We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Conciliatory Management needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Management needs some tweaking: Regrettably, my camera was left in an empty hotel restaurant, when upon returning to the restaurant an hour later, mysteriously, none of the staff had seen it. Hotel management had me submit a very detailed lost property report, corresponding through email, but eventually dropped the ball ignoring my last inquiry. Management could be more conciliatory…and definitely do not leave your stuff unattended in this hotel.

Room Tip: Water view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeskiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after spending a few days at the Marriott property in Newport Beach off Fashion Circle. We were so much happier in Santa Monica. The location was perfect for us to do some heavy sightseeing. The staff was wonderful and greeted us by our name throughout our 5 day stay. The room was very nice, clean and updated and housekeeping kept it very clean. Valet parking only which was not our first choice, but we never had to wait long to get our car. We are platinum members so we were given continental breakfast vouchers which was a great bonus. The selection was great and we had a delicious breakfast every morning. The servers were a bit pushy trying to have us buy/get the hot buffet, but there was no need as their cold assortment of ham, cheese, pastries, etc was delicious and more than enough.
We never used the pool as we either went to the beach or sightseeing, but looked nice and clean. We did use the gym a few times and that too was nice and clean, though they could use some fans or airflow. It was very warm in there.
The staff was spectacular! Especially Robert and Amanda, the concierges. They were so helpful and really planned all our daily activities for us. I really didn't have to lift a finger! Robert even told us when to go to Universal Studios to avoid traffic and then told us what rides to go on throughout the day. He literally planned our whole day and we didn't wait in line once! Amanda suggested Warner Bros and I will be forever grateful to her as I got to see the set of 2 of my favorite shows and I sat on the infamous "Central Perk" couch from the show friends. It was fantastic! I really cannot say thanks enough to them both! It was a memorable trip for us thanks to the whole staff, but especially the concierges!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just stayed here on a 3 day college excursion/layover on the way back east. The common areas and patio were beautiful. Service was very good -- probably could have used more staff to service guests promptly for food/beverages -- valet and front desk were wonderful. Pool was smaller than expected.

Hotel was very clean -- rooms were as well, but average in terms of Marriott standards - particularly for a JW -- room could have been a Courtyard (save the minibar and toiletries)

Room Tip: Ocean side -- plus construction currently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here several times through the years, never disappointed. I would however strongly recommend paying a bit extra and getting one of the better rooms / facing courtyard or sea. During the summer season they have a breakfast buffet (my preference) which goes away for some odd reason the rest of the year. You can easily walk to the Beach, the Santa Monica Pier, the Third Street Promenade, tons of shops and restaurants, the location is just unbeatable. If you are looking for budget accommodations however you should not stay here. I have read a review related to this place missing an "ambience" and I couldn't disagree more, there is an air of relaxation and peacefulness throughout the property, and the staff is by all means exceptional, except perhaps for some of the breakfast / restaurant employees that can be a bit abrupt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukealbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tried this hotel to see if it was any better then place I normally stay in that area. I had read the reviews and they were not glowing by any means. I called hotel directly to book rooms as I had a few concerns. Mentioned all the negative reviews I had read and expressed my doubts about actually staying there. Was assured we would have nice rooms. Lobby was nice. Outdoor eating area nice. Bar food was good. Pool very small. No hot tub (even in the spa...boo hoo). Rooms were very spacious which was nice. Thankfully we were not on the street side of the hotel as there is a BIG construction site and lots of noise!!! The housekeeping staff was OUTSTANDING and should get gold stars for their constant pleasant presence during our stay! Thank you ladies/gentleman. Overall, place needs a renovation (sure they know that) but we had a pleasant time there. Just don't have high expectations and you're fine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were looking for somewhere nice in SM, and this amazing hotel with beautiful rooms and a wonderful mattress just made our stay perfect. Very close to SM Pier, beach and shopping. The staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fagnanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prompt service at the valet, front desk, housekeeping. Super-fast room service. Breakfast in 15 minutes. We had a room overlooking the courtyard, where they had music playing on the speakers,maybe from the lobby bar just inside, from way too early to way too late. The room was very nice but not as nice as most JW hotels.The staff were very polite. Location is on busy Ocean Ave. near the Santa Monica Pier, so lots of traffic, but not a lot of traffic noise.Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Get as far as you can from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,969 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,619 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $293 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing