We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend staycation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weekend staycation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before, the sister hotel to Shutters across the street (where I have also stayed) for an in town getaway on the beach.
The rooms are very cozy, the help friendly and the location couldn't be better. Complimentary shuttle to 3rd street promenade, and nearby Main Street. Step out to the beach and walk the boardwalk to Santa Monica pier or Venice beach. Rent a bike.
Hotel accepts dogs too.
The hallways have a faint "smell" of mustiness. Probably being by the ocean.
Pool and pool area is small, and there is a nice small veranda facing the beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank booyaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    153
    73
    34
    36
See reviews for
172
259
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent our 10th anniversary at the Casa del Mar and from the minute we were greeted at the front door we were in love with this spectacular hotel! Our terrace room was impeccably decorated and well stocked with everything from bubble bath to a wine opener. The staff was so helpful always going just that little bit extra to make sure we were happy. The pool area was always clean and the view from there is absolutely breathtaking. We will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Go for the terrace room over the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veitchy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been here a number of times and we have noticed the service to have improved. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Santa Monica right on the ocean. My only complain would be that the rooms are on the small size (just like Shutters) and also the full ocean view rooms are on the back of the property unless you stay at the suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We wanted the perfect beach location, we found it! Right on the fabulous Santa Monica sand, Casa Del Mar is The best place to experience all this great area has to offer. Staff were true pros, cudos to housekeeping staff, our room was clean and fresh at all times! The perfect beach hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heighingtonl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I feel obliged to write this review as I'm currently staying in the Casa Del Mar! Firstly a little about me. I have stayed in many of the leading hotels of the world but also travelled extensively backpacking, staying in hostels/budget hotels so I haven't got 5 star glasses on as with many reviewers of up scale hotels!
Ok the hotel! Looks great and right on the beach excellent location!
Parking, you will struggle to find any close by that is 24 hour so as you've paid to stay already you might as well pay the 34 dollars also. The valet service wasn't great however and the staff don't come across to friendly or seem to communicate between front desk and front door very well at all as we waited 15 minutes for our car to be brought round through a mix up from the staff!
Front desk, mix up aside were helpful and upgraded us which was nice.
Rooms, this is what you pretty much pay for. Lovely decor, massive comfy beds and nice bathrooms.
Bar, is nice staff try there best but I feel they just haven't had the best of training and it really lets the place down, little things like spilling the wine when pouring it on me, I mean I'm not going to complain about that but it certainly detracts from a seamless experience you would expect at such hotel. Staff are probably used to high end customers who like privacy so they come across cold and uninterested when in fact they are just not capable of delivering confident service.
All in all it's not a bad hotel probably the best in Santa Monica but then again it doesn't have much competition on this level apart from Shutters on the beach next door, which this hotel also owns but has a better vibe from what I saw. You just expect more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Chris H,
Thank you for taking the time to share these valuable comments regarding your experience here at Casa del Mar. My sincere apologies for the valet mix-up and your experience with our bar tending staff. I hope that the rest of your stay lives up to your expectations and our usual high standards. We appreciate you shedding light on these issues as they will help us to correct our services.

James Barela, General Manager
Casa del Mar”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not happy, mainly with the front desk incompetence! first manager was very pleasant polite and accommodating. As Virtuoso customers we were entitled to an upgrade, if available, but Saturday Manager was not aware and declined our request. we were celebrating our 45 th Anniversary and DROVE across the country to meet our family, but our room was uncomfortably small for any visitors! the restaurant, pool and room attendances were great. as we pulled out on Monday I had noticed that my key holder or chain is missing ( the car keys were in valet's possession for almost 4 days), I called Front desk only to be shuffled back and force between valets and incompetent managers, who had promised the call back, all to no avail! we are dismayed by the treatment we got and the poor value this 5 stars should be Hotel provided!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Nadrod,

We appreciate you taking time to share your valuable comments regarding our rooms and services. I am truly sorry for the rudeness you experienced at the front desk and valet. We will continue to do our best to find the missing key chain. Your comments will assist us greatly in correcting these services. Congratulations on your 45th Anniversary!

James Barela, General Manager
Casa Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
280 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a perfect location on the beach in Santa Monica, steps from the pier. The hotel is very elegant. Front desk service was spot on. Room was large, classy and well appointed, though not all that soundproof. The lounge was great; excellent view, service and evening music. The pool on the fifth floor is small but has a nice terrace and view. The hotel is, however, very expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. Avoid rooms ending in 01 and 37 as they are near the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,368 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#17 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing