We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a mini vacation with my family (wife and 13 year old daughter). The hotel is close to the beach and Santa Monica attractions, but the rooms are average and the service is average, accept for the concierge Robert and the bell staff who are awesome. We ended up with an iPad missing from our room, which has never happened to me anywhere before and I spend 70 nights year in a hotel room, and we really couldn't get anyone to address it seriously. I expected better for the price

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank TechSalesVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were a family of four on vacation in Santa Monica for 6 nights. The hotel is ideally situated for Santa Monica, the pier, the beach and Main Street.

We tended to relax by the pool, or the terrace, for a couple of hours in the morning before moving on to do other activities. The beach, promenade and bike hires are just a couple of minutes from the entrance at the rear of the hotel where the pool is located. Although the pool area is on the smaller side there were always plenty of sunbeds available. The terrace are is nice and relaxing and the restaurant is excellent. Also we used a diner just 50 yards from the hotel along Ocean Avenue for breakfast a couple of times. The valet parking is top form and so efficient.

I had to upgrade this hotel from 4 stars to 5 stars because of the excellent staff. Every single member of staff was so courteous, knowledgeable, pleasant and just great to be around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great attention to detail from front desk, and manager. Clean and large rooms. Food areas with great service but limited menu. Location very convenient and walking distance to pier and shopping. Meals were planned off site. Great access to beautiful beach and nice hotel pool with adequate gym

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggold7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the JW Marriott in Santa Monica and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and the location was awesome, just walk across the street to the main Santa Monica beach and close to the boardwalk. It had nice gym and spa facilities too. The pool was good but not too big and there was not a lot of space for seating around the pool so it got crowded pretty quickly.

Overall we would recommend this hotel and will definitely come visit again next time we are in Santa Monica.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our newly renovated Spa. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Le Merigot soon.
Warm regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was fine. Just fine. But not what I had expected. Being a highly rated (by marriott) property, I was surprised how mediocre it was. And nearly $40 to park your car per night, ouchy. The pool wasn't that great but the bar was friendly and it's right where you want to be. It's no beach front, there's a larger, uglier building between you and the ocean but you can see the water from most rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Boywhocouldfly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the constructive criticism. We are disheartened that you felt our hotel was only mediocre and did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you found our parking expensive; however, we offer one of the lowest parking rates on the beach in Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off, no concierge level. That said, Marriott provided compensation so it worked out. There is a spa on site with treatment rooms and a decent work out facility with some cardio in one room and then a weight room with some equipment and a bench or two. There is also a steam room and a sauna attached to the spa but available for guest use. The pool is nice with a lounging deck and outdoor seats for the restaurant nearby. Down some steps from that and across a rarely traveled back street is the beach. A bike rental place and the pier are super close as is the outdoor work out area including rings, bars, and a grassy area. Unbelievable people watching here. Great location, front desk staff not quite friendly and/or helpful but the valet and breakfast staff were all wonderful !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gymmom1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our amenities and location. We believe in providing exemplarity service in all areas and are disappointed you did not receive it from all employees. Again thank you for sharing your observations with us, so we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Le Merigot is the best place I have ever stayed-we felt welcome from the minute we pulled in and Luis greeted us! The hospitality of the staff, doing everything from providing ice tea and water in the lobby to a perfectly cooled room to help in pulling out into busy traffic makes this place one in a million! I highly recommend the café with it's cool breezes and delicious food-Leticia in particular was like an old friend and saved the day when fighting a breakfast crowd could have been a hassle. The rooms are spacious and the beds divine-no one wants to get up once you sleep in that bed! If you want a special place for a birthday or a staycation-this is the place!

Room Tip: By all means ask for a lower floor room and near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $310 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing