We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Place, a bit noisey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place, a bit noisey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prompt service at the valet, front desk, housekeeping. Super-fast room service. Breakfast in 15 minutes. We had a room overlooking the courtyard, where they had music playing on the speakers,maybe from the lobby bar just inside, from way too early to way too late. The room was very nice but not as nice as most JW hotels.The staff were very polite. Location is on busy Ocean Ave. near the Santa Monica Pier, so lots of traffic, but not a lot of traffic noise.Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Get as far as you can from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    318
    151
    79
    51
See reviews for
279
265
40
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful lobby, crisp clean rooms and comfortable beds and a staff that's friendly and helpful. But I expected more of a top billed beach RESORT hotel that's quite expensive. The pool is tiny, we were told the heater was broken and there is no hottub. The pool deck is also small. The walk to the beach and location is amazing. But there's a little touch of ambience missing here. We much prefer Shutters on the Beach next door. There's a buzz in the air that's missing at what is otherwise a really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesBriG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I spent week (6/16-6/21) there for work. I am used to staying in Hilton and Embassy Suites hotels. They don't compare to this hotel. Le Merigot is a Full service hotel with nothing but the customer in mind. If you are a person bothered by someone asking "How are you, do you need anything" avoid this hotel. Otherwise, if you like to be pampered with a service and a smile this is the place. The rooms, hallways, elevators and exterior where absolutely clean and well maintained. The entire place smelled clean and inviting, when was the last time you heard that kind of description for a hotel. My wife and daughter just loved the placed. The parking seems expensive but, with the unlimited in-out privileges it paid off. The area is beautiful, plenty of places to eat. (Look up my reviews) The beach was right out the back of the hotel (about 100ft). I reviewed the places I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner including McDonald’s :(.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a view. Become a Marriot member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank findkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

what a great visit, we only stayed for one short night, I wish it could have been longer. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. It began with an upgrade to an oceanview room and complimentary breakfast the next day. The property and rooms are all upscale, very much like a four seasons or a ritz property. Great location, a short walk to the pier and many great restaurants. Also very close to LAX

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

First, I am not one who is typically compelled to write reviews--positive or negative....just never seem to get around to it!-- but do definitely read them when searching for hotels. However, based on our recent stay and the positive experience I felt I owed it to the team at this establishment to recognize them for their efforts. We just returned home from a week long family vacation and spent four nights at this hotel. From the moment we stepped out of the cab, we were greeted with genuinely friendly "welcomes" and "hellos", a bottle of water for all five of us (free!!), and because our rooms were not ready (very early arrival) they watched over our luggage but tolerated us getting in and out of it to retrieve swim suits, etc for the kids. The service did not stop here. All four days we had an opportunity to cross paths with numerous people from the concierge, to the room service staff, to the wait staff in on the patio and at the pool--ALWAYS pleasant, conversational, and just all around cool people. Always urns of hot coffee available in the lobby in the morning, and a cool juice-type beverage in the afternoon. Beyond the great service/staff, the facility itself is in a great location. Yes, you have to walk out the back door and cross a parking lot to get to the beach. No big deal!! If you want to walk out your door and save a 50 yard walk and be on the beach 3 minutes faster for another $2-300/night, those options exist at other places. It is located within totally reasonable walking distance to a variety of eating/shopping/recreational establishments. The pool isn't huge, but never felt too small. We were there with another family, so 5 kids between us and we spent plenty of time at the pool. Most of the chairs were full and yet it didn't ever seem overwhelmingly crowded. There is a decent workout facility right off the pool, co-located with a spa (didn't use the spa, no feedback for that!). The facility itself was always clean, clean, clean. excellent outdoor patio are with plenty of comfy seating, gas heat towers to ward off an evening chill, and several levels and corners where those who were looking for a quiet corner could escape to if necessary. We are a family of five (2 adults, 3 kids [2 -14 yr olds, 1 - 12 yr old]) and our room was adequate size. Just added a rollaway bed for the boy and we all had great sleep! If there was any one thing that would have made this experience any better it would be to have 2 queen beds versus double beds. But, then that would have just taken away from floor space and probably made the room feel smaller. So if you are looking for a moderately priced (for the area) place to hang with your family for a few days, give this place a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Simply outstanding. I am a Marriott platinum member and they completely pampered me and my guest. I received an upgrade to the Malibu Suite which is a two room suite with huge balcony facing the ocean. They sent up some champagne and strawberries shortly after we checked in. Every staff member I encountered was polite and friendly. I would like to also thank Jessica the front office manager who went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dom_cmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is NOT a beach front hotel as advertised on their website!! The hotel is in a good location in Santa Monica; it is close to the Pier, the shopping mall, the beach and some great restaurants. However, there is a block of building/s between the hotel and the beach. There is access to the beach from the hotel, but that's about it. We reserved this hotel thinking we would be front row with the ocean. I even called the Marriot reservation line and requested an upper level with ocean view, but to our disappointment our rooms offered neither! Some of the rooms have the balcony with ocean view but not all the rooms. To add insult to injury, upon checking in, and with 3 small exhausted children, we were made to wait until 3:30PM to get our rooms "cleaned". Upon arrival to our level, the hallway reeked of cleaning products leading to our rooms were the fumes were seriously concentrated. We were exhausted from traveling all day, so we didn't/couldn't raise a fuss and stayed in the rooms until the fumes settled, relived that we, for sure, would be checking out first thing in the morning. Several of the reviews here commented on the staff. From our experience, some of the staff were genuine and helpful, while others had a painted smile and couldn’t care less! In terms of value, I think this hotel is overpriced and has little to offer. I stayed in many Marriot hotels in the past, and never had been this disappointed. Overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel. There are so many other hotels around this area, as well as reasonable vacation rentals...shop around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing