We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but thats about it”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but thats about it”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and to be honest found it very poor compared to the other hotels we stayed in on our trip.

Whilst the exterior and lobby are very nice, once we got to our floor there was an strange smell from the hallway and in our room. Our room was also very dated and there was just enough space to walk around the double bed. The lack of fridge was also disappointing and the final disappointment was the charge for 24hr internet. (There is a cafe around the corner that we went to which offered free wifi so I'd advise to use it instead). We only really used the hotel for sleeping in and spent the majority of our time out and about in Santa Monica.

There were a few positives: the location is excellent, reception and valet staff very friendly and the complementary breakfast even if it was just coffee and pastries was good to set us up for the day.

Overall however, for the price we paid I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    318
    279
    148
    119
See reviews for
215
393
61
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently and was very let down. We booked this because we saw pictures online and thought it looked nice. We were sadly mistaken. The outside is very pretty though. We went to the room and we were let down. It was dark, old, and very dated. The price we paid was much more than any other hotel we stayed at in other locations around the USA! It was very expensive for what we got. Then we found out we had to pay for wifi on top and it was expensive too!! We were shocked considering the amount we paid to stay at the hotel in the first place. We soon realised we are paying for the location which is very good. The "breakfast" isnt breakfast it is sweet sweet cakes and muffins.. dont expect much. It is loud also loud at night! Also we found the staff didn't really care about our complaints. However, You are 2 mins from 3rd street and 5 mins from beach. Excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanieannecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Devon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located but really does need redecorating and updating. Surely they could provide a hairdryer, coffee making, glasses instead of plastic disposable cups. The bathroom was grimy, we had to struggle to move out the beds to plug in the bedside light and clock. No plug sockets to charge up phones, iPads etc.Getting ice involves a trip to the lobby, handing a bucket to reception and waiting. The bed linen was lovely. Wifi is charged at 10 dollars for 24, it didn't work in our room (311), so they didn't charge.
We stayed 3 nights, that was enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Martinthecritic,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I’m sorry you had some issues with the hotel and I wanted to provide you with an explanation regarding a few of the items that you mentioned. Space in our guest rooms is limited. Therefore, we do not offer in room coffee service or have hairdryers in the room. However, we do provide complimentary coffee service each morning in the lobby and we do have hairdryers available upon request. We use disposable glassware in our guest rooms because we do not have a facility in the building that allows us to provide safe and sanitized cleaning of glass glassware. We also consider the use of disposable glassware to be the best hygienic solution for our guests. We appreciate hearing your other observations as well as they are very helpful to our ongoing evaluation of guest services. We hope you enjoyed Santa Monica and had a wonderful vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It is very close to the Third Street Promenade and a large outside mall. A very short walk to the pier and beach. However....we booked a room package that came with bikes. The front desk knew nothing about this special and after several hours called and let us know where to get them but it was too late. $6 internet was also very, very slow and could not be used. Staff at front desk could not do anything involving a computer like printing out boarding passes. Had to check back several times in order to get help but the manager, when finally found, was very helpful and let us use his office to print boarding passes. Room was very small and had an odd odor at times. Didn't stay in there any more that necessary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear MTBTrails,

Ouch! I’m so sorry we didn’t have the bikes reserved for you on your arrival and it took too long to get it resolved. I’m also disappointed that you encountered what was considered to be an odd odor in your room. I’m not sure what that was. We are looking at internet solutions to meet the demand of our guests. I realize our guests have an expectation of fast internet access and I hope we have a resolution soon. I really appreciate all the nice things you mentioned about our location but wish we could have left you with a better impression of our services. Please accept my apologies. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked this hotel (family room) for its price and location. Then I read some of the reviews here and got nervous! So let me tell you what we found. We arrived by car and a friendly valet driver took our car to a nearby parking lot. At $17 a day I thought this was good value given that you have access too it 24x7. It is an old building but has great character. We had a few niggles with the lights etc. but their maintenance man was on the spot almost immediately to fix the issues we had. The family room we had ample space for the six of us and very clean. It is in busy part of Los Angeles so if you're a light sleeper you may want to bring ear plugs but the street noise didn't bother us. Location wise it is brilliant - right next to the shops and restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Breakfast is limited, but if you like cake you will enjoy it - my kids had a blast! So in summary this is not a 5 star hotel, and they don't pretend to be - but for the money and the location I don't think you will find a better place to stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleep ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear RichF09,

Thanks for your review of Hotel Carmel. I’m glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the family room. We hope you had a great time in Santa Monica. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

just back from a 2 night visit to this hotel. Great location, beside shops, restaurants, the beach and pier. Worst part was having to pay $19 per day for parking. Small room but clean, no fridge, coffee making machine or hairdryer in the room. Hairdryer I was able to borrow from reception though. Toilet overflowed on us but was quickly repaired after a call down to reception.Fresh coffee and cakes in the morning was a nice touch. Was an ok hotel for the amount of time we spent in Santa Monica, would not have liked to stay here for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davesbirdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear davesbirdDublin,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We really appreciate the business and the opportunity to be of service to you. I did want to you provide with an explanation relative to one of your comments. Our hotel valet parking is actually $17 per night, not $19. We proudly offer the most reasonable valet parking for our guests of any hotel in Santa Monica or the surrounding beach areas. Most people don’t know that the city of Santa Monica charges us for the three valet spaces we use in front of the hotel. We are required to pay the city the metered parking rate for 3 spaces equal to what income the city would generate from someone parking on the street 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We kept our rate the same for 3 years and we do the best we can to minimize that expense for our guests. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glos. England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our travel agent for its location whilst a good price. The location could not be bettered. The rooms as expected for an old hotel were small. We got stuck with a room facing into the hotel - it was offered as a quieter option than facing the street but they forgot to mention the noise or the aircon units that run most of the time covering reception. The rooms have fans...stick with street view if possible

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello PatC28

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We would also like to thank your travel agent for the recommendation of our hotel based location and price. We try to keep our pricing as reasonable as possible and we think we offer the best hotel value for in Santa Monica. I’m very sorry there was a noise issue. We do offer disposable complimentary earplugs and hope that option was offered to you. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
442 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#31 of 36 in Santa Monica
168 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing