We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent service.”
Review of Hotel Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carmel
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel from the 7th June till the 11th June, and from check in till check out had the best time in Santa Monica. This little hotel has really great staff from the guys at the front door the reception staff the cleaners and of course not forgetting Nancy from there online services all helped make our holiday really special. I even received a beautiful display of fresh flowers sent up to my room which was a lovely surprise. The hotel is in the best area in Santa Monica close to the beach and shops with lots of resturants and bars all around, great value for money, i loved the complementary breakfast with coffee, tea, orange juice and a great selection of pastries its a nice touch that you dont find to often in America. Our room was nice and clean the beds were comfy plenty of fluffy towels all you would need. I would have given 5 stars but there is no pool. We would come back and stay without a doubt, hopefully for longer next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations and that you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica.

If you are ever in the area again, please don't hesitate to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,

Angela Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

stayed here for three nights a basic hotel we stayed at the back of the hotel which was a bit noisey with early morning deliverys and other rooms will suffer noise from local bars rooms ok but the wooden blinds not so good we did not expect the complimentry breakfast which was fine lots of pastries[ very good quality]also coffee and orange juice staff we met were fine except for the female at reception smiling does not come easy to her [ you know who i mean] good location and with the right room i would use again

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wave60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Positive:
Great location near shopping, promenade-street, food, beach, pier and all you need.
The valet guys were really nice.

Negative:
Small, smelly rooms.
Uncomfortable beds that makes funny noises.
Unfriendly and rude staff that gives you attitude if you have a problem (we had alot!!!).
Don´t leave your shopping bags next to or anywhere CLOSE to the trash - they throw it out and they blame you for it AND they don´t take responsibility for it.
No AC.
A simple roof-fan as ventilation whit lights who turns itself on and off several times during the night. Even the fan will turn itself on and off. We fixed the lighting problem by taking the light bulbs out.
Very thin walls.
The fan in the room underneath us was obviously broken because the floor was shaking and it was this constant banging-noises. When we checked the hallway outside the door we heard loud noises. When we went to the front desk (twice!) with the problem we got allot of attitude from the lady. (She also had a fan like that in her office.....).
The "breakfast", say what? Blueberry-muffin?
No free wifi.
Lost a t-shirt when they did our laundry.
They also charged for a laundry we didn´t have (we just had 1, not 2).
NO FACILITIES.
We know that location costs, but you did not get value for your money here.

If you take the street view you get allot of street noise and if you take the alley view you get bad view and even more noise from the generators.

We´ll NEVER stay here again, and either should you.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for leaving your review. I sincerely apologize again for any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay with us.

I was not full aware of your situation until the evening I spoke with you, and I completely understand your frustrations and disappointments. Our housekeeping department did not know the bag contained any personal items, they simply thought the bag was left as trash. Unfortunately, we were not informed in time to recover the bag, even though we did search the trash bins hoping the bag was still in it. As per your request, I did write and leave a letter for you for your insurance company.

The laundry was mistakenly charged to your room, but was immediately removed from your bill once you made us aware of the situation.

All rooms have central air and heating, we could have shown you how to turn it off/on. As for the ceiling fan in the room below yours, we did attempt to make the repair, but finally had to call in a professional electrician to make the repair.

We offer complimentary continental breakfast to all guests of the Hotel Carmel, with delivery of fresh baked muffins and danises, coffee, assorted flavored teas and orange juice. There is never a charge to our guests.

I again sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

Kindest Regards,

Angela Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel Carmel was very basic but in a good location with friendly staff. Easy walking to the pier and beach and a block away from all the shops restaurants and entertainment that you will need. Complimentary tea coffee and muffins in morning. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, good towels but poor toiletries, it had no safe or hair dryer in the room but you could get them from reception. Wifi was $10 a day or $6 for 4 hours. A bit of a shock after coming from Vegas but we soon settled in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is located one block from Ocean Drive (and then the ocean itself - a few bedrooms can even see it!), one block from the 3rd St Promenade shopping and restaurant area - and Nordstrom's department store is over the road together with a ritzy shopping mall.

For location alone, this hotel is worth booking.

In fact, we found the service to be excellent as well - friendly but also professional (more so than many a chain hotel I have stayed in).

The breakfast was very basic, but given the price of the hotel this was acceptable to us and we just went out for breakfast instead. Cafe Crepe (left out of hotel, left again and on corner) is reliable as mentioned elsewhere.

The niggles: a) the aircon in the bedrooms (a large wall unit) was not turned on by default, and in fact I never really got round to following the instructions from the reception about flippnig up the lid to reveal a control panel. The room had a large ceilng fan, so I used that which was ok. However, if aircon is important for you - get it in writing before going.

b) if you have a room at the back of the hotel, beware that lorries deliver stuff in the back alley, so you can hear banging at 7am most days. Again, if important, insist on a front froom when you book.

However, even with these niggles, I would return - location and service make the price worthwhile, plus the beds were comfy and the room clean.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at rear of hotel if early morning noise concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave your review of your stay with us here at the Hotel Carmel, we greatly appreciate it.

If you are ever in the area again, please do not hesitate to book your accommodations with us, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,

Angela Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was a bit dubious about this hotel due to some of the reviews on trip advisor. I booked this through our travel agent in NZ so thought it can't be too bad if they are selling it. They did say it was two star and basic. I stayed here in June 2012 with my 15 year old daughter. We found the hotel to be great. The location is fantastic - one block from the pier and beach and one block from 3rd Street promenade shopping and restaurants. It is also only two blocks to 4th street where we caught the big blue bus to and from LA airport (bus number 3 at $1 per person). Yes the hotel is old and can be a bit noisy due to the cars outside and the seemingly thin walls. Again, nothing that ear plugs can't fix. However it must have been refurbished fairly recently as the fixtures and fittings in the room and bathroom were modern. The beds and pillows were comfy and we even had a peak of the sea from our 4th floor room. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The included continental breakfast is lacking - only coffee, tea, orange juice and sugary fatty pastries and muffins. Some fresh fruit, bagels or cereal would have improved it. Overall we thought it was a reasonably priced hotel for the area and it's location was fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiaOra08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaRogers, General Manager at Hotel Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for leaving your review of your stay here at the Hotel Carmel recently, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your accommodations satifactory.

As the Hotel Carmel is a limited service hotel, we do not operate any F&B facilities, so we are only able to have fresh muffins and danishes delivered to the hotel daily, coffee, orange juice and assorted teas, which is never charged to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Regards,

Angela Rogers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not the most luxurious hotel but clean and everything you need. It is in a fantastic location. No room service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyJaneK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
463 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
568 reviews
Santa Monica
Sea Blue Hotel
Sea Blue Hotel
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,162 reviews
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#16 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmel

Address: 201 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $189 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Santa Monica, close to the Santa Monica Beach, the Hotel Carmel welcomes guests with classic Southern California hospitality. Steps away from world class shopping, fine dining, and the historic Santa Monica Pier, the Hotel Carmel has been a favorite with Santa Monica visitors since 1924. Experience Hotel Carmel’s history when you enter the lobby; a designated stop on the Santa Monica historic walking tour. High ceilings, a tiled floor, dramatic columns and a classic fireplace capture the gracious Spanish revival elements of the nineteen twenties. Guests at the hotel enjoy a privileged location, just a block to Santa Monica Beach and the Santa Monica Pier, home to attractions, amusements, and excitement. The hotel is across the street from Santa Monica Place Mall, anchored by Bloomingdales and Nordstrom, and features world class retailers such as Barney’s, Tory Burch, Tiffany & Company, Nike, Coach, Burberry,and Louis Vuitton. The Arclight Cinema and the Cheese Cake Factory are also located in Santa Monica Place. Just a block away is Santa Monica’s lively Third Street Promenade home to dining, shopping, and street performers. Be in the heart of it all in downtown Santa Monica. Experience the historic Hotel Carmel, a Southern California classic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel Santa Monica
Carmel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing