We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable but in need of upgrading”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, affordable but in need of upgrading”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location within a block of the ocean and the Santa Monica Pier, great shopping and restaurants. The staff is helpful, rooms are clean, and beds comfortable. The hotel needs updating, especially the bathrooms. We are visiting family here and so this meets our basic needs for accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear AKACohen,

Thanks for all your positive feedback. Your constructive comments regarding the hotel needing updating are acknowledged as well. As a historic hotel, our bathrooms are on the small side and we are very limited by the building design and configuration of our guest rooms to make many changes or upgrades. However, we do very much respect your opinions and we will keep your comments in mind as we review what upgrades we might be able to accomplish. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    316
    278
    147
    118
See reviews for
213
390
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Small fabulous location in the heart of santa monica. If you want to walk to everything this is a perfect place. Nothing fancy. Bare bones accommodations. So just get out and about. Staff pleasant and accommodating. Parking rate of $14 a day is a steal includes valet. The price is very economical.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beachway34242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Beachway34242,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I really appreciate you mentioning that our service was accommodating and the fact that you can walk to all the attractions from our location. I also wanted to thank you for mentioning our economical pricing. We strive to provide as much value as possible and keep our rates as reasonable as possible for our valued guests. We hope your travel plans include a return trip to Santa Monica and we can welcome you back to Hotel Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was located in a great spot in Santa Monica. The staff did above what we had expected.
After a 15 hr long haul flght and arriving at the hotel at around 6am the staff quick had a room ready for us to check into approx 9 hrs before we were ment to be able to check in!!! this was such a nice experience to be able to shower and rest. The staff very friendly and helpfull. The room was fine. I would stay here agin and i would recomend other to do the same. a very short walk to the pier and to the 3rd street shopping. there are some great bars near.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words regarding the service from our team. I was very happy to learn that we were able to accommodate your check in at 6 am in the morning after a long flight. Thanks for mentioning our location as well. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica and we hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and we knew when we booked that it wasnt going to be luxurious but decided that we were not going to be in the hotel all day so would rather have the money to spend. When you consider the price of the hotel as compared to some of its neighbours I think it represents good value. We had a room overlooking the street and yes it is small and quite old fashioned but it was clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic. You have to ask yourself what you want and then make your choice. But if like us you are only going to use it as a place to rest your head then it is definitely worth it.
Parking $14 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Georgie6767,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the Hotel Carmel was clean and comfortable and represented a good value for Santa Monica. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Been there 1 year ago. Everything clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.Location is perfect. easy walking distance to 3rd street promenade and santa monica pier.

Also enjoyed the free breakfast.

Would come back definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello Denis L,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you mentioning that the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Safe travels back to Zurich. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, your back door is the 3rd Promenade and out your front door is the beach. The hotel is a little difficult at start with pulling up to the front of hotel but they handle it well. The front desk doesn't seem to care one way or the other if you are there but that shouldn't be a deal breaker. This is a bare bones hotel, no bells and whistles, the beds were older and the pillows were flat and the rooms were small. Breakfast is not for the health conscious but seriously, location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Not sure you have a choice but they only have one small elevator and the stairs are steep so keep th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Molly G,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your comments both positive and constructive are very important to me. I was glad that you found our location ideal for your visit to Santa Monica. I was disappointed to learn that my front desk team left you with the impression that we didn’t care. I’m not sure who you interacted with but we care very much that you selected Hotel Carmel. You were our guest and you gave us an opportunity to be of service. I’m very sorry we left you with a poor impression of our appreciation for staying with us. I will be sharing your review with my team as part of our ongoing evaluation of guest service. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. What a mistake. Upon check-in, the front desk girl was not friendly at all. She gave us a king bed, which is what we paid for but when we got to the room I couldn't believe what I saw. The room was so small, no place to put anything, the bathroom had no counter space, the lighting was horrible, the smell was musty and not pleasant at all and the view was of air conditioning units and to top it off our air conditioner didn't work. I went to the front desk and a maintenance man (very nice guy) came back to the room with me but he could not fix the problem. He came with me again to the front desk and he told them it could not be fixed. They moved us to a room in the front, street-side of the hotel but this time with two queen beds. Our anniversary and we have two beds!!! It was clean, I will give it that but that's all it had going for it. The street noise was terrible and again, no counter space and bad lighting. The walls were so paper thin we could hear everything our neighbors were doing including the room above us when they walked around. This is a very old hotel with much needed updating. The location is ok but don't waste your hard-earned money booking a room here. It's very depressing. It will ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richgail22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear richgail22,

Ouch! I was very discouraged to read your review. It sounds like we really dropped the ball on what was a very special occasion for you. Please allow me to personally apologize for the issues you encountered. I would also respectfully request that you contact me personally regarding your stay with us because I think you deserve a personal resolution rather than just a reply to your post. You can reach me at 310-451-2469 or through our website on the contact us page. Thanks, and again, my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
629 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
437 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
529 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing