We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horel Carmel. Top location. Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horel Carmel. Top location. Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room was very basic and quite small and the staff were not very friendly, especially at check in.
The electrics in the room were pretty dodgy.
Bed was comfortable and the cleaners wre very friendly and helpful.
Our stay was very noisy, over looking the service alley and lots of commotion through the nights.
Top location though Wouldn't stay again

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Roz W,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with noise and electrical during your stay. However, I was really troubled to learn that members of our front desk team were not very friendly. That is unacceptable for our hotel and I will reinforce our guest service standards with them immediately. I do appreciate you mentioning that our room attendants were helpful and friendly to you during your stay and that our hotel’s location worked well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    287
    256
    138
    111
See reviews for
186
346
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel - was going to stay for two nights but cut it short as i could not face having to spend another night in a smelly room, with a tv that has about 3 working channels and a bed that had the saggiest mattress i have slept on in some time.

Obviously the location is perfect and actually the service is good as well. Very friendly people that are willing to help with everything. Finally valet parking is cheap which is a big plus as well.

However, at the end of the day the feeling of sinking away in a very old mattress with horrible pillows (the ones that feel like they have been there since the 70s) simply was not an experience i would like to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jelle D,

I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with us. It was disappointing to learn that you had an issue with one of our beds because they are fairly new and should not be sagging. In addition, I apologize if there was some type of unpleasant odor in your room. I’m out of the office until Friday, but I promise you that I will follow up on your comments and will address the issues you brought to our attention. If I can be of service to you, I can be reached at 310-451-2465 or by email at angela@hotelcarmel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fantastically located for the pier, beach, restaurants and shops but we didn't notice any noise. There is valet parking only which was a bit pricey but not unexpected in such a central location. We were on our honeymoon so got upgraded to a lovely big room with a separate living room. The pastries and coffee in the lobby were good. A few areas of the hotel needed a bit of an upgrade but otherwise a great place and we loved our time in Santa Monica! x

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LittleSparrow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear LittleSparrow81

Thank you for for your nice comments and thank you for staying with us.We hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon. We look foward to seeing you again when you are in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

cant beat this hotel for location, one block from beach, from thirds street promenade, straight across from santa monica one shopping centre, nice area, easy bus access to all of LA (yes I said BUS in LA) Small basis hotel, cheap for the area, nice reception and very helpful staff, (even when asked about the bus!!), pastries and coffee for breakfast in lobby, rooms small, with problems with light switching on and off during night due to remove controls which operate them so when the room next door switched on their light yours switched off. Not the most amazing hotel in the world but to get a value hotel in a nice area without the city athmosphere of LA was really good.

Room Tip: we were advised to ask for quiet room away for air con units and we had not problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Bgtraveller,

I'm glad to hear that our location worked out well for you and I'm very happy to hear that our staff was very helpful to you. I'm sorry that you experienced problems with our light switches. I will have our engineering team look into that to determine what the problem was. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June, 2012. While the amenities were average (bathroom could have used major updating and no blow dryer or other amenities), the hotel is in a very good location (minutes from the beach and shopping streets and restaurants) and the staff were accommodating. We are returning in April.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a busy location and so we did hear music from some venues on the neighboring blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear AKACohen,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I was happy to hear that you loved our location and value and that the staff were accommodating.We are working on updating some of our bathrooms and we are planning on making changes to our current bathroom amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a decent place to crash in the heart of it all in Santa Monica, but aren't too hung up on amenities or untra-cleanliness, then I'd really recommend this place. It's the cheapest by far in the area, which I think excuses its shortcomings. A friend and I stayed here while on a road trip through California and it was perfect. Steps to everything Santa Monica has to offer, and relatively inexpensive.
That said, if I went back with my girlfriend we'd stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-IN-YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here last week (21st December 2012). It was literally one black from the beach and one block from 3rd Street Promenade. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful at all times and we felt very welcome there. The pastry selection and drinks in the lobby were really nice. The room was always immaculate on our return and we have no complaints at all. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Kerry O,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We really appreciate the nice comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing