We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is two thumbs up... Very friendly attentive staff. I wish more hotels would have such a friendly staff. For the price it was like I was staying at a five star hotel. Only complaint bit of a walk for grass for my dog...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice -- our room, the lobby, patio area, pool, etc. The thing that made this JW Marriott stand out above all other hotel stays was the staff and the amazing service EVERYONE provided. The bellhop, front desk, concierge, restaurant staff at breakfast, bar staff, etc. Everybody there, together, made us feel important. We've only stayed in one other Santa Monica hotel (which was along Ocean Ave as well), but there's not a doubt in our mind that THIS JW Marriott is our new MUST STAY AT location in Santa Monica. No questions. You're within walking distance of the Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade (shopping district).

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for reservations. Not sure if it was my Marriott Rewards Card, but we paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FELLER8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very nice, unique, well designed hotel, immaculately kept, with wonderful employees, q are posh; all roouick to learn guests' names, helpful, and friendly. The rooms are large and nicely designed. Ocean-view rooms (some with balconies), all rooms quite nice and only a few blocks from the 3rd street promenade. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant our outside on the terrace are delicious, hard-to-beat for quality, and romantically atmospheric (thanks to long-time hostess Letti!). We stay here a few days each year and they always seem to remember us and genuinely welcome us "home". Spac, fitness center, and pool are big pluses, and it's only a short walk to the "show" on the beach near the Santa Monica Pier. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view, but settle for any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikesvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned from weekend here and I must say it doesn't get much better. The service and staff were over the top. Everyone had a smile on their face from Jessica at check in to the valet parking attendants. The ocean is right out the back and you can walk to great restaurants and shopping. The touristy Santa Monica pier is a 5 minute walk. The rooms need some new decorating but staff says they are slowing renovating hotel. Won't think twice about returning here when in Los angeles area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

After many hours researching hotels on or near the beach in Santa Monica, we chose the JW and were very satisfied. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't 100% sure this would be a wise decision but rest assured this hotel is wonderful. We stayed at Shutters on the Beach last time we in LA and wanted something in that area but not as pricey. The service at the JW was excellent, the room had a view of the pool and ocean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location...perfect! Great fitness center with spa, steam room and suana, and plenty of treadmills and other equipment. The pool was heated (thank goodness because is was a little chilly while we were there) but unfortunately, no hot tub, which would have been appreciated with the cool, rainy weather we had.

Walking distance to the pier and promanade...plenty of restaurants and shopping. We also rented bikes a block from the hotel for $18/day and rode the great beach path to Venice Beach and up towards Malibu (the one day we had the sun). There is also a Segway tour you can take but because of the rain we didn't take a chance on that! The concierge at the JW was very helpful in stearing us in the right direction with restaurants/sites/activities...she was really great. Robert at the front desk was friendly and helpful as well (he also has a cousin that lives 5 minutes from us in Ohio!)...small world!

Highly recommend this hotel...don't believe the negative reviews...it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience! The rooms were spacious, the hotel was very clean and the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. The restaurant and bar were excellent as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms were very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1625Sheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not spend the night but used the day spa with a travelzoo coupon. I was so impressed from the minute I drove up and the valet was all smiles and so nice. The hotel lobby was nice and we walked down to the spa with help from another employee who was also smiling and nice(I think he was a chef!) The spa was cozy and we hung out at the small pool until it was time for our service. I got a massage from Borbala which has to be the best one I have ever had-I just wish it was longer! I got a facial from Jeanne who was awesome. After our great services we had lunch at the bar restaurant where we sat outside. The service again was excellent and so was the food. I was so impressed about the staff-they were all so happy and nice. It was so great to be treated like a valuable customer which happens so rarely anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jesspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,914 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,651 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
980 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $392 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing