We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$188
$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$531
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$510
$407
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
640
215
105
49
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
215
105
49
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelcatch restaurantbeautiful hotelocean viewbeautiful lobbysanta monica beachlobby barturn down servicelos angelesthe location is perfectvalet parkingshutterspierconciergebathtubcoastcalifornia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

For being in a hustle bustle city this hotel is wonderfully sedate.I have friends who live in Los Angeles that come here for weekend getaways so they don't have to deal with the freeway traffic to get out of town.The excellent service starts at the front door as you arrive as the valet and bellman are courteous and helpful. The staff throughout the hotel are pleasant and seemed genuinely concerned for your well-being. If you get a room on the beach or north side of the hotel you have a wonderful view of the coastline going up towards Malibu. The rooms are classically decorated with nice moldings and very comfy linens. The only drawbacks are that the hotel is slightly expensive and the lobby bar is a bit vacuous having the feel of an airport lounge. There's a good dining is available across the street at the sister hotel but the room service is well above par. All in all a gem - especially if you're looking for a quieter more relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront or north side room for the best view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masterphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We felt that if we were going to be in Santa Monica we really needed to be on the beach, and we couldn't have chosen better. We considered Shutters, but really thought that was too expensive. Casa del Mar was certainly worth it, especially since we had booked a beach view room, and were upgraded. The decor is very elegant and I am always impressed by a television in the bathroom! Service was good - although one glitch was that we asked as we checked in whether we needed a reservation for dinner in the Coast, and were told not. When we got there we were made to feel awkward that we had not booked, with lots of dithering going on in finding us a table and we were not enormously impressed by the food. It doesn't quite get the five star really because it is up against some real "wows" and we thought that charging $35 for parking was steep, given how much we were already paying. But we would certainly return given the chance.

Room Tip: It would seem a waste to come here and not have a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights and would go back. Perfect place to stay if going to santa Monica. Couldn't see anywhere I'd prefer to stay. As near on beach as you will get. Lovely pool area overlooking beach. Good service. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsRwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

right on the beach, comfortable rooms, nice service, good food at pool and in restaurant. no bargain but very pleasant hotel. we've stayed here several times and would return. booked through magellan and got some good perks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights in two rooms with our 3 teenagers.
We had fabulous views, the kids onto the pool area and then the ocean and us the pool to the side windows and the ocean in front, really spectacular.
The hotel has a really elegant seaside feel and vibe to,it, it's a place that's beautifully done and styled in the rooms. Great bathrooms with whirlpool baths.
The staff were really great, from check in , to pool, to breakfast wait staff and valet and bell. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.
The concierge sent us to a great surf hire shop for the kids to surf right on the beach in front.
The hotel is run like clockwork, no need to ask for anything, everything anticipated. We booked on the Amex fine hotel,programme which gives you a late check out , unlike some other hotels I've used they made this really easy , keys continued to work after 12, and they then were gracious to give us a key to use the pool area until 6 when we had to leave for the airport.
Loved it and can't wait to go back - it has convinced our 16 year old that he'll still,come on holiday with us if we can come here !

Room Tip: I think it's probably worth paying for the sea view - it was great
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews