We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Pier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location to Pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the 3 weeks we travelled the USA in October, this Hotel was our most expensive and most dissapointing. It's in a great location, hence the only reason this Hotel can charge what they do. The room we had on the third floor had a funny smell, in fact the whole Hotel did but it was part of it's quaintness I guess. No air conditioning, just a ceiling fan, no view at all and very small. But the water pressure in the shower was good (always a bonus for me) The Staff were friendly and accommodating which made up for the rest. Breakfast was definitely unusual in the fact it was in the Hotel Reception area and very cramped. It's a lovely area to visit but definately overpriced. I do know it was the cheapest Hotel for that area and location and we only stayed one night so not a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    262
    239
    129
    107
See reviews for
160
322
57
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is a short walk to Santa Monica Pier, beach, shops/shopping malls/cinema and restaurants/cafes.
Didn't try the continental breakfast as I wasn't into the pastries or instant coffee.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Doorman may have assisted with bags ... if I asked.
Hotel is old but good price for its location, and really just needed somewhere to securely put my luggage and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon Qld Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in September 2012. The person that checked us in was not very friendly or helpful, the main light in our room did not work and was not fixed while we were there, even though we told the front desk twice about this defect. Also the fan had a mind of its own it would turn off for no reason. The room was of an acceptable standard but the location was the standout of this hotel, one block from the Santa Monica Pier, one block from 3rd street mall and across the street from a shopping centre

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Please allow me to apologize for the less than welcoming reception during your check in. That is disappointing to hear and I will personally address that with my team. I’m also disappointed that we did not get your light repaired after two requests. I would like to thank you for mentioning our location. We believe we have the best location in Santa Monica. From our hotel you can walk to all the attractions within minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and found it to be more than adequate for our needs.

The location is just fantastic - very close to the shops and one block from the beach. You cannot beat it.

The hotel itself is a little old but if you want something new - pay more money! The hotel itself is very very clean and tidy. The reception staff were fantastic with nothing to much hassle.

We were on the 4th floor, with our room on the street side. It was a little noisy the first night but being so close to bars and the street you have to expect that. The room itself was very tidy and clean with two double beds. The room was quite compact but it suited our needs.

We did try the complimentary breakfast - juice, coffee & muffins. Great for grabbing on the run when you are off for a busy day. If you want a more comprehensive breakfast the cafe next door has a good menu at a reasonable price.

We would definately stay here again - as stated you can't beat the location and the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope we will see you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Firstly whilst the address is 201 Broadway, the hotel entrance is on 2nd street. Yes, its a corner but if I'd known that I would not have driven past it twice!
It's a historic building and not at all modern, but it's nice. I agree with other comments that whilst 'breakfast' is included it is pastries and coffee, no fruit, no bread, croissants, just sweet pastries and muffins.Surley easily improved.
Our room at the back was a noise disaster with powerwashing of lane and roadworks at midnight and binmen at 6.00am. Maybe the price you pay for such a good location but we asked for an Ocean view for next night and were transferred to suite on 4th floor with ocean view and little/no noise.
I was disappointed that I was unaware of valet only parking at a price - little alternative.
All said it is an old hotel with its own characteristics - spotlessly clean - and it is all about location, and this is where it scores.

Room Tip: Room at the front - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlMacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we were a little worried, was this faulty towers all over again, HOWEVER we warmed to the place as the time progressed. Considering it is a historic building we decided to re-label it quirky!!!! The coffee, tea, muffins and pastries in the foyer each morning a very nice touch. Help with getting boarding passes printed by a very nice man at reception much appreciated. YES if in town I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not a fancy hotel but amazing location. One block back from the font and two blocks from all the shops and restaurants.

Hotel is not fancy but the price is incredibly reasonable.

Breakfast is included but poor. Only pastries and coffee - no cereal, fruit etc. Could be improved?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d9300q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#7 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#28 of 35 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Property: Hotel Carmel
Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing