We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Monica
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I went to Santa Monica on business for 3 weeks and had to make my own accommodations. I booked through the Travelodge website and got a room in the courtyard for $89/night. Clean room with fridge/microwave and 42 inch flat screen TV. Free parking was a plus as well as the continental breakfast. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and pleased.

The only negatives; The walls were somewhat thin, I heard some mumbling and at random times I heard people walking above, but it wasn't enough to warrant a problem. I just needed a place to sleep, shower and fix a quick meal if need be. This room fit the bill more than adequately.

Santa Monica shopping etc. is only 2 miles away and the beach just a couple of blocks beyond that. Everything you could ever imagine to eat as well as 'mall type' shopping and movie theatres etc. The Santa Monica pier is worth a look, too. Beautiful sunset. The bike path running north and south from the pier is also worth a look. I had a blast riding north to Will Rogers State Park and south to Marina Del Rey. There are FREE parking garages in Santa Monica, make sure you search for them as most places are $3-$7 to park.

LA traffic stinks, but I never had a problem in the Santa Monica area. Going to different places in LA, esp. if you have to get on the freeway, just prepare to go slow. The entrance to the freeway is only a block away, so that is a plus I guess.

There are definitely 'nicer' places to stay in the area, but for the money, this is worth a look for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rockstar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here for three nights after reading a review and the hotel website which claimed the hotel was ten minutes from Santa Monica. I have to agree with another review that it is at leat 15 minutes by bus or car. The hotel itself is clean, and offers a great continental breakfast and laundry facilities. We requested a courtyard room which is much nicer than those in the other block as there is a nice garden area to sit out in. The walls were paper thin and therefore quite noisy. If you are tight on cash then I would recommend this hotel as the bus into town is less than a dollar, however if you can afford to spend a bit more I would go for one of the hotels nearer to Santa Monica boulevard as the parking at the beach is quite pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Stayed at the Travelodge in Jan 09, it is ony 10 mins to the beach but as it has already been mentioned that is driving not walking. It is easy to get a 'Blue Bus' from the hotel to the beach for about 75c and it leaves every 10 mins. The hotel was very clean and hotel room was quite large.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mill5house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

First of all, I saw a review here, saying that the hotel was only ten minutes WALKING to Santa Monica beach. And yes, it was ten minutes, but DRIVING!!!
Very honest and clean hotel, friendly staff, the only thing I point my finger, was the tiny, tiny area of the complementary breakfast, because the hotel was fully booked, and get very crowed in the morning.
One thing that I loved was the soaps and shampoos. Great quality and lovely simple packaging! Really cute! :o)

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anavieira03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Just got back from LA. It was mostly a business trip where I stayed at a five star hotel on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monic which work paid for but then I took three days off after the conference finished to spend some time in LA. After trying to find an inexpensive hotel around Santa Monica in a safe neighbourhood, I booked this Travelodge after reading the mostly positive reviews online here.

The hotel was very cheap for Santa Monica paying US$440 for three nights. The hotel was clean. I had a huge king size bed and a huge widescreen LCD TV. The location was great with the bus stop just a few metres up from the hotel. The staff were very friendly. The only thing was I could hear the footsteps of what must have been a large overweight person above me so I suggest you book a room on the first floor and not the ground floor. Other than that, this was a good place to stay at a bargain price. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marty451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Santa Monica - trades off its name and proximity to the airport - but really its an overpriced piece of real estate. It will therefore come as no surpse that although this is simply a Travelodge, it still cost more per night than a decent 4* hotel elsewhere along the coast.

Nevertheless the room was a good size. The TV bizzarely was huge. Recall it being pretty hot and needing water but none was available in the room. I also recall there being 3 pillows. Not wishing to have a pillow fight at 2am with my friend we called room service who 1 hour later finally bought said pillow. By this time we'd passed out and wasn't best pleased to be woken up. The excuse was that he'd been busy checking people in. Seemed unlikely (given it was 2am) but it pretty much summed up the service you'll get here i.e. not much.

Brekkie was average. Location was average. Room was average. All in all pretty average.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kclkkjb1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights 15-19 OCT. I am writing this from the WIFI available free in every room, a big bonus if you need it. A good / smooth stay. Do try and ask for a 1st floor room as otherwise if you in a courtyard room, people do not have the courtesy to keep their voices down and chill out in the seating available there. It may not be that close to the beach but its not that bad. Its kind of easy access to almost everything if you have a car. The freeway is round the corner and you can join it to go almost anywhere like Universal/Hollywood etc. Not sure if its good for honeymoon/big families but the kitchenette is a plus just in case you need it. The rooms are typical travelodge but clean and no complaints. The bathrooms too are alright. Given the prices and quality of the beach properties its worth it. Again only if you have a car. The hotel has free parking but if you are late in the evening it can get full up. Still there is an outside parking as long as you drive out of that before 9 AM to avoid a ticket. The breakfast is more that what I expected, supposed to be continental but boiled eggs were also thrown in. Reception is small but then how much do you use it. Overall for a budget, the value in return is good. We booked it through their website as it was the cheapest. Yes it can get a wee bit noisy as the roads are busy but then again once the doors are closed, windows shut, its not that bad. I was surprised to see a large flat screen TV, if you are interested. An in room safety locker was a plus. For a couple it was enough.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
625 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $164 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travel Lodge
Santa Monica Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing