We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Casa del Mar is a charming hotel; as its sister hotel Shutters (next door), it has really a nice charming atmosphere.
The decor of the Hotel, the room, everything in this location contribute to create a special personality that make Casa del Mar a place more unique then rare.

I staied there for few night as a stop over on my way to Hawaii...and i loved the hotel.
I must say that i was a bit dissapointed with the location itself.
It was my first time on the west coast, i had seen tons of movies of hot summer and so far so i was almost impressed with the weather... cold! while L.A. was wery warm, the coast was particularly cold and the ocean was pure ice.... i visited few places on the coast during those days and was a bit disappointed as well...
don't get me wrong, but i'm used to the charm of the amalfi coast and the italian riviera, so those places really said nothing to me.

Al in al a very nice place where to stay, i tried as well Shutters (on another trip on my way to French Polinesia) and even if Shutters on the Beach is probably more known, i prefer Casa del Mar better.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Er_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2009

We came to enjoy ourselves. No one told us that taking pictures were strictly forbidden... until the stupid Movie production showed up. Unfortunately, nobody warned us that they would be filming, whatsoever. I guess they thought everyone is movie-star struck! Well, they should have not ass-u-me'd, but they did. After spending hundreds(thousands) of dollars, we were treated like second class citizens compared to the film crew, who I'm sure won't be spending as much as we have, and would have, had they not treated us so horribly. The restaurant staff was marvelous though, and the food good(won't praise them anymore, because I am still upset). Since when is the picture business more important than regular patrons? They were shooting in the lobby, and one of the security guards tells me, "hurry on up, they're going to start, so you'd better go now" well, it took me a while, then they said, "Action!" then he tells me, "You should have gone faster!" as far as I was concerned, that was a wrap! Never again, until they apologize. Obviously, they have plenty of money, so they don't need mine, or yours. You decide????

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
6  Thank travelmonster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We spent the weekend and loved the building, aesthetic, atmosphere, and location. and, it was Emmy weekend so lots of "sightings"...Our room (no view) was small but perfectly appointed. However, when we came in one evening the radio was BLASTING rock music and we couldn't figure out how to turn it off.... It's also a CLOCK radio that is so bright you feel like you're on Broadway while you're sleeping and the snooze alarm was set for 4 AM which also woke us up. We had to unhook the darn thing in the middle of the night because it was the clock radio from HELL!!! Avoid the patio restaurant... worst service.. we had a table for 8 for Sunday breakfast and they had to be reminded three times about more water, another round of coffee (it's brunch), catchup for potatoes, toast that they had forgotten, got us regular omelette rather than egg whites. Substandard wait staff.... Rest of staff - valets, front desk, etc. all fabulous.
Would go again.... I think.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheledonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I retreated to Hotel Casa Del Mar this weekend for only one night, and were truly enchanted by the hotel. The location is fantastic, it is a elegant 1920's building right on a good part of the beach. The rooms were plush, unique and thoughtfully appointed. The restaurant was gorgeous and tastefully casual. The staff was very helpful. It is now our 'go to" in-town getaway (here in LA we are lucky enough to be able to travel just a few miles and find ourselves in whole new worlds). Mind you, since it is an old building, we heard other rooms' plumbing; and it is a busy little part street outside so we heard the occasional honking horn, but that did not deter our enthusiasm at all.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pnrLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed the the Casa del Mar on our last whirlwind of travel through California, including Palm Springs. It was a last hurrah for us. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are GORGEOUS. The marble bathroom is absolutely stunning. We stayed on the 5th floor which is where the pool is located. There was a very friendly gentlemen who covered our chairs and handed us towels at the pool. The pool is beautiful and you can't beat the location -- right on Santa Monica beach. There are computers for your access if you don't carry your own. We ate at the hotel restaurant with a gorgeous view. We researched all hotels in the Santa Monica/Beverly Hills area and were so happy to stay here. We actually drove by the others we researched and you can't beat this location. It is so convenient. There is not one thing you can complain about, unless nothing makes you happy. Please don't even think twice about staying here. You will not regret it.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank landint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We have been for two night.....The hotel look quite outdated, dirty and un-polite service.

We have been welcome but comments and jokes in spanish by a bunch of latinos bell boys. The y charge USD38 for each chairs on the beach. Housekeeping cleans the rooms so well that they leave the rubbish but takes nintendo video games!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelworldLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Just returned from a two week family trip along the Californa coast.
The final week of our stay was spent at the Casa Del Mar. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the location, the rooms and service. We were traveling with young kids and we concerned about fitting in (this is not your typical family hotel and thats what we wanted) the staff treated us very well, the room was always impeccably cleaned, they even left little teddy bears for the kids each day. The restaurant was very helpful and gave us a private dinning area to accommodate our last minute request to seat a party of seven (friday night 8pm!)

Great place to to stay in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sirtravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,027 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,743 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,692 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,663 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $581 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing