We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent place to stay in Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Santa Monica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is two thumbs up... Very friendly attentive staff. I wish more hotels would have such a friendly staff. For the price it was like I was staying at a five star hotel. Only complaint bit of a walk for grass for my dog...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    310
    146
    76
    51
See reviews for
271
256
38
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice -- our room, the lobby, patio area, pool, etc. The thing that made this JW Marriott stand out above all other hotel stays was the staff and the amazing service EVERYONE provided. The bellhop, front desk, concierge, restaurant staff at breakfast, bar staff, etc. Everybody there, together, made us feel important. We've only stayed in one other Santa Monica hotel (which was along Ocean Ave as well), but there's not a doubt in our mind that THIS JW Marriott is our new MUST STAY AT location in Santa Monica. No questions. You're within walking distance of the Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade (shopping district).

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for reservations. Not sure if it was my Marriott Rewards Card, but we paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FELLER8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very nice, unique, well designed hotel, immaculately kept, with wonderful employees, q are posh; all roouick to learn guests' names, helpful, and friendly. The rooms are large and nicely designed. Ocean-view rooms (some with balconies), all rooms quite nice and only a few blocks from the 3rd street promenade. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant our outside on the terrace are delicious, hard-to-beat for quality, and romantically atmospheric (thanks to long-time hostess Letti!). We stay here a few days each year and they always seem to remember us and genuinely welcome us "home". Spac, fitness center, and pool are big pluses, and it's only a short walk to the "show" on the beach near the Santa Monica Pier. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view, but settle for any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikesvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned from weekend here and I must say it doesn't get much better. The service and staff were over the top. Everyone had a smile on their face from Jessica at check in to the valet parking attendants. The ocean is right out the back and you can walk to great restaurants and shopping. The touristy Santa Monica pier is a 5 minute walk. The rooms need some new decorating but staff says they are slowing renovating hotel. Won't think twice about returning here when in Los angeles area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After many hours researching hotels on or near the beach in Santa Monica, we chose the JW and were very satisfied. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't 100% sure this would be a wise decision but rest assured this hotel is wonderful. We stayed at Shutters on the Beach last time we in LA and wanted something in that area but not as pricey. The service at the JW was excellent, the room had a view of the pool and ocean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location...perfect! Great fitness center with spa, steam room and suana, and plenty of treadmills and other equipment. The pool was heated (thank goodness because is was a little chilly while we were there) but unfortunately, no hot tub, which would have been appreciated with the cool, rainy weather we had.

Walking distance to the pier and promanade...plenty of restaurants and shopping. We also rented bikes a block from the hotel for $18/day and rode the great beach path to Venice Beach and up towards Malibu (the one day we had the sun). There is also a Segway tour you can take but because of the rain we didn't take a chance on that! The concierge at the JW was very helpful in stearing us in the right direction with restaurants/sites/activities...she was really great. Robert at the front desk was friendly and helpful as well (he also has a cousin that lives 5 minutes from us in Ohio!)...small world!

Highly recommend this hotel...don't believe the negative reviews...it was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience! The rooms were spacious, the hotel was very clean and the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. The restaurant and bar were excellent as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms were very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1625Sheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not spend the night but used the day spa with a travelzoo coupon. I was so impressed from the minute I drove up and the valet was all smiles and so nice. The hotel lobby was nice and we walked down to the spa with help from another employee who was also smiling and nice(I think he was a chef!) The spa was cozy and we hung out at the small pool until it was time for our service. I got a massage from Borbala which has to be the best one I have ever had-I just wish it was longer! I got a facial from Jeanne who was awesome. After our great services we had lunch at the bar restaurant where we sat outside. The service again was excellent and so was the food. I was so impressed about the staff-they were all so happy and nice. It was so great to be treated like a valuable customer which happens so rarely anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#17 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#6 of 35 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing