We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great location, walking distance to all the pier ,shops ,restuarants etc,had a small problem with a bedside light but after a phone call to reception a very helpful maintenance man sorted it out.The free Coffee and pasties in the morning was a very nice touch.
A little disappointed with the size of the bedrooms but they were clean and tidy and the bed was good.
A nice place to stop due to its position.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Otis 76,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Carmel! We were happy to hear that our location was considered superb. We also want to thank you for the positive comments about the hotel. We don’t consider our coffee service to be "breakfast" but we do want to offer our guests complimentary coffee, juice, and rolls for a quick start to a day of exploring Santa Monica. Your comments about needing an update are also important to us. Thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 966 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an expensive area to stay in, and this hotel was the cheapest we could find - but the location was superb. The hotel IS in need of an update, but we were aware of what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. The air con worked, even though it made some noise, and we didn't hear any street noise as we had a room facing the back.
The room was big enough for the 3 of us, and the bathroom was ok. The lobby is very nice, and the staff was very helpful at all times. We don't call muffins and sweet stuff breakfast where I come from, but it was nice to be able to have a cup of coffee or orange juice in the morning.
5 minutes walk and you're on the pier, a block away you find yourselves in a pedestrian street full of life and shops - we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello Otis 76,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Carmel and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the comments about our location and the fact that your room was clean and comfortable. We also were happy to know that our team was friendly. We hope your vacation was amazing and you enjoyed Santa Monica. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location!! Only a block away from the Third Street Promenade and a 3 minute walk to the beach.
Rooms are older but still clean and comfortable. Hotel provides continental breakfast and tea & coffee in the mornings at the lobby.
WIFI is also available but it is at a charge. Staff are very friendly and happy to help. I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajaDulic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Ginawoo6

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Carmel and thanks for commenting on our great and safe location as well as our morning coffee service. Some of our guest rooms and bathroom sizes are relative to the configuration of our building, which is a historical location in Santa Monica. While I believe it is true that you could find hotels in the area with larger rooms, I don’t believe you will find a better value than Hotel Carmel for accommodations in Santa Monica. We hope you had a great vacation and enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great, safe location, walking distance to all, beach, shopping. Hotel itself needs some updating. Rooms are small, really no room. Shower had amazing pressure but bathroom small. Cant open your window, you are on a main street with noise. Nice touch with free morning coffee and muffins in the lobby. Dont think I would stay here again, think I could find something nicer with larger rooms for that price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginawoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful spot; walkable to about anywhere in Santa Monica you'd want to get to, but the noise from the ventilation system was horrible, the wireless internet was slow and unreliable, and the continental breakfast was pitiful. If you can sleep anywhere, or just want to be right near everything, this might be the spot for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the interior; ask for street side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear jschombe,

Thank you for posting your review of Hotel Carmel. We really appreciate you mentioning our location as wonderful and within walking distance to everything in Santa Monica. I wanted you to know that we are working on improving our WI-FI system. I also wanted to mention that while I respect your opinions regarding continental breakfast, we don’t consider our offering an actual continental breakfast. We offer a complimentary morning coffee service with some local baked pastries for our guests that are available in the lobby each morning. For a more hearty start to the day, there are some great restaurant options within blocks of our hotel. Thanks for staying with us and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My travel agency has booked this hotel and I did not chek what it was...what a mistake!
Nightmare! my kids have a room under the roof and no air conditioning.. in our room the airco does not work!.. do not try to open the windows because or you are on a crazy noisy street or just above a huge airco system ...
On top of that my kid were outside their room and impossible to get akey to get in ... they were stuck outside for long time...
I do not speak about the look of the rooms... old and used.
No hairdryer in the room..
the only point, the rooms are clean, towels are so so..

to be avoided absolutely!

Room Tip: just choose the hotel beside this one!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVCOPIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear RVCOPIN,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I regret hearing about your disappointment during your stay with us and I do extend my sincere apologies for the challenges that you experienced with the air conditioning. We do have air conditioning units in each of our guest rooms so I'm not exactly sure what might have happened. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. Your constructive comments are taken very seriously are very helpful to that process. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

OMG!!!! Tacky,tacky,tacky. Although the location was amazing,walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd street promenade the hotel is terrible! The lights and fan went on by themselves in the middle of the night. This hotel is in desperate need of updating. We would never stay there again. The staff did not seem to care when we complained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Napolibound,

I’m so sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations. I’m also very disappointed that we left you with the impression that members of my team did not care about your concerns. We care very much about your experience as a guest of our hotel. We should have addressed any complaints or concerns that arose during your stay at the time you brought them to our attention. I’m not sure why that didn’t happen and I regret that shortcoming in our service during your visit. If you wish to contact me directly I would be happy to discuss your stay as well as expressing my personal apologies for letting you down. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
445 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#31 of 36 in Santa Monica
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $210 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing