We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised this is such a highly rated marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprised this is such a highly rated marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It was fine. Just fine. But not what I had expected. Being a highly rated (by marriott) property, I was surprised how mediocre it was. And nearly $40 to park your car per night, ouchy. The pool wasn't that great but the bar was friendly and it's right where you want to be. It's no beach front, there's a larger, uglier building between you and the ocean but you can see the water from most rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boywhocouldfly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the constructive criticism. We are disheartened that you felt our hotel was only mediocre and did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you found our parking expensive; however, we offer one of the lowest parking rates on the beach in Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    345
    169
    88
    54
See reviews for
308
287
44
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off, no concierge level. That said, Marriott provided compensation so it worked out. There is a spa on site with treatment rooms and a decent work out facility with some cardio in one room and then a weight room with some equipment and a bench or two. There is also a steam room and a sauna attached to the spa but available for guest use. The pool is nice with a lounging deck and outdoor seats for the restaurant nearby. Down some steps from that and across a rarely traveled back street is the beach. A bike rental place and the pier are super close as is the outdoor work out area including rings, bars, and a grassy area. Unbelievable people watching here. Great location, front desk staff not quite friendly and/or helpful but the valet and breakfast staff were all wonderful !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gymmom1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our amenities and location. We believe in providing exemplarity service in all areas and are disappointed you did not receive it from all employees. Again thank you for sharing your observations with us, so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Le Merigot is the best place I have ever stayed-we felt welcome from the minute we pulled in and Luis greeted us! The hospitality of the staff, doing everything from providing ice tea and water in the lobby to a perfectly cooled room to help in pulling out into busy traffic makes this place one in a million! I highly recommend the café with it's cool breezes and delicious food-Leticia in particular was like an old friend and saved the day when fighting a breakfast crowd could have been a hassle. The rooms are spacious and the beds divine-no one wants to get up once you sleep in that bed! If you want a special place for a birthday or a staycation-this is the place!

Room Tip: By all means ask for a lower floor room and near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I think of the Marriott chain of hotels, I think of a hotel that is considerably nicer than the Santa Monica version. This hotel is showing its age. The carpets and some of the furniture are due for replacement. The hotel's strengths are its location, which is near the Pacific Ocean and the Santa Monica Pier, and its friendly and professional staff.

Though the hotel is only a block or so away from the beach, many rooms do not have a view of the ocean. The pool is small and surrounded by buildings. The fee for parking in the garage is high: $35.00 per day. The rooms are average, but expensive. You are paying for location. You are not paying for the Marriott name, or at least you are not getting more than the Marriott name.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback. We are disappointed that you felt our hotel did not live up to the Marriott name. We have recently undergone a renovation of both our common areas as well as our spa facility. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and our friendly and professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. It's location is ideal -- right across from the beach, a block from the Santa Monica Pier and one mile from Venice Beach. Each morning I'd grab a cup of complimentary coffee and a newspaper and walk down to the beach to watch the sun over the ocean. We had a room with two queen beds which was a bit larger than most rooms and accommodated 4 of us nicely. I did wish we had a balcony. Ours was a pool/partial beach view. The staff is beyond friendly and loves to offer you complimentary water. Wherever we wanted to go, they printed us great directions and couldn't be more helpful. The pool is a bit small, but with the beach at your footsteps it wasn't our first priority. Pool and beach towels are readily available. You do have to pay for parking each night, which seemed a bit pricey since we were already paying a lot for the room. There are lots of tables with umbrellas/heaters right outside the bar area, along with a fire pit and big screen TV (my boys loved watching sports out there). The lobby and bar seemed to be newer than the rooms. The best part of was being able to walk outside and pickup the jogging path along the beach. I loved staying there and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Le Merigot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We learned the hard way that many of the "public areas" of this beautiful and pricey oceanside hotel are not monitored by security cameras. And clearly there are petty thieves at the ready. We placed our MacBook Pro inside of a desk drawer in the hotel's business center, closed the drawer completely and left the room just long enough to use the restroom. Less than five minutes later we returned to find it gone! An hour later while standing at the lobby desk awaiting a security camera report, another guest walked up and reported his wallet missing from the pool area. There are public areas on the ground floor of this hotel with ZERO camera coverage. We accept that we made the mistake but this hotel is far too expensive and "exclusive" to not have more protections in place for their guests!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k100tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incident that you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot be responsible for all guests’ items that are left unattended in public areas. Theft at our property is not a common occurrence and again we are extremely sorry that you had this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My first reaction was "Where's my beloved JW, sleek lines, speedy elevators, high ceilings?"
The common areas are beautiful. There is a bar right in the lobby, a concierge desk, and ample seating at the bar or in the lounge area. Complimentary coffee, lemonade, and infused water are available The valet service is like an oasis (calm, efficient, and homey) right before you head into Santa Monica traffic. They give excellent directions. HOMEY touches--1) the valet running to get us two bottles of water (we didn't ask), for which he was thanked multiple times in our heads as we hiked one of the canyon areas, 2) Another valet saying,"I'll see you when you get back.", 3) A third valet was willing to look for a pair of sunglasses left in the car.....definitely HOMEY!!! There is an intimate pool,outdoor dining area, tiered drink and relaxation areas, well-stocked workout room, spa services, and a private exit to the beach (cross quiet side street, 50 yards of beach parking lot, and you're at big, beautiful Santa Monica beach (wide, soft sand, but hot, so don't forget some beach shoes). Pool towels and beach towels are always available for the taking, without a sign-out process. The dining room is set up with initimate conversation in mind. You never feel crowded. Cezanne prints are throughout (because it's named Cezanne's). At breakfast you can eat inside or out. The staff is welcoming and are very aware of what their guests want (lots of conversation or privacy). Service is frequent and efficient. Everyone of the servers, as well as the hostess, is friendly, open, and accommodating. The manager is visible, friendly, remembers your name,, and seems to sense if you need anything. He asked an obviously-frequent guest if he wanted his usual, eggs Benedict. Another example of......HOMEY. ( You can order off the menu or take advantage of a continental (lox, steel-cut oatmeal with all the toppings, cereal, fruits, pain au chocolate, croissants, muffins, danishes, whole grain breads, bagel, salami, prosciutto, ham, goat cheese, Brie, Stilton cheese, and hard-boiled eggs) or hot buffet (all the continental, plus eggs Benedict, bacon, sausage, French toast, fried potatoes, and scrambled eggs). Dinner is also available. The staff goes above and beyond. One of the front-desk staff gave explicit directions on how to get to Runyon Canyon for hiking, then took our call, when we ran into a traffic jam, and assured us this is typical, and will soon pass. The cleaner treated us like family, asking us and making sure we always had our particular wants and needs satisfied. She never interrupted, but always had our room done while we were gone......how did she do that? One time she heard my husband cough as he was getting onto the elevator, and ran down the hall to offer him a bottle of water......DID I MENTION HOMEY?
Our room (612) had a 70% side view of Santa Monica beach. The beach is so large and curves, I would think everyone can see some part of it. There are also rooms with small balconies, large balconies, small patios, and large terraces. There are meeting rooms available. and many places to sit and work or relax.

The carpet is very worn and dated on the guest room floors, the room ceilings are low, the elevator is slow, and the bathrooms are dated. Try to get past this.....and the friendly, service-oriented, intuitive staff will make you forget you even thought about it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmichelle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for providing positive feedback of your experience with our hotel. We appreciate your response on our common areas, which have recently been renovated. We believe in our staff providing personalized service and are glad that you found us to be friendly and helpful. We hope to have the opportunity to have you visit our property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing