We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Appalling”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The good points: good location. The young guy on reception is lovely.

The bad: substantial building work going on for many months. this is very noisy. We were not offered any alternative accommodation. The noise did not stop until around 10pm and began again at 6am.
The doors did not lock properly and rooms were left insecure.
The paid-for Wifi is slow; $10 for 24 hours is pretty steep.
Make sure you ask for a hairdryer.
The rooms are basic: our toilet leaked and was not fixed; the same confetti from previous guests remained on the carpet throughout our stay so is probably not cleaned to the best standard.
The older members of staff will not bend over backwards to make you happy!
The breakfast is complimentary but best avoided; there is nowhere to eat it in the lobby, either.

I really wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hotel Carmel and thank you for acknowledging our location and the gentleman on our front desk team. Your comments both complimentary and constructive are appreciated. The noise issues you are referring to are relevant to a construction project very close to our hotel. We are working with the city on limiting the work hours to minimize the disturbance to our valued guests. I’m very sorry it was an issue during your stay. Your other comments will be addressed with our team. I was disappointed that seasoned members of my team were not very helpful and we would never want your personal security compromised by an inoperable lock. I hope you told us about that during your stay and we were able to fix it because your security is our highest priority. I apologize that there was an issue with the lock and the door during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    309
    273
    143
    116
See reviews for
205
380
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

the location and the valet parking are great but the rooms ( we got twi rooms) were terrible,dirty noise and stinky, but the rate was not cheap as well ... I had a room facing the big engine that serve the air conditioning for the bulding,you can imagine the relevant sight, noise and smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Marc D,

I’m very sorry you did not have a good experience with us at Hotel Carmel. It seems as if a few things were below our standards and the room was not a good location for you. I’m very sorry we let you down and I would love to speak to you personally about your experience. Please feel free to call me directly at 310-451-2469. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Average is being generous, the location is really the only great thing about this hotel. Easy walk to the pier and 3rd Street Promenade. The hotel room was quite small, but I can handle that. The light and fan switches were extremely temperamental and very frustrating when they turn themselves off every 10 seconds. Had to sleep with air con on as it was too noisy to have the window open. No duvet on the bed, just a very thin old style bedspread. When getting into bed on the 3rd night I noticed a couple of spots of dried blood on the sheet, not great to see. And the fact that wifi is not included like it is at most hotels is certainly a downfall. The younger desk staff were quite helpful, however the older staff was quite unfriendly. Overall, this place needs a major overhaul and refurbishment as it is very dated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFrances86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear AnnFrances86,

I’m so sorry to learn that you encountered some issues at our hotel. I was very concerned to learn that your sheets had spots on them. We will bring that issue to the attention of our laundry department and make sure we are closing monitoring our guest room linens before they are put into use. Also, I wanted you to know that we replacing all our bedspreads with triple sheets and duvets. Those items are currently on order and should be in place within the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was prewarned of this hotel a little from my travel agent that accept a few minor down grades than our other hotels for the price. Room was clean and was a little rustic but not dirty so we were fine with that. Location is an absolute gem however. The downside - the rooms that back onto to alley way street behind the hotel - noisy all night. I mean ALL night. With what sounds like garbage trucks crashing and banging, reversing, bottles being thrown in the dumpster. My husband and I barely got a few hours sleep. So much so we are loosing a nights paid accommodation to get outta here! Wifi is advertised on its review - it's not free $10.00 for 24 hour access and valet parking is $14per day.... If you love the location ask for a street facing front room of the hotel and hope it is quieter!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loco84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

the location is brilliant and the staff are quiet friendly but the hotel itself is quiet dated and dull, could definitely do with a facelift! it lacks a bar and doesn't do food (apart for continental brekkie - which is juice tea/coffee and a muffin) but with bars and restaurants right beside you can over that fact.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Dee616,

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We very much value your business and appreciate you mentioning our location and the friendliness of our team. We also respect and value your opinion regarding what improvements are needed in our hotel. That feedback is equally important to us and helps us plan for the future comfort of our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my husband and two children for one night after arriving in LAX. We were taking a road trip so Santa Monica was our first stop from landing. We were in trepidation about the hotel from previous reviews but we couldn't have had a warmer welcome. We pulled up outside to valet parking and help was offered to unload our vehicle. Yes, the hotel may have benefited from a little update, however we found everything to be clean and in working order. We were given two adjoining rooms and a separate bathroom. One room had a Queen size bed and the other, for our children, had 2 x Queens. Each room had plenty of room and the beds were clean and comfortable which was duly needed after an 11 hour flight. We had no particular view but we weren't bothered about that as we were in need of a comfortable place to sleep. The hotel offered a free continental breakfast which consisted of coffee and pastries and was served in the lobby and was sufficient for us. On checking out the following morning, the staff were courteous and polite. This hotel is ideally located to walk to Santa Monica Pier and the sea front and there are quite a number of shops and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for the adjoining rooms if you are travelling with family / kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantWait4Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello CantWait4Hol

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I was very happy to learn that our hotel met your needs. If your travel plans include a future visit to Santa Monica, I hope you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our California road trip. Great location. Valet parking only 14 dollars and left car in garage for our whole visit as we could walk to Santa Monica pier and beach in 5 minutes. 3rd Street Promenade one block away. Rooms are small and basic but clean and the staff are very helpful. Continental breakfast is fine but if you want a bigger breakfast there are plenty cafes minutes away. Ideal hotel for this short stay. It is a 3 star hotel and that is what you get for your money. If you want a pool and more luxuries there are other hotels nearby but they are double the price and more. Only negative is the lack of decent Wi-Fi. They charge you 10 dollars and it is very slow. You need to go to the web cafe next door where it's free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Grant K,

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I wanted you to know that our valet parking charge is the most reasonably priced hotel valet parking charge in the city of Santa Monica. Unfortunately, there are very few other options for parking within the city and we try our best to minimize this expense on behalf of our guests. Comparable parking can be twice as much as our fee. Thanks for also mentioning that our hotel was clean and our staff was very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
609 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
432 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,087 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing