We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Room for Improvements”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a few hiccups with our stay, but it was rectified by the general manager - Mr. Beumer. We can't thank him enough for his professionalism, and courtesy. We'll give the JW Marriott another chance next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    374
    184
    94
    60
See reviews for
367
312
50
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are excellent! They were very friendly, helpful and offered bottled water as we came and went (and towels as we came from running.) The location is very good - across the street from the beach and in walking distance of restaurants and pier. The main areas of the hotel (entrance, lobby) were very nice but we were disappointed with the guest floors and room. Size was generous but the carpet in the hall and floors were In desperate need of replacing and bathrooms need updating. Not what one would expect for a JW. Also, despite being told we could "reserve" beach chairs for our stay they were never available. Actually I believe there was not even a system of recording who had the chairs and it seemed whoever had them just kept them in their room for the duration of their stay. After several days of renting from a service ($120/day for 4 chairs) we went out and bought chairs. Finally, one night we were awoken at 4:15AM by someone vacuuming in the hall! Thinking that perhaps someone had been sick or it was something that couldn't wait until a decent hour we didnt call but the vacuuming went on and on... Could hear it going all the way down the hall.
So if it was just a matter of considering the lobby staff I would definitely recommend the hotel but the appearance is not up to the JW standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family loved this hotel. Really good service, great facilities in an excellent location. It was a bit strange for us to be asked to pay tips for everything like room service. I really think the US companies would be well advised to add this to their room rates and pay staff higher wages. It's hard for guests to constantly be looking for small bills to pay tips.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not what you'd expect if you're familiar with other "JW" properties. While the hotel is nice, it shouldn't carry the "JW" brand. The hotel could use a bit of TLC. The carpets were a bit stained/worn and the woodwork needed a bit of touching up. The property is not very large and has limited outdoor seating areas. The pool is very small and surrounded by the buildings. The pool area offers no views.

The prime outdoor seating area is right off the front lobby / lobby bar. During our stay this section was frequently closed off and used for serving breakfast & lunch to the business groups having meetings in the hotel. This didn't leave the vacationing guests nice options for sitting outdoors. In addition, the bathroom that serves the pool is the same bathroom used by the meeting rooms. It was very awkward (for both parties) walking through the business guests in wet pool attire. The boardwalk is a short walk out the back gate, across one street and through a parking lot. It's very convenient to Santa Monica pier.

I do want to point out that the staff at this hotel was the absolute BEST I have ever experienced. They were friendly, cheerful, helpful, and personal. Each of the staff went out of their way and every detail was taken care of from the minute we got there to the day we left. We stayed 7 nights and overall we were happy and had a great time.

Room Tip: A bit of construction on the front side of the hotel that can be heard from those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Marriott was a great decision for me and my dads trip. Right when we pulled in workers started getting are car and putting our luggage in our room and showing us a tour! :) The hotel is right across the beach and isnt far from the pier. We brought our bikes and they had a bike storage in the parking lot. :D (If you bring your bike, me and my dad locked them at the pier and they got stolen at night. So don't leave your bikes out to long at the pier :( ) The swimming pool was perfect if you dont enjoy the chilly beach water. The only sort of negative thing is the price. I thought $450 was a pretty good price for everything we had but if you are saving money or something my dad said it was a little pricey. I would definately recommened this hotel. :) It's a nice getaway. We were going to stay at Shutters but it was over $600! So it's a pretty good deal. :)

Room Tip: Don't be sad if you get a street view because it's actually pretty good. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff here is fabulous. Everyone was so cheerful - and most remembered my name. Don't worry where your room is located ... we were on the second floor, near the elevator and on the street side of the hotel - and NONE of those aspects were negative. The room was sooo quiet, and the hotel was totally booked for the weekend. Here is a shout out to Jordan at the front desk for handling our check out well. The hotel is perfectly located near the famous pier and third street promenade. Cora's Coffee Shop for breakfast (three doors down) had fresh OJ and lemonade to die for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our most expensive hotel during our two week trip and unfortunately we were left disappointed. The location is great for the town centre, pier and beach and this couldn't be faulted however the standard of the hotel felt very average especially considering the high price charged.

Parking is very expensive ($35 per night) (no off street parking option available) as well as very expensive alongside bar charges and breakfast - everything felt like an expensive added extra. Having spent the amount we did, I would have expected to be blown away - I was left feeling disappointed.

Unfortunately I can't recommend this hotel until prices are reduced or rooms upgraded to match the fine.


Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcash5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,850 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,543 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
939 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing