We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely hotel, great location but expensive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great location but expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really loved this hotel. Didn't give it 5 stars because it was very expensive. The rooms were great and the bathrooms beautiful. All very clean. We had a superb view of the beach and the pier. Great location. Service mostly very good although there was a bit of jobsworth going on at breakfast.

Good choice at breakfast, mostly well executed. Cocktails in the bar were very nice - again a lovely view over the beach.

The pool area was small but never overcrowded. Well maintained and a great place to get some relaxing in. Nice pool menu if short. Good service.

Room Tip: get a beach view. doesn't really matter which way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hpp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    177
    86
    37
    40
See reviews for
198
294
49
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The other reviewers have said something similar already but I'll say it again. If ur going to Santa Monica this hotel really does have the perfect location.

Its right on the beach and while Santa Monica is a very busy and high paced city this hotel makes u feel like u r in a quiter more peaceful zone.

At the same time, u r close to every thing including shopping, restaurants, and of course the beach. I loved it bc I could just wake up in the morning and go for a beach run.

The rooms r also very nice and the service is great. Any time I asked a concierge for something they were very attentive and helpfu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great base for beach side jogging, skateboarding, bodyboarding and cycling. Its easy to hire bikes here. Great toiletries and proper bath-tub. Civilised bar and restaurant worth dressing up for. Child friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Casa del Mar for four nights. The rooms are beautiful, the location is great and we would definitely stay there again. I would have given it five stars, but that would mean everything was perfect (can i give it 4 1/2?). There are two minor reasons it wasn't....everytime I asked the conceirge about a restaurant or tourist attraction, he seemed to have to look it up online or pull a brochure from the back office. I could do that myself! Also, I had told a few people when I made the reservation that we would be staying for our 20 year wedding anniversary and they said they would have a welcome amenity; there was nothing and no acknowledgement of the anniversary. I thought it just would have been nice, since it was a special occasion and it is a service oriented hotel.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay. There were a few celebrities that were staying there, having a meeting or just hangiing out, which my kids loved. The music entertainment in the evening was enjoyable. I do not know if we would upgrade to the ocean view again, as at $125 more per night, we looked over a parkng lot and the ocean was to the right of it. Enjoyed the location as well, as we walked to local establishments for breakfast, walked to Santa Monica pier and Venice Beach and to the 3rd Street Promenade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

For being in a hustle bustle city this hotel is wonderfully sedate.I have friends who live in Los Angeles that come here for weekend getaways so they don't have to deal with the freeway traffic to get out of town.The excellent service starts at the front door as you arrive as the valet and bellman are courteous and helpful. The staff throughout the hotel are pleasant and seemed genuinely concerned for your well-being. If you get a room on the beach or north side of the hotel you have a wonderful view of the coastline going up towards Malibu. The rooms are classically decorated with nice moldings and very comfy linens. The only drawbacks are that the hotel is slightly expensive and the lobby bar is a bit vacuous having the feel of an airport lounge. There's a good dining is available across the street at the sister hotel but the room service is well above par. All in all a gem - especially if you're looking for a quieter more relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront or north side room for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masterphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We felt that if we were going to be in Santa Monica we really needed to be on the beach, and we couldn't have chosen better. We considered Shutters, but really thought that was too expensive. Casa del Mar was certainly worth it, especially since we had booked a beach view room, and were upgraded. The decor is very elegant and I am always impressed by a television in the bathroom! Service was good - although one glitch was that we asked as we checked in whether we needed a reservation for dinner in the Coast, and were told not. When we got there we were made to feel awkward that we had not booked, with lots of dithering going on in finding us a table and we were not enormously impressed by the food. It doesn't quite get the five star really because it is up against some real "wows" and we thought that charging $35 for parking was steep, given how much we were already paying. But we would certainly return given the chance.

Room Tip: It would seem a waste to come here and not have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights and would go back. Perfect place to stay if going to santa Monica. Couldn't see anywhere I'd prefer to stay. As near on beach as you will get. Lovely pool area overlooking beach. Good service. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsRwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing