We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is not the finest hotel although the furnishings are interesting. We found the staff very friendly and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Situated a few minutes walk from the pier the location could not be better. For those without to much luggage and an adventurous nature you can get to the hotel by bus from Los Angeles Airport (International) for one dollar. The bus trip takes 45 minutes and is fantastic value for money as a cab will cost you 45/50 dollars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Wanderer191255,

Thanks for your review and many thanks for staying with us at Hotel Carmel. We hope to see you again if your travel plans include a visit to Santa Monica in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 966 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room was very basic and quite small and the staff were not very friendly, especially at check in.
The electrics in the room were pretty dodgy.
Bed was comfortable and the cleaners wre very friendly and helpful.
Our stay was very noisy, over looking the service alley and lots of commotion through the nights.
Top location though Wouldn't stay again

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Roz W,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with noise and electrical during your stay. However, I was really troubled to learn that members of our front desk team were not very friendly. That is unacceptable for our hotel and I will reinforce our guest service standards with them immediately. I do appreciate you mentioning that our room attendants were helpful and friendly to you during your stay and that our hotel’s location worked well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel - was going to stay for two nights but cut it short as i could not face having to spend another night in a smelly room, with a tv that has about 3 working channels and a bed that had the saggiest mattress i have slept on in some time.

Obviously the location is perfect and actually the service is good as well. Very friendly people that are willing to help with everything. Finally valet parking is cheap which is a big plus as well.

However, at the end of the day the feeling of sinking away in a very old mattress with horrible pillows (the ones that feel like they have been there since the 70s) simply was not an experience i would like to repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Jelle D,

I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with us. It was disappointing to learn that you had an issue with one of our beds because they are fairly new and should not be sagging. In addition, I apologize if there was some type of unpleasant odor in your room. I’m out of the office until Friday, but I promise you that I will follow up on your comments and will address the issues you brought to our attention. If I can be of service to you, I can be reached at 310-451-2465 or by email at angela@hotelcarmel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fantastically located for the pier, beach, restaurants and shops but we didn't notice any noise. There is valet parking only which was a bit pricey but not unexpected in such a central location. We were on our honeymoon so got upgraded to a lovely big room with a separate living room. The pastries and coffee in the lobby were good. A few areas of the hotel needed a bit of an upgrade but otherwise a great place and we loved our time in Santa Monica! x

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LittleSparrow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear LittleSparrow81

Thank you for for your nice comments and thank you for staying with us.We hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon. We look foward to seeing you again when you are in Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

cant beat this hotel for location, one block from beach, from thirds street promenade, straight across from santa monica one shopping centre, nice area, easy bus access to all of LA (yes I said BUS in LA) Small basis hotel, cheap for the area, nice reception and very helpful staff, (even when asked about the bus!!), pastries and coffee for breakfast in lobby, rooms small, with problems with light switching on and off during night due to remove controls which operate them so when the room next door switched on their light yours switched off. Not the most amazing hotel in the world but to get a value hotel in a nice area without the city athmosphere of LA was really good.

Room Tip: we were advised to ask for quiet room away for air con units and we had not problems
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Bgtraveller,

I'm glad to hear that our location worked out well for you and I'm very happy to hear that our staff was very helpful to you. I'm sorry that you experienced problems with our light switches. I will have our engineering team look into that to determine what the problem was. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June, 2012. While the amenities were average (bathroom could have used major updating and no blow dryer or other amenities), the hotel is in a very good location (minutes from the beach and shopping streets and restaurants) and the staff were accommodating. We are returning in April.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a busy location and so we did hear music from some venues on the neighboring blocks...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear AKACohen,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I was happy to hear that you loved our location and value and that the staff were accommodating.We are working on updating some of our bathrooms and we are planning on making changes to our current bathroom amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a decent place to crash in the heart of it all in Santa Monica, but aren't too hung up on amenities or untra-cleanliness, then I'd really recommend this place. It's the cheapest by far in the area, which I think excuses its shortcomings. A friend and I stayed here while on a road trip through California and it was perfect. Steps to everything Santa Monica has to offer, and relatively inexpensive.
That said, if I went back with my girlfriend we'd stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-IN-YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
445 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#31 of 36 in Santa Monica
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $210 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing