We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hotel front desk staff was lovely-the hotel was clean and quiet. The room was nice enough, location is convenient, although not right on the beach, it's a block away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liisaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    351
    170
    88
    54
See reviews for
320
293
44
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Nice hotel, very nice location, lots to do. Clean, comfy beds. Free internet. Nicely decorated. No worries.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stopyourwhiningtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Was quoted price of $419/night which seemed high but it was OK because I was using Marriott points. This hotel was OK for about $200/night, but is not good if you pay more than that. The pool was laughable - very, very small. We had drinks twice on the balcony. The first night the drinks were delicious but the second night they were almost undrinkable.
Went to the steam room twice. Both the steam and sauna rooms were small. The second time we used the steam room there was a big bug, which made me feel like the spa was not very clean. The staff did come and remove the bug right away, but it still felt kind of icky. Room service was OK. Room was clean, so good maid service. Porters were helpful. Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view or big deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding which was taking place at Shutters, about a block away. We got a decent hotel rate through the bride and groom. The hotel was very clean, comfy beds , large rooms and had a great location- about a block from the beach and walking distance to pier, third street promenade, Venice Beach etc. The outside deck was nice for drinks, and the complimentary coffee/water/punch in the lobby was a nice touch.

Nothing really too negative to write about, but also nothing too memorable. I think the cost of the hotel is due to its proximity to the beach It had a very corporate feel, but for our purposes worked out fine. I would say that 35/day for valet parking is steep, however. One recommendation, do yourself a favor and eat at Cha Cha Chicken about a block away on Ocean! Amazing!

Room Tip: Request a room with a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband & I stay here every year with our 2 dogs (a lab & a bulldog). There aren't many high-end hotels that allow dogs over 25 lbs. Le Merigot is one of the best! The new lobby bar & area looks great. The rooms are spacious. The staff is friendly. Only downside is the small pool...but if it's a nice day, your steps away from the beautiful Pacific. Great location within walking distance of a ton of great restaurants, the pier & the shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slo13uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We just stayed 5 nights for a business conference and were very impressed by the polite and helpful staff, especially one of the managers, Miquel Olivares. There were some problems with our room that they I immediately attended to. The lobby was undergoing renovations and upgrades that were almost complete and looked quite modern. The only downside was no free WiFi even in the lobby! The location was most convenient for all the local sites, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Los Angeles to see family, and decided to stay in Santa Monica. The hotel is a block or so from the Santa Monica Pier and all the amusements as well as Muscle Beach, made famous by Jack LeLane. There is construction at the moment to upgrade the public spaces in the hotel, but the staff is tremendously accommodating. There is an outside lounge with a fire pit and large screen television on one side, and comfy chairs and tables for snacks and beverages. Go down a level and there is a lovely pool with plenty of seating around, as well as some fitness machines for those so inclined (there is also a fitness room inside). We breakfasted outdoors and had Eggs Benedict and Pineapple pancakes, bacon, juice, and coffee. It was rather expensive, but that was expected, and the food was excellent. There are also many places to dine close by. Our room was quite comfortable - the bed luxurious (we requested extra feather pillows), the bath very large and elegant. The television is now a flat screen that sits on top of the honor bar. There is Internet service, but unless you're a Gold Marriott member or above, you'll have to pay - per computer per day. We also had a private balcony with umbrella table and chairs that overlooked the lounge and outside function area and could also see a piece of the ocean. We rented a car, and each time the staff brought it to us they also provided us with two bottles of cold water for our excursion - a very nice and appreciated touch!

We did a lot of walking along the beach and found it convenient that there is a door at the back of the property that the key card opened so we didn't have to walk around to the front of the building to get back in. It's not marked, but you can find it easily enough.

While getting around LA is always a challenge, this is not centrally located to anything, but we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. We visited a museum just off Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills, and made the mistake of taking Sunset Boulevard back "home." Some huge event (commencement, perhaps?) was happening at UCLA, and even after getting past there, it took a total of about 1.5 hours to go less than 10 miles! Also - be aware that Route 405 will be CLOSED for about a week in July, which will cause the already congested highways to be unbearable!!!

Room Tip: The balcony was a nice perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing