We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carmel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$343
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
$364
$240
The Ambrose
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
103
342
293
153
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
342
293
153
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee and pastriesstreet promenadecafe next doorexcellent locationsanta monica piereach morningrooms are smallan older hotelcomplimentary breakfastshopping and restaurantstwo blockslos angelesearplugslaxhollywood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its location and price. In dire need of updating. Room was extremely hot with ineffective air con. Open a window and noise ++ from the inner courtyard. Ceiling fan the saving grace.

Tatty decor and not much room. Not many power points. Bed pretty comfortable but old school with blankets (no duvet). Tiny and impractical little bottle of shower gel so bring your own shower gel and shampoo.

It really isn't too much to ask for to have free wifi. They still charge $10 per day - ridiculous. Jinky's next door (eatery excellent for breakfast) has free wifi and we were also able to access the unsecured network from Copa D'Oro the other side.

'Continental' breakfast is pushing it. Dry muffins or pastries and coffee is fine but head next door to Jinky's for a better selection it.

The huge variability in reviews is explained by the price and location. It really depends on what sort of hotels you are used to staying in and whether you're on a shoestring.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docsology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and to be honest found it very poor compared to the other hotels we stayed in on our trip.

Whilst the exterior and lobby are very nice, once we got to our floor there was an strange smell from the hallway and in our room. Our room was also very dated and there was just enough space to walk around the double bed. The lack of fridge was also disappointing and the final disappointment was the charge for 24hr internet. (There is a cafe around the corner that we went to which offered free wifi so I'd advise to use it instead). We only really used the hotel for sleeping in and spent the majority of our time out and about in Santa Monica.

There were a few positives: the location is excellent, reception and valet staff very friendly and the complementary breakfast even if it was just coffee and pastries was good to set us up for the day.

Overall however, for the price we paid I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently and was very let down. We booked this because we saw pictures online and thought it looked nice. We were sadly mistaken. The outside is very pretty though. We went to the room and we were let down. It was dark, old, and very dated. The price we paid was much more than any other hotel we stayed at in other locations around the USA! It was very expensive for what we got. Then we found out we had to pay for wifi on top and it was expensive too!! We were shocked considering the amount we paid to stay at the hotel in the first place. We soon realised we are paying for the location which is very good. The "breakfast" isnt breakfast it is sweet sweet cakes and muffins.. dont expect much. It is loud also loud at night! Also we found the staff didn't really care about our complaints. However, You are 2 mins from 3rd street and 5 mins from beach. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanieannecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located but really does need redecorating and updating. Surely they could provide a hairdryer, coffee making, glasses instead of plastic disposable cups. The bathroom was grimy, we had to struggle to move out the beds to plug in the bedside light and clock. No plug sockets to charge up phones, iPads etc.Getting ice involves a trip to the lobby, handing a bucket to reception and waiting. The bed linen was lovely. Wifi is charged at 10 dollars for 24, it didn't work in our room (311), so they didn't charge.
We stayed 3 nights, that was enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Martinthecritic,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I’m sorry you had some issues with the hotel and I wanted to provide you with an explanation regarding a few of the items that you mentioned. Space in our guest rooms is limited. Therefore, we do not offer in room coffee service or have hairdryers in the room. However, we do provide complimentary coffee service each morning in the lobby and we do have hairdryers available upon request. We use disposable glassware in our guest rooms because we do not have a facility in the building that allows us to provide safe and sanitized cleaning of glass glassware. We also consider the use of disposable glassware to be the best hygienic solution for our guests. We appreciate hearing your other observations as well as they are very helpful to our ongoing evaluation of guest services. We hope you enjoyed Santa Monica and had a wonderful vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It is very close to the Third Street Promenade and a large outside mall. A very short walk to the pier and beach. However....we booked a room package that came with bikes. The front desk knew nothing about this special and after several hours called and let us know where to get them but it was too late. $6 internet was also very, very slow and could not be used. Staff at front desk could not do anything involving a computer like printing out boarding passes. Had to check back several times in order to get help but the manager, when finally found, was very helpful and let us use his office to print boarding passes. Room was very small and had an odd odor at times. Didn't stay in there any more that necessary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear MTBTrails,

Ouch! I’m so sorry we didn’t have the bikes reserved for you on your arrival and it took too long to get it resolved. I’m also disappointed that you encountered what was considered to be an odd odor in your room. I’m not sure what that was. We are looking at internet solutions to meet the demand of our guests. I realize our guests have an expectation of fast internet access and I hope we have a resolution soon. I really appreciate all the nice things you mentioned about our location but wish we could have left you with a better impression of our services. Please accept my apologies. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews