We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Carmel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Carmel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat. One block to the beach, two blocks from the Santa Monica Pier, and one block from the 3rd Street Promenade. Very safe neighbourhood with lots of shops, restaurants and bars very close by. The hotel is not fancy, but the rooms very clean and have what you need for a comfortable stay. I didn't spend much time in my room so I wasn't looking for luxury. The continental breakfast is pastries and coffee, so don't expect to get fueled for the day. I asked the front desk for help with my air conditioning because the room was very warm and the AC didn't seem to be working. Hotel staff did something to it and it was comfortable after that.

The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. The price for this location made Hotel Carmel a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachObsessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We appreciate the nice comments as well as you mentioning our great location. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    305
    264
    140
    115
See reviews for
200
364
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Carmel in Santa Monica. The location is great only being a block away from the sea front and it easy to get to by car. Despite the construction work which partially blocked the drop off area outside the front of the hotel the valet staff were amazingly helpful at ensuring you could park and check-in. Its the cheapest valet parking in the area and is very good the staff being very helpful.

The building is very nice and the lobby gives you nice feel when you walk in. Check-in was painless and the staff are warm and welcoming. That's, for me where it ends. Unfortunately the rooms don't match up to the lobby. Our room was on the third floor and the hallway carpets and those in the room could do with a deep clean. The room itself was basic and functional. However everything had a slightly sticky feel to it and the bathroom needed a good update to bring it into the 20th century let along the 21st!

On this trip we stayed in 7 hotels all accept the Hotel Carmel had complimentary WiFi. The hotel charges $9.99 for 24 hrs and $4 for 4 hrs access. enough said I thing on that one.

I got the impression that the owner did as possible to the hotel, and banked on a lot of custom only spending one or two nights here and never returning. So therefore making his profit and running. On a great experience for us, sorry.

It could be such a great hotel is some money was spent on updating and cleaning the place, shame really because when we visit Santa Monica next time we will certainly not be booking here again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Carmel. The location is great - and relatively easy to get to in a car (with sat nav!). Although the street outside was coned off, the valet team sorted out our arrival and took our car away. The valet team are great - and the valet parking is very good value at $14 a day. The location means you can easily walk to the pier, shops, restaurants and bars - and there is a high end shopping mall just over the road.

The exterior is impressive - it is a nice looking old building - and the reception area is nicely done. However, my personal view is that the rooms and hallways are in need of some serious attention. There was rather a strange smell pervading the hall and our room, and nothing really felt completely clean.

Our room was on the third floor and looked in on the "courtyard area", which is basically full of air-conditioning units, outlet pipes and other plant. You cannot open the window in your room as the smell and noise from it is really not pleasant. There is no A/C and our room had a fan unit - but it stuggled to blow out anything other than a weak stream of luke warm air - definitely not cool air. The ceiling fan helped move the air aound - but it did have a mind of its own speeding up of its own accord and randomly turning its light on. The bathroom was small and dated.

We wouldn't stay here again - but we would come back to Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Don't have one overlooking the courtyard / interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Miss88,

Thank you for staying with us. I’m very sorry we did not meet all of your expectations and we very much respect your opinions both positive and constructive regarding our hotel. However, I did want to mention that our rooms are in fact air conditioned. I’m sure what the issue was with your room but all of our guest rooms include individual guest room climate control. Thanks and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

THis hotel is small, but it has a great location, staff in lobby and valet are wonderful. They work with local tours that pick you up out front, advise of local places to get your hair done and where to eat. the rooms are clean, well furnished and the staff also seems to work with guests and their languages from all over the world. We were there 4 days for a wedding and would return if we need to travel to Santa Monica again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Michele P,
Thanks for staying at Hotel Carmel and thank you so much for the positive comments. I was glad to learn that our staff was considered wonderful. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is what stands out the most. It is a block from the beach, and a block from the pier. There are tons of restaurants, bars, and shopping within walking distance from the front door. The hotel itself was nice. Very clean and quiet. The room wasn't anything special, but again was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly, and helpful towards any questions we had. An all around good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Travelready 7
Thanks so much for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. I was glad to hear that our team did a great job and your room was clean and quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Carmel on your next visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wrote a positive review back in 2009, and since then I have returned to this hotel every year on my way to a conference. I brought my then 16 year old daughter here twice from New Zealand. The Hotel Carmel has character. Like I said before, the Hotel Carmel is a gutsy old lady who has seen so much history in her life. She has furniture and decore from 1920's, a slow elevator, and impressionist art everywhere. There is a real bronze art deco statue in the foyer. They have staff with actual personalities (get in the elevator with the house maids and you will be smiling by the second floor guaranteed). Staff on the front desk are very helpful too.

In all honesty, it is tidy, well serviced, and very clean. It is not a boring sanitized hospital like some people in here seem to expect. It has some traffic noise, but the double glazing has reduced that a lot. Internet isn't free, but there is free wifi all around Santa Monica, or go to the internet cafe just around the corner if you are bothered.

It is close to all the attractions in Santa Monica - the beach is one block away. Great free continental breakfast of pastries and juices, or cafes are right outside. Use your imagination and you can be in an artist's retreat, or experience what was undoubtedly the height of luxury of the movie stars back in the day. I will be coming back again.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are better sound quality than inner courtyard. Non smoking rooms of course. I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is all about location everything else about it basic hotel entrance is reasonable and the valet parkers are right on the ball but don't really expect much more rooms are noisy and could do with a lick of paint breakfast which is taken in the foyer is coffee juice and a cake and Wi-Fi is $10 dollars a day,the only hotel in 16 day stay that charged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing