hand your rental over on arrival and it is delivered to you on departure.

We enjoyed an idyllic 3 days in Santa Monica and it was good to forget the car after driving @2,500.00 miles and just chill out and soak up what the area had to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you so much for the five bubble review. I'm thrilled to read your positive feedback regarding your stay and that we seemed to be the prefect last stop on your Route 66 Road Trip. I hope you had a great time traveling the historic and iconic Route 66. I'm also glad that we could play a role in that memorable adventure. If perhaps, you are visiting our area again, please do consider staying with us again at Hotel Carmel. We would love to welcome you back for your next adventure. Thanks for being a guest at our hotel and safe travels always. Warmest regards, Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews