We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience! The rooms were spacious, the hotel was very clean and the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent and within walking distance of the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the 3rd Street Promenade. The restaurant and bar were excellent as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms were very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1625Sheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    344
    168
    88
    54
See reviews for
307
286
44
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not spend the night but used the day spa with a travelzoo coupon. I was so impressed from the minute I drove up and the valet was all smiles and so nice. The hotel lobby was nice and we walked down to the spa with help from another employee who was also smiling and nice(I think he was a chef!) The spa was cozy and we hung out at the small pool until it was time for our service. I got a massage from Borbala which has to be the best one I have ever had-I just wish it was longer! I got a facial from Jeanne who was awesome. After our great services we had lunch at the bar restaurant where we sat outside. The service again was excellent and so was the food. I was so impressed about the staff-they were all so happy and nice. It was so great to be treated like a valuable customer which happens so rarely anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend was going to Santa Monica for business reasons, and invited me to join her! She booked the JW Marriott Le Merigot. I arrived early in the morning, and tried to check in early, however the rooms were still not ready (understandable). Front desk couldn't locate reservation information either. Finally after 5 minutes, they found it. We reserved 2 double beds, but apparantly their system stated we were to receive a King. So I requested 2 double beds, and they were able to accomodate. They took my # down, and when the room was ready, they would let me know. Around Noon, they contacted me and stated the room was ready!

Room - the rooms are nice, definitely no complaints. However, as I have read in previous TripAdvisor reviews, it agree that this is not "JW" standards. Not what I would've expected for "JW". The decor is more in line with a regular Marriott. Therefore, for the pricing, I don't think it is worth it. I still think it is a lovely room, but to tack on "JW" and increase rates, that is something to consider for a future reservation... the double beds were comfortable, and nice. I noticed that on the surface, from a far, it looks very clean and together, but when you look closer at the finer details, it seems that the hotel needs a little bit of updating. For example, the business chair in our room, parts of the armrest was a little ripped... and then it looks that some parts of the room needed updating. Those were more minor issues, and not a big deal for me, but again, for those thinking "JW", I wouldn't have planned to see any of that.

Location - Amazing location! A few blocks walk to The Promenade. Easy acces to the beach and Pier. Loved it!

Internet - there is a surcharge in the room, but I believe in the lobby it is free

Staff - with the exception of the first lady checking me in, everyone else was VERY nice. Really enjoyed their friendly service, and always so accommodating!


OVERALL - really enjoyed the trip. The stay was nice, the rooms were clean and accomodating. Staff was friendly. Great location, I would recommend this as a "Marriott", not "JW".

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay! Great service, friendly staff and spectacular views! What is not to love about being steps away from the beach and downtown Santa Monica! With shopping at the 3rd Street Promenade, restaurants just outside my door, and a breathtaking view ... who could want anything else! Such a lovely and cozy hotel just a step away from downtown Santa Monica and easily accessible to everything especially the beach! Le Merigot is always lovely to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was just in recently for only one night on a business trip and was blown away by the high standard of service and commitment of the entire staff. My hat's off to all of you there. This is going to become my regular hotel for LA from now on. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasDumptruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. Check in was fast and pleasant. They has bottles of water and coffee / tea out for the guests. Lobby had a small bar and eating/lounge area. Very nice but simple. Nothing impressive.
The room was pretty standard. Clean but pretty standard as well. It was good for staying for business but I wouldn't stay here for a vacation.
I ordered room service for breakfast and it was good. They were missing one item from the order and the gentleman who delivered wasn't very professional as other hotels in the area. But the food was tasty and on time.
The best part of this hotel is the location. Right by the pier and beach. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely love this hotel. My husband and I get out to LA every 3-4 months and ALWAYS stay at least one night at this hotel because we love it so much! The staff is truly amazing - they remember your name and treat you like royalty!! I mean EVERYONE working there. And the accomodations - well what can I say? Its fabulous!! Beautiful views of the ocean and pier, clean, up-to-date, and a very very comfortable bed. We truly cannot say enough nice things about this place - zero complaints!!

Room Tip: Might try asking for an upgrade to get an ocean view room - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing