We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still In Love”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
ITALY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still In Love”
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Great atmosphere, lovely room!!!
EVERYTHINGS GREAT.
I recived an upgradeto oceanview and was wonderfull, ROOM SERVICE PERFECT AND CLEAN SUPERB.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELAGENTITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    189
    91
    38
    42
See reviews for
208
311
53
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Just returned from a weekend at Casa Del Mar. We were in Santa Monica for a wedding that was hosted at the hotel. The rooms are perfection, down to the turtle soaps at jet tubs. The robes were so comfy; I wanted to take one home with me. The room service was excellent as was food! A fun bar/lounge area too. The only complaint was they should have had the bar better staffed as often they only had one bartender, which certainly was not enough. Just a lux place to stay!!! Highly recommend if you can part with the $$$$.

  • Liked — Robes
  • Disliked — Lack of bartenders
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Casa Del Mar over Easter weekend to attend a friend’s wedding that was also held at the hotel. This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at and I really felt well attended to during my stay. I encountered a problem with my first room on the fifth floor, as it was directly next to the staff elevator and I heard constant mechanical sounds while trying to sleep off my jet-lag. It was very disturbing and noisy. I reported this to the front desk and they immediately offered to change my room. In fact, one of the managers tried to upgrade my room, but the hotel was booked. I did appreciate the effort. My second room was on the second floor and was not as nice as my first room and was missing the iPod speakers, but I still enjoyed it. The bedding and linens were fabulous and the bathroom/tub/toiletries were great. The pool/deck area on the fifth floor was very nice and the attendant was helpful. The chairs fill up quickly, so get there early if you want a lounger in a good location. The hotel is directly on the beach and is next door to its sister hotel, Shutters on the Beach. Both hotels are gorgeous. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

My only problem with the room was the way you could hear every door slamming and every conversation in the hallway-the doors were very thin and the insulation was not the greatest in the room. I also thought that parking was slightly overpriced, even for Santa Monica standards. It was $33 per day to park your car, with no option to self park (I guess I could have searched out a self-park lot and then drag my luggage around, but I was not that adventurous or motivated). It cost more to park my car then to rent the actual car, but oh well!! I did inquire about the Easter Brunch, which looked fabulous, but was slightly out of my price range ($75). The hotel bar was quite the social scene at night!!

My friend’s wedding at the hotel was stunning and every aspect of it was first class. I was slightly wary after reading several reviews on TripAdvisior about theft from the hotel at events and from guest rooms. Several people, including the bride, were also concerned about this potential problem. I left my wallet in the safe in my room, but did leave my Coach handbag at the table (with a close eye on it) and did not hear of or experience any theft problems. I hope to return to this hotel in the future!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy elevators
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitziOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

The location of this hotel on the beach is great! Easy to go out jogging/walking on the beach and the wonderful walkways next to the beach. I booked through the amex platinum program and received complimentary breakfast each day as well as a credit towards lunch at their restaurant. Food was good, view was outstanding overlooking the beach from the lobby restaurant area (main restaurant was closed on a sunday afternoon), they served a wonderful brunch in the main lobby restaurant area instead. I had the pleasure of having a glass of sparkling wine while watching the sun set one evening - fantastic! A little window washing would have made it even better, but it was pretty terrific. The hotel was pretty booked when I was there, so I didn't receive an upgrade through the amex program - but my side view of the ocean/beach was decent and the bathroom/tub was outstanding. There was a plug-in/speaker for my ipod so I was able to put some music on while I soaked in the tub. One afternoon I walked to the Santa Monica shopping area which was fun to see all the people and neat stores. Very relaxing, nice visit! There are only a couple of hotels directly on the beach -- can't beat this one for location.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — dirty windows
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atozz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

This is my favourite hotel to stay at on business trips in LA.

It’s in a perfect location – right in Santa Monica on the beach – but you really feel like you’re getting away.

Plus there are very nice touches in the rooms – from the down comforters to the candles next to the spa bathtub.

  • Liked — all the nice touches in the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pbrady272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I really liked this hotel. The lobby is breathtaking and gorgeously designed. I didn't really deal with the staff much, so I can't comment
on that. The room I got was a suite and the bed and bathroom were both
wonderful. The deluxed massage bath with amenities, a separate shower,
candles, were all great. The window that opened up from the bathroom to give you a view of the bed area was a nice touch because you could be taking a bath and watch tv or talk to the person in the next room.

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. It just felt luxurious all around. The bedding and mattress were very comfortable.

Just outside my room was a little patio area and just by walking a short distance, was an expansive view of the ocean. Just beautiful.

I ate at the restaurant with two other people and we all thought it was just okay for the price. We were still hungry afterward because the portions were just not sufficient.

Casa del Mar is great if you want to hang out at the beach or just relax for a weekend getaway. Overall, the hotel was beautiful and I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Liked — the room, the view
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

A beautiful historic beach club renovtated to a very high standard of detail and quality. It feels like stepping back it time, yet with the high standard of furnishings and services that one would expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff were very helpful. The hotel restaurant "catch" is a must. We were sad to leave. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelscrutiniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing