We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location for a vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business but would return for vacation as the location to entertainment such as the pier and the beach are all within walking distance. Their are wonderful restaurants close by and the weather is perfect. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The best Marriott i have been too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that our property is the best Marriott you have ever been to! We hope that you return and are able to experience all the wonderful attractions that our charming city of Santa Monica has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    351
    170
    88
    54
See reviews for
320
293
44
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am sitting in my room, getting ready to go out and enjoy the evening. This JW is unique and charming and is a PERFECT hotel for Santa Monica! I've stayed at MANY JW's and no, this is not the big resort conga line dancing hotels, nor should it be if you are in this location! From the moment we pulled into valet, to the front desk and Kim, to the sweet housekeeping ladies, we've been here all of 5 hours and want to stay forever!

Kudos for JW for putting a wonderful, perfect, beach hotel that isn't obnoxious! Can't wait to go out and enjoy the evening.

Will come back her in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel and fits perfect in the area! If you want glam and big hotels--go to downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback. We are so happy that you appreciated the special uniqueness that is our JW Marriott boutique, luxury hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting a JW Mariott kind of hotel and was disappointed . The location is hard to beat: steps to the Santa Monica Pier, walking distance to great restaurants. The hotel needs TLC: feels old and dated

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ingridsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, but disappointed that our hotel was not able to live up to your image of the JW Marriott brand. We are a luxury boutique hotel, which may differ from other JW Marriott’s you have visited. We just recently had all of our common areas renovated in 2011, and just this past month renovated our entire Spa facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
393 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here on points after doing Route 66 to the Santa Monica Pier. The employees are wonderful. Every one of them is genuine and friendly. The rooms are well appointed for the 80's, but that is not a bad thing. The carpeting needs a refresher, as the plain tan/brown look shows the age and use. The proximity to the beach and the pier makes this a premium location, so pricing is that of a big town hotel. I am not used to paying for parking, but one has to get used to it. I did have an issue with the hotel billing, and I did contact them following my visit. Everything was resolved to my satisfaction quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here. It is nice to hear that you felt that all of our employees were wonderful and that we were able to resolve your billing issue quickly. We are located extremely close to all the Santa Monica has to offer, and are glad that you enjoyed the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that Santa Monica itself was a let-down - streets need a solid cleaning and the casual elegance I expected was missing. The Marriott is in need of renovation - really tired carpeting/less than visually appealing rooms. Most of the rooms facing the ocean are blocked by an apt building so we had a little 'corner' view of the pier and the ferriswheel. Definitely conveniently located to the pier and the promenade, has a really nice fitness room, and a pretty outdoor area/pool area. The attendant at the front desk failed to mention that wifi in the lobby was free when asked if the room rate included wifi so can't give great reviews on service either. It's better than staying in downtown LA, but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are extremely disappointed to hear that our hotel and Santa Monica in general did not live up to your expectations. Our highest mission is to go above and beyond and make your stay unforgettable. Your comments will help us to improve and provide the level of service our guests have come to expect from a JW Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

A one night stay while transiting through LA. Much better than staying up near LAX, and only 30 mins away. I had an ocean view king room, although the "view " was a slight exaggeration. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated. This hotel has a small but nice pool, and is well located for the pier and 3rd st shops. The best part was the service. Very good staff right through. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregNottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are happy to hear that you had such a good experience with our staff and that you highly recommend our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing exemplary service to our guests and on our location in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I lived in LA (Toluca Lake) for six years. Santa Monica is easily the best part of town. And this hotel is optimally located within Santa Monica. But that’s only part of the story.

The service here was really excellent. Everyone was at all times extra friendly and helpful. Although breakfast was typically hotel-expensive (I rarely eat in hotels for this and other reasons), our waitress, Valeriya, may have set a new standard for helpful service with infectious enthusiasm.

The room was nothing special, although it had a fine view. On the other hand, it was quite affordable and fully met our needs – a similar room at Loews next door would have cost at least 50% more.

Not all Marriotts are created equal. We stayed at another Marriott two days later that was perfectly OK, which is my usual Marriott experience, but it was not nearly the great value (with super service) that we experienced here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience with us. We are very happy to hear about the great value and superb service you received at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing