We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blah hotel”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stayed at this hotel about a year ago and i loved it it was inexpensive and was close to pretty much everything so on our next trip to santa monica why would we stay elsewhere. We came back and this time around our room was horrible our view was idk looked like big acs and had fences everywhere it felt like a jail so we didnt even bother to open the blinds. Also service was not that good the girl in the front desk was rude and helpless we asked for tips on restaurants and she said she didnt know what i was talking about. she looked like she had just woken up her hair was all messy she was in a sweatshirt and no make up on. I work as a Front desk my selft here in Palm Springs and i know we need too doll up for work. so on our next trip to Santa Monica we stayed at the SEA VIEW HOTEL it was awsome i love it. It looks really small and type of a hole in the wall kind of place. But it is right across the beach really inexpensive also the rooms are huge and modern art deco we even had a kitchen!!! the beds are huge and the room is super clean i will never come back to hotel carmel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were driving up the California coast and stopped one night in Santa Monica. We booked this hotel mainly because of the location. The location was the best thing that it has going for it. It is across the street from the Santa Monica pier and around the block from the Third Street Promenade. Very convenient to everything.

Now for the bad...the hotel is very dated. The rooms are dark and dingy. It was one of those places that you just don't want to look to close for fear you might see something disgusting. The rooms feel musty and have a smell. The bedding looks like it has been there for 20+ years. I was scared to walk barefoot on the carpet. The rooms are adequately sized but the bathrooms are tiny. My husband put it this way, you could take a shower, use the toilet and brush your teeth all at the same time!

I didn't give it the worst rating because again it was very conveniently located. It served the purpose for a one night stay. I would not go back nor would I have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed the friendly,helpful staff, and clean room. Perfect location and good price.
The rooms are small, no fridge or bathroom fan for drawbacks.
I recommend 4th. Floor for best view, it is just a peekaboo, but nice.
Enterprise fish co. Is a great place for seafood.

Room Tip: Top floor 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdenaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Don't believe the bad reviews. Don't.

Seriously, for the price you pay, you can be expecting JW Marriott's kinda of service. So what if the dont help you with the luggage? :P

Let me break it down for you.

The GREAT
- Located just behind Third Street Promenade and walking distance to Santa Monica pier. 2 mins walk to the beach. You wont be bored staying here.
- The breakfast was meh, but there are PLENTY of eateries nearby.
- The room is CLEAN, equipped with a fan and an aircon unit, what more do you want?

The not so great (but still ok)
- Yes, the room is dated (But CLEAN), If you want a fancy room. Please try Shore Hotel Santa Monica, if you cant afford Shore Hotel, shut up now.
- You may need to request for a hair dryer as it is not readily available in your room. Follow this step - get out of your room, get to the front desk and say "can i have a hairdryer please?" walk back to your room. That wasn't so hard was it?. The hair dryer is free of charge.

Initially, I was apprehensive after reading all the "negative reviews" on tripadvisor. Santa Monica is an "expensive" city. You cant get a hotel with a better location and decent service like Hotel Carmel. I did extensive research, there is a holiday inn nearby, hotel gregorian, and those hotel cost more than hotel carmel. So, those who say that "they can get a better hotel with the price the pay for hotel carmel". PLEASE LET US KNOW WHERE?!. Don't just say it because you feel there is one. There are cheaper alternatives like Bayside Hotel and Sea View hotel, BUT THERE ARE NO WHERE NEAR Third Street Promenade, distance wise compared to Hotel Carmel.

Overall, you need to be certain of your travel agenda, if you want to be near Third Street Promenade, (which is just behind this hotel) please book it, The service is decent. As long as you dont expect to be treated like you paid 500 bucks to stay here.

Go on. Book it! :D

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I honestly don't recognise the hotel that many people on here are describing, nor do I understand what people expect. If you want a 5 star hotel, then pay 5 star prices !!
We arrived after a long roadtrip with two very tired babies. The lady on the front desk was very polite and welcoming. We had booked 3 rooms, one with two cribs. Two of the rooms were spacious and one of them was slightly smaller, but adequate enough.Breakfast was pretty much as we expected and we found every member of staff we encountered to be pleasant and polite. OK, this is not The Ritz and could maybe do with a bit of updating in places, but it was very central to everything and more than catered to our needs. Keys needed re-activating every time we left the room, which was a bit frustrating, but otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seapoint40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unfriendly, they don't even help with the luggage. Awful room, with a vista on the airco machines of another building. Primitive. Only plus: close to the Santa Monica Pier. Stay away there. I am sure you can find much better locations for the same expensive (for what it is) price.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Marc D,

I’m very sorry that our services and accommodations fell short of your expectations. I was especially disappointed to learn that there was no team member available to help you with your luggage. There is no excuse for poor guest service and I assure you we will address and correct that issue. Please accept my apologies for our shortfalls. If your travels ever bring you back to Santa Monica, please contact me directly and I will personally assure your stay with us is a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel's location is convenient to the beach and most of SM's amenities. We found the staff courteous and helpful, whilst the hotel didn't have a parking lot, cars can be valet parked and retrieved quickly from a nearby secure facility. A variety of muffins, pastries along with fresh coffee and tea are provided for breakfast in a self service area. One point of criticism I would have is the absence of air conditioning. We were in a back room where the window opened into a building well, we couldn't leave the window open due to the noise from ventilation in other buildings. If that could be addressed I wouldn't hesitate in returning. I wish the hotel and its staff well in going forward.

Room Tip: A good hotel when the weather is mild.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
463 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
568 reviews
Santa Monica
Sea Blue Hotel
Sea Blue Hotel
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,162 reviews
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#16 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $189 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing