We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent value but noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Excellent value but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am spending a few days at the Hotel Carmel. In many ways I really like this place.
It is located about a block from the beach, the service is quite good, the rooms are
fine, the mission-style lobby is comfortable, and the price is very reasonable. The only problem is the noise. I was told that my top floor room is one of the quietest rooms, but the street noise is bad. For this reason I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soccer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear C-IN-YYC,

Thank you for your review. We always try to offer our guests true value we do have the best location in Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    287
    256
    138
    111
See reviews for
186
346
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torbay, NL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This a not a bad hotel for a short stay, but putting aside its age and design things they can't change it still could be better if they made a little more effort.

On the good side is the great location only blocks from the Pier and 3rd St. Promenade. The price is likely the lowest you'll find in the area without going inland and over to the other side of the 10. It seemed to attract a lot of international tourists.

There is a 'very' basic continental breakfast (think coffee and sticky buns) provided in the lobby (no coffee pot in room). .(tip -Right next door (turn right) is an excellent place for breakfast). You also get a free new paper (USA today)

The rooms are a basic square shape, not large. The inner rooms (which we had) over look the hollow center of the the building which houses various vintage HVAC infrastructure. This is not uncommon in older building in the region, but it can be a little noisy and not much of a view, I suggest seeking higher floor rooms. The bathroom was clean and the paint seemed reasonably fresh, albeit I'd say it was a dozen coats think over a stucco finish. A small flat screen TV and reasonable furniture are provided plus the bed was comfortable.

On the down side, in our room the electrical outlets were well past their service life and desperately need replacing (good thing there is no coffee pot!) and the shower head provided is an ultra low flow unit, think drinking straw. If you require a hair dryer you need to sign one out from the front desk (call and they'll bring it up and you sign for it), then fight with the plug hole. There is a medieval A/C unit in the wall that is both loud and erratic, fortunately the window does open, plus there is a ceiling fan (putting A/C on low and fan on low/med. worked well at night).

It is evident that they are trying to keep the place up but at a minimal investment. The corridors had relatively new carpet, but it clearly had been overlaid onto the older carpet...(short cut, might explain slight dank smell in places) and the main stairs carpet could do with a good cleaning. The elevator is quite small but seems to work fine. Parking is offsite valet. The lobby is not large but has a bit of that nice old world hotel feel with a few table sets and chairs to eat or wait at.

Front desk staff where businesslike helpful but not bubbly; cleaning staff where friendly.

Would I stay here again?.. yes, for a few days at most, the price and location can't be beaten, which puts up the value score.. it wasn't too bad... hopefully they'll change out the plug holes.. and maybe I'll bring my own shower head next time... :-)

Room Tip: Get an upper and ideally exterior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was glad to hear that our hotel met most of your expectations. We will definitely look into replacing the electrical outlets and we have purchased some plant hedging to be placed outside the interior room windows to help with the view of the air conditioning units. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the 3 weeks we travelled the USA in October, this Hotel was our most expensive and most dissapointing. It's in a great location, hence the only reason this Hotel can charge what they do. The room we had on the third floor had a funny smell, in fact the whole Hotel did but it was part of it's quaintness I guess. No air conditioning, just a ceiling fan, no view at all and very small. But the water pressure in the shower was good (always a bonus for me) The Staff were friendly and accommodating which made up for the rest. Breakfast was definitely unusual in the fact it was in the Hotel Reception area and very cramped. It's a lovely area to visit but definately overpriced. I do know it was the cheapest Hotel for that area and location and we only stayed one night so not a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is a short walk to Santa Monica Pier, beach, shops/shopping malls/cinema and restaurants/cafes.
Didn't try the continental breakfast as I wasn't into the pastries or instant coffee.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Doorman may have assisted with bags ... if I asked.
Hotel is old but good price for its location, and really just needed somewhere to securely put my luggage and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon Qld Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September 2012. The person that checked us in was not very friendly or helpful, the main light in our room did not work and was not fixed while we were there, even though we told the front desk twice about this defect. Also the fan had a mind of its own it would turn off for no reason. The room was of an acceptable standard but the location was the standout of this hotel, one block from the Santa Monica Pier, one block from 3rd street mall and across the street from a shopping centre

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Please allow me to apologize for the less than welcoming reception during your check in. That is disappointing to hear and I will personally address that with my team. I’m also disappointed that we did not get your light repaired after two requests. I would like to thank you for mentioning our location. We believe we have the best location in Santa Monica. From our hotel you can walk to all the attractions within minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and found it to be more than adequate for our needs.

The location is just fantastic - very close to the shops and one block from the beach. You cannot beat it.

The hotel itself is a little old but if you want something new - pay more money! The hotel itself is very very clean and tidy. The reception staff were fantastic with nothing to much hassle.

We were on the 4th floor, with our room on the street side. It was a little noisy the first night but being so close to bars and the street you have to expect that. The room itself was very tidy and clean with two double beds. The room was quite compact but it suited our needs.

We did try the complimentary breakfast - juice, coffee & muffins. Great for grabbing on the run when you are off for a busy day. If you want a more comprehensive breakfast the cafe next door has a good menu at a reasonable price.

We would definately stay here again - as stated you can't beat the location and the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope we will see you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Firstly whilst the address is 201 Broadway, the hotel entrance is on 2nd street. Yes, its a corner but if I'd known that I would not have driven past it twice!
It's a historic building and not at all modern, but it's nice. I agree with other comments that whilst 'breakfast' is included it is pastries and coffee, no fruit, no bread, croissants, just sweet pastries and muffins.Surley easily improved.
Our room at the back was a noise disaster with powerwashing of lane and roadworks at midnight and binmen at 6.00am. Maybe the price you pay for such a good location but we asked for an Ocean view for next night and were transferred to suite on 4th floor with ocean view and little/no noise.
I was disappointed that I was unaware of valet only parking at a price - little alternative.
All said it is an old hotel with its own characteristics - spotlessly clean - and it is all about location, and this is where it scores.

Room Tip: Room at the front - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlMacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing