We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique place with character, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Unique place with character, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed for business, so I did not test out the room service, restaurants, gym, or many of the other amenities. I basically used the room. I didn't think it was fair to give the hotel 5/5 stars based only on the room.

The room itself was spacious, well-appointed, quiet and extremely clean. I was on the 3rd (lobby) floor looking toward the neighboring hotel (Shutters) and the beach. In the bathroom, they had nice amenities available for sale in case you forgot anything. My only gripe about the room is that the thermostat faced the end of a built-in bookcase. It made it impossible to get an angle or enough light to view the thermostat settings, which in turn made it hard to control the room temperature exactly.

The location is right on the beach. It's a great place from which to take your morning run or stroll. You're maybe 1/2 mile from the pier, and an additional few steps to Santa Monica's main shopping and entertainment area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    160
    81
    35
    38
See reviews for
184
269
47
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nicely situated on the beach close to the pier and well decorated, the hotel has rather thin walls and floors. I'd recommend the 7th (top) floor to avoid hearing footfalls. Not much you can do about the thin walls, though. Price is high and you don't get anything included except a nonlocal, right wing newspaper (and no choice in the matter).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom of Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had an ocean facing room and it was also a great view. Really a gorgeous hotel and excellent service from the valet and bellhop to the front desk and concierge (Samantha rocked) and the restaurant Catch with very accomodating staff. I was in for the week for the AFM film market and it was very busy!. I was always able to get a table for breakfast and lunch when I needed and late night meetings & drinks in the awesome lobby/bar was a great starting point or end of the night landing strip. Music almost every night in the bar (Jazz trio or a singer). Room was high end. Very large sitting area and a great desk with lots of light. Big bathroom with jet tub and you could open the window to look out to the ocean (room 224). Had a great room service one night, arrived hot and quick. Let's be clear not an inexpensive joint but well worth it and you CANNOT beat the location, steps away from a beach jog right on the sand. Also I judge hotels on the little touches and they had many- great bathroom products(shampoos and other), a very well stocked mini-bar and they even give you a rubber duck for your bath and a little teddy bear on your bed at night, funny! I took them home for my twin boys. Sorry to have such a sunny review(LOL) but it was just about a flawless stay. Okay here it is so you think I'm not a paid shill, I had forgotten my shaving cream and I called housekeeping for a free whatever they had it was cheap barbosal shaving cream which dries your face right out, bad stuff . So that's it, I highly recommend and will stay again here for next years AFM.

Room Tip: Room 224 is ocean facing and very comfortable walk from all the action but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful location and looks very impressive from outside, but that is about all that can be said in its favour.

Arriving in Santa Monica for the first time, after a 12 hour flight, we were about half an hour earlier than the published check-in time but were made to feel that we were completely unreasonable in arriving too early and were told to come back later!! - during worldwide travel over many years we have never come across such unhelpful check-in staff. Clearly, good hotels will do everything possible to accomodate travel plans and will re-allocate rooms where it is helpful - Casa del Mar made no attempt whatsoever.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, the rooms have no sound-proofing, and conversations and 'activities' from adjoining rooms are so clear that it sometimes sounds as though you have others in your room. Complaints at reception were met with a shrug of the shoulders.

When the Wi-Fi in our room stopped working it took 3 separate complaints before I was even believed that it did not work. Conversations between 2 members of reception indicated that they did not believe it was not working and did not believe that I had previously complained. I eventually insisted that somebody try it in my room and it was then acknowledged that it was not working. There was no apology and I was told that the router was in the room below mine, but they could not disturb the occupants to repair it, so I would have to wait until they checked-out.

When I booked, I opted for the choice of "Bed and Breakfast", but in fact what this meant was that we were given a "credit" of an amount to deduct from the breakfast cost. Whilst I didn't have too much of a problem with this in principle, I was quite shocked to find that I was expected to pay between 15% and 20% gratuity on the breakfast content of my room rate. I specifically left this blank as i thought it irregular practice, but on check-out I found that the staff had falsified my account by adding the gratuity to the bill themselves, even though I had signed it without!!

Overall, I found the staff to be unhelpful, unfriendly, and desparately in need of training.

To sum up - this hotel charges 5 star prices, but comes nowhere close to providing a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed a night in mid November. Our staying penthouse was very luxury and comfortable. All services is very friendly, helpfully and quickly. Bad point was nothing. we are looking forward to stay again.

Room Tip: We should better have reservations at original web site with our requests in detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhirokodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely, high-end hotel on the beach at Santa Monica, within walking distance of all that Santa Monica has to offer. Rooms are bright, spacious enough, and very comfortably furnished.

Taking a bath in the jetted tub while watching television is a great way to relax.

Whatever material is used in the mattress topper caused a somewhat uncomfortable retention of body heat for me, though it wasn't a problem for my spouse.

The bar area in the lobby is wonderful and overlooks the beach. However, the service was almost comically slow on a Sunday night, even with fewer than a dozen people in there.

Also, the wait for the valet for bring our car was so long at one point, we just found parking on the street so that we wouldn't have any delays the morning of our departure.

Despite the "patience" issues, it's a wonderful place and I'd happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in all the so called luxury hotels in Santa Monica, and by far this property is in a class of its own. The building itself is stunning, as is its location, and the lobby, restaurant bar area and vibe second to none. Service 5 star all the way, and that's always what makes or breaks the few that fall into the "best" category. Was busy when I checked in, guessing that's par for the course at this property, but management team on top of everything, Sam at front desk was great, room service, Raymond, awesome and had to sort out logistics and Gregory, guest relations, is as good as it gets in the hospitality business. Awesome rooms. Great gym and pool and jacuzzi, also. Will stick with this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boraroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing