We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Casa stands out among the great Los Angeles Hotels”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having stayed at the Bel Air, the Beverly Hills, L'Ermitage, the Peninsula, the Four Seasons, the Ritz as well as others including Shutters, I now stay almost exclusively at the Casa. It is right on Santa Monica Beach, the views are wonderful, the pool is pleasant, and the windows open. Breakfast at the Casa is always superb with freshly made pico de gallo, great espresso, and very healthy and delicious choices. The spa is one of the better ones. The parking staff are all great as is the reception crew. There is always a welcome for returning guests and it is generally quiet although the bar area can be quite boisterous some evenings.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms on the 5th floor with a patio are splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emistruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

from Disneyland. We decided to stop & stay in Santa Monica. I booked 2 ocean view, not partial ocean view, through Expedia. Requested early check in at 12pm & was told that the rooms were being cleaned. So I'm thinking maybe an hour or 2 to clean the rooms. Checked with the front desk at 2pm & guess what, NOT ready. We hing around the lobby, checking in every half hour & the rooms wasn't ready until 4pm. That's the normal check in time! Really...

We got our rooms keys & headed up there to noticed that it was barely a partial view. View of the parking lot & if you can turn your head quite far to the right, awww ocean view. Since it was for 1 night until we headed home, I didn't want to waste our time complaining to the front desk.

The rooms were very nice & clean. Hotel was located steps from the beach & not that far from the pier. We also walked to 3rd street promenade that night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear sc156,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at Casa del Mar. My apologies for the issues you experienced checking in at the front desk and that the room did not fully meet your expectations. These comments will help us in correcting our services.

James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before, the sister hotel to Shutters across the street (where I have also stayed) for an in town getaway on the beach.
The rooms are very cozy, the help friendly and the location couldn't be better. Complimentary shuttle to 3rd street promenade, and nearby Main Street. Step out to the beach and walk the boardwalk to Santa Monica pier or Venice beach. Rent a bike.
Hotel accepts dogs too.
The hallways have a faint "smell" of mustiness. Probably being by the ocean.
Pool and pool area is small, and there is a nice small veranda facing the beach.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank booyaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent our 10th anniversary at the Casa del Mar and from the minute we were greeted at the front door we were in love with this spectacular hotel! Our terrace room was impeccably decorated and well stocked with everything from bubble bath to a wine opener. The staff was so helpful always going just that little bit extra to make sure we were happy. The pool area was always clean and the view from there is absolutely breathtaking. We will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Go for the terrace room over the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veitchy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been here a number of times and we have noticed the service to have improved. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Santa Monica right on the ocean. My only complain would be that the rooms are on the small size (just like Shutters) and also the full ocean view rooms are on the back of the property unless you stay at the suites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We wanted the perfect beach location, we found it! Right on the fabulous Santa Monica sand, Casa Del Mar is The best place to experience all this great area has to offer. Staff were true pros, cudos to housekeeping staff, our room was clean and fresh at all times! The perfect beach hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I feel obliged to write this review as I'm currently staying in the Casa Del Mar! Firstly a little about me. I have stayed in many of the leading hotels of the world but also travelled extensively backpacking, staying in hostels/budget hotels so I haven't got 5 star glasses on as with many reviewers of up scale hotels!
Ok the hotel! Looks great and right on the beach excellent location!
Parking, you will struggle to find any close by that is 24 hour so as you've paid to stay already you might as well pay the 34 dollars also. The valet service wasn't great however and the staff don't come across to friendly or seem to communicate between front desk and front door very well at all as we waited 15 minutes for our car to be brought round through a mix up from the staff!
Front desk, mix up aside were helpful and upgraded us which was nice.
Rooms, this is what you pretty much pay for. Lovely decor, massive comfy beds and nice bathrooms.
Bar, is nice staff try there best but I feel they just haven't had the best of training and it really lets the place down, little things like spilling the wine when pouring it on me, I mean I'm not going to complain about that but it certainly detracts from a seamless experience you would expect at such hotel. Staff are probably used to high end customers who like privacy so they come across cold and uninterested when in fact they are just not capable of delivering confident service.
All in all it's not a bad hotel probably the best in Santa Monica but then again it doesn't have much competition on this level apart from Shutters on the beach next door, which this hotel also owns but has a better vibe from what I saw. You just expect more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Chris H,
Thank you for taking the time to share these valuable comments regarding your experience here at Casa del Mar. My sincere apologies for the valet mix-up and your experience with our bar tending staff. I hope that the rest of your stay lives up to your expectations and our usual high standards. We appreciate you shedding light on these issues as they will help us to correct our services.

James Barela, General Manager
Casa del Mar”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,652 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,669 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $493 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing