We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple days before a trip to Italy and it was great! Lovely hotel and it is the sister hotel to Shutters on the Beach (the best hotel in Santa Monica) so you can eat at their restaurants and sign it to your room tab at Casa. The rooms are done up in a Old World European style but yet it has a relaxed Beach feel. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are spacious. Toiletries are divine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    160
    80
    35
    38
See reviews for
184
269
47
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Grove,Il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is THE perfect place to feel comfortable, welcomed and pampered...The bell captain, the lobby receptionist and the entire staff made us feel at home...what a perfect location-the ocean, the walking path, the view and proximity to the pier all made our stay absolutely wonderful. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkyg140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
367 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a special event with 13 family members. We are all local, so did not stay at the hotel. As has been said already numerous times, the location is FANTASTIC! The view from the bar and the restaurant is unmatched. Well, the sister hotel right next door, Shutters, has the same amazing view.

We reserved the private room in the restaurant which has a huge square table that sat us all comfortably with I think 1-2 chairs to spare. We had a pre-set menu and it was ALL delicious. The service was terrific. We had a dedicated waiter that was very professional and attentive.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Like many others already said, it's the BEST location in Santa Monica. However, we paid a lot of money for a very ordinary room with absolutely no extras. It was very basic. It was our wedding anniversary and we did mention it at the time of booking and we were at least expecting a few chocolates on our pillows but no. Nothing at all! On top of that, on the morning of our anniversary, we were told that the restaurant was not going to serve anything from the menu as the entire day was dedicated to Mother's Day buffet! What a shock!!! We had to walk to find a restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. I am definitely not recommending this place to anyone and will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunWorshiper_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear SunWorshiper_41,

Our sincerest apologies for the experience you had at our restaurant on your wedding anniversary. We appreciate you taking time to share your valuable comments with us. We are truly sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations and our usual high standards. Your comments will assist us greatly in correcting our services.

James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really loved this hotel. Didn't give it 5 stars because it was very expensive. The rooms were great and the bathrooms beautiful. All very clean. We had a superb view of the beach and the pier. Great location. Service mostly very good although there was a bit of jobsworth going on at breakfast.

Good choice at breakfast, mostly well executed. Cocktails in the bar were very nice - again a lovely view over the beach.

The pool area was small but never overcrowded. Well maintained and a great place to get some relaxing in. Nice pool menu if short. Good service.

Room Tip: get a beach view. doesn't really matter which way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hpp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The other reviewers have said something similar already but I'll say it again. If ur going to Santa Monica this hotel really does have the perfect location.

Its right on the beach and while Santa Monica is a very busy and high paced city this hotel makes u feel like u r in a quiter more peaceful zone.

At the same time, u r close to every thing including shopping, restaurants, and of course the beach. I loved it bc I could just wake up in the morning and go for a beach run.

The rooms r also very nice and the service is great. Any time I asked a concierge for something they were very attentive and helpfu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great base for beach side jogging, skateboarding, bodyboarding and cycling. Its easy to hire bikes here. Great toiletries and proper bath-tub. Civilised bar and restaurant worth dressing up for. Child friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,462 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing