We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Le Merigot for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. I can not say enough about the friendliness of the staff from the parking attendants to the concierge to the waitresses. We were greeted with bottled water upon our arrival and anytime I needed anything whether it was extra blankets or more coffee cups, the staff was there within minutes. We were given a room upgrade which I did not expect at all. This gave us more elbow room for 4 people on a 5 day stay. The only 2 things I could possibly mention if I had to really stretch for something was that the hallways were always very cold, and that the dresser in the room was a tad on the small side so we were in and out of suitcases most of the week...but I think that's to be expected on a 5 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    371
    183
    93
    57
See reviews for
360
310
50
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Santa Monica. It is within walking distance to the pier, which is nice. Our room had a partial ocean view overlooking the pool area. The room itself was pretty standard. It was a decent sized room. No complaint. I think what makes a hotel stay a good stay is the staff. I thought everything else in the hotel was just average but the staff helped kicking it up a notch. The concierge was so helpful in helping us with our dining options. We took up his recommendation and had a very enjoyable dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Mo
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,350 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great location and the hotel is very nice. It has a "quaint" feeling to it but has nice rooms and a very good restuarant. Sitting outside at night with a drink is great but sometimes it is hard to get service or is very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed as a family of five and found the location great. We could walk to the beach and pier, which provided a lot of diversity. Plus, plenty of good restaurants in the area and an easy walk from the hotel. I don't think we took the car out of the garage for two days.
We did have a problem with one of our room, but the staff was very good at resolving the issue. Overall, the staff is exceptional and make every effort to make you feel and home and even lend beach chair. The pool is very small, so don't expect to spend too much time at it. If our kids were under 5 and still preferred the pool to the beach, that would have been a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CannistraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed a three night weekend stay while visiting our son in LA. Had a standard street side room, which was surprisingly quiet. Good sized room with robes, higher end toiletries, embroidered linens etc. After reading reviews, we parked in a public garage a few blocks away, since we were not often driving. This halved our parking costs. Great location(although not directly ON beach - a short walk through the back of hotel and across a parking lot). Lovely to sit on the outside terrace in the morning with complimentary coffee and papers.

Short walk to many restaurants, shops, gyms and yoga studios for those so inclined. Visit Main Street or Montana Avenue to avoid tourist madness of Third Street Promenade. Special thanks to Front office manager Jessica M., who displayed the charm, professionalism and service oriented attitude of a much more luxe property! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My fiance and I had an excellent experience at this hotel in March 2013. We stayed the evening following my proposal to her and the staff could not have been more friendly and did everything they could to make our experience as special as possible. When we return to LA, we will definitely return to Le Merigot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmajy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Solid 3.5 star hotel.

Pros: Excellent location, big rooms, consistently good and friendly staff.
Cons: Very dated hotel with odd design. As a Marriott Gold member, I expected an upgrade but they didn't have one available, which was very disappointing. My room was below average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emc8760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,823 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,501 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,557 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing