We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our US trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great start to our US trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

As we arrived from LAX after a long haul flight from Australia, we were wowed by the site of this established hotel and it's beachside location. If you are a fan of well kept iconic types of hotels, this place is for you. As soon as we pulled up, we were greeted by very friendly genuine and professional staff and were able to check in early. We had a partial ocean view room which had a slight view of the ocean as well as Shutters next door. The room was quite spacious and the interior is really tastefully done with high quality finishes. It looks better in real life than in the photos/website. It was a nice solid room and really quiet. I'm such a light sleeper but I slept really well. One night (a Friday) we came back and there was a jazz band playing in the lobby. Our room was on the same level as the lobby but with the doors closed, I didn't hear a thing.

This was my favourite hotel from my US trip. I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Vegas, SLS Beverly Hills and Westin in San Fran. This hotel was the most genuine feeling hotel and best all round experience. It's not cheap but if you want a great experience, it's worth it. I also liked having the ability to dine at Shutters and charge back to the room. Breakfast at Shutters was fantastic (loved the ricotta hotcakes) and one morning we saw Ron Howard having breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airportnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    188
    90
    37
    42
See reviews for
206
303
52
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Casa Del Mar is a very nice hotel. The staff is polite and attentive and the facilities are charming and, for the most part, luxurious.

We opted for a partial ocean view room. The view was good enough to qualify as partial ocean, but no more. The decor was tasteful and it was a nice size, although a bit overcrowded with superfluous furniture. Being able to open the windows and listen to the ocean was a nice plus. Some minor mars to the paint on the walls and an insect found in a bathrobe were the only real negatives to the room. For this price I would have expected a ceiling fan as well, since many guests undoubtedly will want to sleep with the windows open to enjoy the ocean and beautiful weather.

The fitness room is quite nice and was vacant both times my wife and I used it. There were more than enough machines, towels, headphones, water and apples available for a crowd in the event it actually was busy.

The pool is quite small and shallow and was overrun with children. In my opinion it is unacceptable for a hotel this large and this expensive to only have a tiny, shallow pool. The seating around the pool was also quite limited.

The hotel car driven by Zoro is a nice touch. It beats taking a cab and was a pleasure to arrive for dinner in style and comfort. Zoro was a true gentleman and is an asset to the hotel.

This hotel is very good and the location is great. We have stayed at places with more of the little touches that put it over the top. The valet parking was fine, but nothing special for $34/day. However, the exorbitant upcharges for every little thing, including toothpaste, are a turnoff at this price point. It reminded me more of an airline's business model than a luxury service provider.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jth11110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Loved this hotel, beautiful, stately, great service. The rooms are well appointed, ours was ocean view but we paid handsomely for that. The staff was excellent, very friendly, helpful and gracious at all times, they made you feel very special, no one was ever snobby. I do feel that charging $12/day for internet access in the room is very stingy of them considering the price you pay for the accommocations, that should definitely be included. They have a great pool too overlooking the beach and ocean. I would definitely go back again if I can afford it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferenc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I have 1 more night to but really I cannot say more about how nice this place is, short walk to pier stylish great if you like the fine things in life

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnh3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdevil77
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Casa del Mar definitely provides a memorable experience. You pay for it but you will thoroughly enjoy yourself. The room was very comfortable. The service was friendly. And the food was great. Don't really like that no one there wears name tags but I guess that is their thing. Treat yourself to a nice break there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdevil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Casa del Mar is wonderfully situated looking over the extensive beach at Santa Monica. I had a beautiful room looking straight to the sea, and in an ideal spot to watch the beautiful people (and some not so beautiful) maintaining their fitness regime. However you need to be very careful which room you get. Whilst the hotel may be in a great situation it appears that many of the room have partial sea view at best and some on the ground floor have no view at all. It would be a shame to come somewhere like this and have no view. On the other hand there is potentially a very serious price increment to have room with a view. One of my party was quoted $200 to upgrade their room! And here is the big downside. This hotel has a bit of star factor in a town full of stars so the prices match. A cup of tea and a muffin for breakfast - $27. So if money is no object - make sure you get sea view room and you will have great time. If you are watching the cents you are going to be better off somewhere else.

Room Tip: Floor 3 or above and check how far down the side of the hotel you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was travelling with two colleagues from work. We took a 3 bedroom suite which was in fact 3 separate rooms that could be shut off from the hall. The combination worked out at similar to 3 separate rooms.
We arrived early evening on a Friday and were immediately impressed by the lobby bar, which has a great vibe and decor. Like an upmarket bar I'd seen on American TV shows. We dumped our gear in the room and headed back down to the bar for a few snacks. It was a real introduction to American hospitality and friendliness, 3 days of meeting people, hanging at the beach and this hotel has convinced me the extra distance to Santa Monica is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujujujujujujuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing