We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely view, and extremely comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A lovely view, and extremely comfortable rooms”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed two nights during a very busy business trip and the only disappointment was how little time we had to spend in the hotel and down on the beach just behind the hotel. We had two dinners in the hotel that were extremely tasty and well done -- and which kept a large group of us very happy!
The business center computers were down, so the front desk staff logged me into their computers so that I could get my boarding pass. Very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    370
    181
    93
    57
See reviews for
355
308
50
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked two rooms here for one week in July to merge a business trip with some family time. The weather was glorious, and we took that as an opportunity for Le Merigot to show the best it has to offer. As with any hotel stay, there were pros and cons to our experience, many of which may make the difference in your choice of this property for your visit to Santa Monica or L.A.

Pros: Plenty of relaxed outdoor spaces make Le Merigot a comfortable spot for anyone with some "down time" on their schedule. We ate breakfast outside nearly every morning, feeling the sun burn off the marine layer as the temperature went from chilly to comfortable within the time span of our meal. That single experience is something we always remember fondly about Le Merigot from previous visits, and it's one thing that remains the same, which is why we recommend lingering over this first meal to enjoy some of the best of what Le Merigot offers. Breakfast choices are predictably satisfying, although the buffet is pretty standard Marriott fare. Some of the staff here were amazingly friendly and helpful, and when you spend a lot of time on the property as we did, seeing the same faces and being recognized individually went a long way to make our visit enjoyable and memorable. Being within walking distance of the beach, the Santa Monica Pier, the Third Street promenade and the (renovated) outdoor mall adjoining the parking lot on Colorado was a definite plus for us. The outdoor pool is small, as other reviewers noted, but we made due with short visits, timed when the sun was right, and always had a good experience. Lobby renovations were just completed during our stay, although we thought the new look was much too corporate to benefit families, probably intentionally so.

Cons: The best experience at Le Merigot only comes when you get a room with a balcony or porch. Otherwise, the rooms are dated and claustrophobic. We spent very little time in one of our rooms (even though it was a junior suite) because it had only one small window, and the furniture was worn and (for lack of a better word) "yucky." Marriott obviously feels no need to keep these rooms fresh (except the beds, which were plush and comfortable), which is unfortunate when the age of these pieces is so depressingly palpable. Not a typical "J.W." experience in that regard. This property also has an eclectic configuration of rooms (you can see the great balconies off other rooms), which means you always think "something better" should be available, but the responses to our requests were always "that's just not available for your stay" or "that's the best we can do for you," as if the best rooms are kept secret for the "best guests." Our "junior suite," for example, was sold to us as a "perk" to offset the lack of a balcony and the inability to offer connecting rooms, but the space was not worth the trade-off. We don't think you can just "get lucky" with a balcony when you make a reservation, so you should check directly with the hotel's "in-house room scheduler" to find the best options, because reservations and the front desk will just (automatically and cryptically) deny your requests and give you a "no-view" room while saving the better rooms for guests who know better and expect more. Given the dated furnishings and bleak rooms, not having that balcony to feel the fresh air every day would be a deal-breaker for me, and as a bottom line, I would not choose Le Merigot over other options.

The dated furnishings of the rooms extends to all outdoor spaces. Sure, comfortable and "lounge-type" pieces probably wear quickly, but they have to be replaced often to maintain the quality of the outdoor experience here. We think these were the same cushions in place when we last visited in 2006, which made us feel that Marriott wants its guests to just "make due" with sagging and fading seating. It's just not a very welcoming feeling.

Some aspects of this property simply cannot be changed, which also merits a lower rating. The property is not oceanfront, and the journey to the beach is arduous (particularly with children) beginning with the pool-side stairway through the ramp to the street (accessed by keycard only with difficulty amid frequent denials of our cards), to the alley around the condos that obstruct the property's ocean-vew (often lined with homeless people and smelling of urine), to the trek across the hot sand. . . this journey is filled with reasons not to make the second or third trip, despite the great beach at the end. Also, keep in mind that even with a coveted balcony or porch giving you the sun and the breeze, the high concrete walls that are part of the design and construction of this building mean you have to stand and (often) lean to see the ocean, and it can get hot sitting to read within this "cell."

Other minor problems (they all add up!) include the tiny and inadequate gift shop, the rude and arrogant concierge (on all shifts!), the acceptance of large dogs as "guests" (and yes, they do bark) and an overwhelmed housekeeping staff (only when the hotel is full).

Overall, we feel this property is not J.W.-quality, agreeing with other reviewers on this point in every respect. The eclectric architecture certainly makes it unique, but that (along with the JW label) also raises expectations, particularly for loyal Marriott travelers. With the single exception of some dedicated staff members who "carry the banner" for individual service here, the operation, maintenance and "vision" of this property is no higher than a standard Marriott. Deflated expectations and the nagging feeling that this property could be so much better make this just an average experience overall.

Room Tip: Go directly to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitechalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Upon arriving around 4:30 w/ our 1 month reservation for a room for our family for 4 w/ double beds, we were told (rather proudly) by a young lady that they could not accommodate us except with a king size bed, for three nights! After "discussing" this reservation (I was admittedly angry after having left a 5 star resort in SBarbara only to follow through w/ our Marriott reservation!) coming to no alternative other than roll- aways, no manager ever stepped -in. Only another guest offered their dbl. bed room to us and took our king! That kind of hotel check in is just unheard of for anything more than a 3 star hotel~I was appalled. This might be a central reservation issue, but it was not handled professionally.

The room was clean, the balcony we were given very nice. Another chair or two out there would have been nice~there was space.

Robert at the front desk is a gem, and really everyone else that served us at the hotel, including the Fri. night concierge, just great. The lobby and pool free -lemon water and punch was a very nice, more 4 star touch.

Walls seem a bit thin...we had a screaming baby most of the early morning hours Friday night, heard another guest coughing and others talking periodically.

Cezanne restaurant was good however the booth backrest/cushions had a few stains and a tear in the middle~unsightly considering the prices. Service there is wonderful. Bar areas very nice though we didn't use.

Our one spa use was wonderful~my husband thought it was a great massage. Receptionist and manager were very accommodating on times~they are open late in the eve which is wonderful.

Fitness Center very small but very nice~also open a little later than some places.

Pool area is unfortunately very small and unattractive with an awkward back entrance down some stairs and out a heavy metal door to the street that you must use to get to the beach. We came in at night once from the Pier and there was very little light~kind of spooky!

Service definitely brings hotel up to a 3.5, and with some updating and check in changes, it could be a 4. Thanks to all who served us while there!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Overlandparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hotel front desk staff was lovely-the hotel was clean and quiet. The room was nice enough, location is convenient, although not right on the beach, it's a block away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liisaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Nice hotel, very nice location, lots to do. Clean, comfy beds. Free internet. Nicely decorated. No worries.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stopyourwhiningtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Was quoted price of $419/night which seemed high but it was OK because I was using Marriott points. This hotel was OK for about $200/night, but is not good if you pay more than that. The pool was laughable - very, very small. We had drinks twice on the balcony. The first night the drinks were delicious but the second night they were almost undrinkable.
Went to the steam room twice. Both the steam and sauna rooms were small. The second time we used the steam room there was a big bug, which made me feel like the spa was not very clean. The staff did come and remove the bug right away, but it still felt kind of icky. Room service was OK. Room was clean, so good maid service. Porters were helpful. Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view or big deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding which was taking place at Shutters, about a block away. We got a decent hotel rate through the bride and groom. The hotel was very clean, comfy beds , large rooms and had a great location- about a block from the beach and walking distance to pier, third street promenade, Venice Beach etc. The outside deck was nice for drinks, and the complimentary coffee/water/punch in the lobby was a nice touch.

Nothing really too negative to write about, but also nothing too memorable. I think the cost of the hotel is due to its proximity to the beach It had a very corporate feel, but for our purposes worked out fine. I would say that 35/day for valet parking is steep, however. One recommendation, do yourself a favor and eat at Cha Cha Chicken about a block away on Ocean! Amazing!

Room Tip: Request a room with a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,810 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,487 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing