We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location trumps almost everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
BigginsBoy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location trumps almost everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family at Casa Del Mar to mark the end of our vacation to California. We wanted to stay in Santa Monica s its one of the few places in LA which is walkable.

Having booked I read some scathing reviews on trip advisor and was a little worried about what we'd experience. I need not have worried.

The hotel's location is its biggest asset (just look at the pictures), and its staff come a close second. We experienced nothing but excellent and cheerful service, including a late checkout and excellent advice from the concierge.

Our rooms were small (and I'm saying that as a European). As we did not spend much time in them this was not a big problem. The ventilation system in the cupboard leaked water onto our clothes on our first night. Annoying - yes, but the hotel fixed the problem and laundered all our clothes very swiftly. $34 for valet parking is a cheek when you've paid Casa room rates and contrary to what others have said, wifi is free. Bike hire and boogie board hire was also steep - but great fun!

Overall - I'd stay again as the hotels location wins every time if you are on vacation and want to stay on the water.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    179
    86
    37
    40
See reviews for
199
294
49
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stay here a few times a year when I'm in town for business. The hotel is beautiful and the location and views are amazing. The rooms are decorated in sort of an elegant beachy theme, if that makes any sense. The rooms are comfortable, the bathooms are large and include a rubber duckie, and you can't beat early morning runs along the beach. Overall it's a beautiful place and a throwback to the California of yesteryear.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I took my mother to Casa Del Mar to celebrate her 80th birthday and my 46th bday as well. It was fabulous and they took royal care of us. The day I checked in, I mentioned it was our birthdays and they upgraded us to a gorgeous room overlooking the ocean. They sent up a bottle of wine as well on the house. Every step of the way they tried to help us and guide us. My brother surprised us as well and they sent up an extra bed at no charge. They delivered flowers and a champagne breakfast perfectly (from husband). They really didn't miss a beat. The location is perfect on the ocean for walks in the morning and close by to restaurants if you want to walk...but they also provided a free town car to take us to our destination at night. It could not have been a better hotel and they met and exceeded all of our needs. It was perfect! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Lovely public areas, right on the beach. When you walk into your room you are impressed.There are however many annoying little features in this hotel that would stop me from staying here again. There are only 2 plug sockets in the room, located under a cover which means that an Apple computer charger will not fit in to it, nor will a foreign plug adaptor. I had to charge my computer and phone in the bathroom. There is a coffee maker in the room. If you try to use it you have to clear the desk area as there is nowhere else to put it. There is not enough room for two people's toiletries in the bathroom. Worst of all is the soundproofing. We could hear the people in the next room talking, drying their hair and even opening and closing drawers. We booked breakfast inclusive, only to find that coffee, cereal and a croissant exceeded the breakfast credit. What a joke when you are paying $600 a night. They don't tell you that breakfast is up to a maximum of $30 when you book. If I had been here for any more than one night I would have moved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a delicious dinner with a wonderful view of the ocean. The food is excellent and the service is top notch. Then into the lounge for cocktails and live music. Great atmosphere with a great vibe!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having stayed at the Bel Air, the Beverly Hills, L'Ermitage, the Peninsula, the Four Seasons, the Ritz as well as others including Shutters, I now stay almost exclusively at the Casa. It is right on Santa Monica Beach, the views are wonderful, the pool is pleasant, and the windows open. Breakfast at the Casa is always superb with freshly made pico de gallo, great espresso, and very healthy and delicious choices. The spa is one of the better ones. The parking staff are all great as is the reception crew. There is always a welcome for returning guests and it is generally quiet although the bar area can be quite boisterous some evenings.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms on the 5th floor with a patio are splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emistruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

from Disneyland. We decided to stop & stay in Santa Monica. I booked 2 ocean view, not partial ocean view, through Expedia. Requested early check in at 12pm & was told that the rooms were being cleaned. So I'm thinking maybe an hour or 2 to clean the rooms. Checked with the front desk at 2pm & guess what, NOT ready. We hing around the lobby, checking in every half hour & the rooms wasn't ready until 4pm. That's the normal check in time! Really...

We got our rooms keys & headed up there to noticed that it was barely a partial view. View of the parking lot & if you can turn your head quite far to the right, awww ocean view. Since it was for 1 night until we headed home, I didn't want to waste our time complaining to the front desk.

The rooms were very nice & clean. Hotel was located steps from the beach & not that far from the pier. We also walked to 3rd street promenade that night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear sc156,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at Casa del Mar. My apologies for the issues you experienced checking in at the front desk and that the room did not fully meet your expectations. These comments will help us in correcting our services.

James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing