We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Mar to your Saves list
Casa del Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Really nice room,very comfortable. Excellent service!
Front desk staff were a bit slow,but other than that, I had a wonderful stay. The location can't be beat. Literally right on the beach! Restaurant was elegant and the service was superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcat146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    153
    73
    33
    34
See reviews for
168
258
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ended up staying here for an event we attended in Santa Monica. Not impressed. For the money, serivce should have been better. Had asked the conceiage to help me out with something and he was short and blew me off! Twice had to call at 4p to get our room cleaned and no turn down service (just needed fresh towels) on Friday. Iron didn't work and the pool was undergoing a major repair so shut down and noisy. Save your money and stay somewhere cheaper. You'll probably get better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lidia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

had christmas day here and what a lovely place, classy, classic, great restaurant good value food, good wines, lovely setting on the beach and popular with the locals which is always a good sign , didnt stay here as wasnt aware of it but had a lovely few meals there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very busy, noisy, dark lobby scene. Loud music every night which I could hear on the 5th floor. Had to switch rooms because the first room I was given shared a wall with the very active elevator shaft. second room had incessant beeping sound coming from somewhere unidentifiable amd was half the size of the first. Bathrooms are nice, but very tired looking. Room decor was very nice, but the corridors are loud. Pool was closed for entire stay (4 days over Presidents Day weekend) for "annual cleaning". If I had known the pool was closed I would have stayed at Shutters. All in all, disappointing. On the bright side, everyone who works here is super nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

there are lots of great hotels in santa monica and LA. i have stayed at lots of them, including the fairmont, the viceroy, the london, and a whole bunch more. casa del mar is my go-to hotel now.

situated on a small street at the very western end of pico just west of ocean avenue, this hotel is a total gem. the decor isn't your typical glitzy over-the-top kinda old-world luxury like, say, the waldorf-astoria or the palace in NYC, and it isn't minimalistic and hip/boutique like, say, the mondrian. casa del mar is a cool, very unique, relaxing, california-style hotel that makes you feel like you're at home.

cliche, yes, but it really is true.

the rooms have a sort of feel like something you might find in a california beach house in malibu, with the furniture being a little more of that antique/distressed vibe, while the bed is big and comfortable. the bathroom has all the amenities you would expect of a high-end hotel, and the bath products are unique in having this blood-orange scent (something i liked).

and there are the subtle touches, like the turndown service, where they leave a small little teddy bar by the pillow. or the rubber duckies in the bathroom by the towels. those are just little things that make you smile and remember the place as opposed to just another high-end hotel.

i didn't try the restaurant, but the room service was great for breakfast, and lobby bar has a very nice vibe with a relaxed atmosphere. weekends. this hotel is very popular for brunch, as it is right on the street.

i can't really say much more about the hotel than has already been discussed. i travel to LA frequently, and this is the place i will come back to again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andergtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had great expectations for this hotel but I am sorry to say that it is 'tired', the room was furnished in a 'old way', the smell in the room was old and unpleasant, the bed was very comfortable but too high and difficult to 'climb', the bedroom was very small as the space left between the bed and the was was very narrow, the location is great, the team members are okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscanGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'll start with the bad then give the good.
I stay at Casa often for business. Our advertising company gets a terrific business rate. I believe it's this low rate that 9 out of 10 times lands me in a subpar, mediocre room. Theory - the hotel makes less on our room rate and so they give us the low end rooms. Every time I stay at Casa I get a room that A. Has an awful view, B. Is right near the elevator (noisy) C. Is a handicap friendly room with a curtain/bath shower. Their normal showers are stall showers with glass doors. My current room's handicap shower has terrible pressure. I'm not asking for king suites every time but come on Casa. Our company spends a tremendous amount of money with the hotel and we should be treated with greater respect.

Now the good.
Other than the mediocre rooms I'm given - the bar is fantastic, the service in the bar is great, the rooms are always clean, the bed is fantastic, the grounds and lobby are beautiful, the food is great in all restaurants. If you're given one of their nicer rooms this is one of the best hotels in LA. If you're a business traveler getting a good rate and you don't mind getting one of their mediocre rooms then I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a low business rate then be prepared for a subpar room. Ask for an ocean view. Ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rarepork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your valuable comment with us. We are truly sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations and our usual high standards. Your comments will assist us greatly in correcting our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#18 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing