We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carmel
Nearby Hotels
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bayside Hotel(Santa Monica)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$527
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$343
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$495
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Shutters on the Beach(Santa Monica)
$661
$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
103
342
293
153
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
342
293
153
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee and pastriesstreet promenadecafe next doorexcellent locationsanta monica piereach morningrooms are smallan older hotelcomplimentary breakfastshopping and restaurantstwo blockslos angelesearplugslaxhollywood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is a little old and dated. Having said that I would have no problem in staying here again as it is in the heart of Santa Monica. Just turning one block brings you to the Pier and Beach. And all the shops and restaurants are also close by. As for Hotel Carmel, it is a little dark inside and the corridors are old and in need of an update. The room we stayed in was clean and there was no outside noise or disturbance from other guest rooms. The selection for breakfast wasn't to my taste but that is not the fault of Hotel Carmel as most places in the USA offer this style of food, and being from the UK Im not too fussed about anything sweet first thing in the morning. Overall a nice hotel in a safe area, great location for the beach, shops etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is basic but clean and in a good location. If you are looking to impress someone then maybe not. But if you want to visit Santa Monica and be a 10 minute walk to the beach and pieir and around the corner from the the Third Street Promenade where the shops and restaurants are then this is great.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank BoltonionLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Carmel for the first 3 nights of our holiday and it was an ideal base, outside the "city centre" but right in the heart of Santa Monica and perfect for exploring from. The rooms are not large, but they are clean and the beds comfy. Plus there is free coffee and pastry in the lobby first thing, which was great as it meant we could grab a cup and then wonder around a bit before deciding on where to sit and eat breakfast or have a little snack and then save ourselves for brunch later.

Overall, if you are wanting 5* luxury, this isn’t the place for you. But if you want a good hotel that is clean and in the centre of Santa Monica with a lovely feel and easy access to great restaurants as well as the beach, this place is ideal and I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Street facing have sea view but can be very noisey at night - your choice!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The first point is not the Hotels fault but the company we booked with. We were advised that it was free car parking after initially choosing a hotel on the front but it costs $14 a day to park.Also they charge for Wi-Fi, something we were not expecting after staying in 3 other hotels in the USA so we went for our morning coffee around the corner so it was free.
The rooms are fairly spacious but they do smell damp. We did complain and then found a really heavy lemon smell when we returned which quickly disappeared and the musty smell returned.Our blind didn't work in our room and had to call someone to get it back down after someone had pulled it up after our next complaint. It was comical as when someone had got the blind down the next morning the maid had again somehow pulled it up! We then gave up ourselves and for the rest of our stay the hotel was pulled up. There's no actual extractor fan just a hole in the wall to take the shower or bath steam away.
Plus points are the location to the pier and the shopping on 3rd street.
Finally, when asking about the parking when we checked in I was very abruptly and rudely told I was wrong.
One more Point is that it is noisy and there is a big development starting next to this hotel.
Santa Monica is a fantastic place, I wouldn't stay here again and would pay the extra for a better hotel,even if I had to pay Car Parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneWardBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stayed at this hotel about a year ago and i loved it it was inexpensive and was close to pretty much everything so on our next trip to santa monica why would we stay elsewhere. We came back and this time around our room was horrible our view was idk looked like big acs and had fences everywhere it felt like a jail so we didnt even bother to open the blinds. Also service was not that good the girl in the front desk was rude and helpless we asked for tips on restaurants and she said she didnt know what i was talking about. she looked like she had just woken up her hair was all messy she was in a sweatshirt and no make up on. I work as a Front desk my selft here in Palm Springs and i know we need too doll up for work. so on our next trip to Santa Monica we stayed at the SEA VIEW HOTEL it was awsome i love it. It looks really small and type of a hole in the wall kind of place. But it is right across the beach really inexpensive also the rooms are huge and modern art deco we even had a kitchen!!! the beds are huge and the room is super clean i will never come back to hotel carmel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews