We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life saver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Life saver”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Last minute solo trip over the holiday season. The staff where brilliant and always helpful. Though under construction this did not effect my stay. Night time was quiet and the rooms always clean. Not far from LAX $30/40 cab ride. There is a trader joes and ATMs all within 2mins walking distance. Busses to Santa Monica run 30s walk away from the lodge.

My reason for 5stars would have to cost, the staff and location. Would highly recommend this place. I've travelled a lot and this kind of hotel is just the ticket. Great money saver. Allowed me to spend more money for dining and bars and was able. STAY AT THIS PLACE!

A massive thank you to all the staff

Kind regards

Room Tip: I stayed on the first level which suited me fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello Jason,

We really appreciate your positive review of our hotel. Our staffs always try to be as helpful and accommodating as possible. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    861
    259
    56
    27
See reviews for
570
742
143
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for a couple nights just after New Years, mostly to visit with a sister-in-law that was also visiting but staying (at a MUCH more expensive hotel nearer to the beach). We had no experience with the area at all so relied on TripAdvisor reviews exclusively, and as usual they didn't lead us wrong.

When first we arrived, I was very, very worried. The place isn't being renovated, it's more like being built! It's in an older, small residential neighborhood that I was concerned about at first. However, after walking around the block the next morning, it's actually a very peaceful and safe place IMHO. But from the outside, frankly the place looked like a dump. To get to our room, we had to climb a flight of stairs at the back of the hotel - which can be a pain with luggage, but not too bad. Only 1 story to climb. It's obviously an old building, but when we got into the room itself we were pleasantly surprised. While very, very space-efficient, it was also very clean and inviting.

There is no tub, just a shower. The sink is in the main room beside the 2nd bed. TV was nice though, and there's a small table nearby and a small fridge and microwave too. It's not a big room by any means, but I gather space is at a premium in the area as a whole and it was plenty big enough for us 3. I think I paid around $150/nt which - considering the area and average price - seemed quite reasonable. So once we got to our room my initial fears were relieved.

We didn't go to breakfast there, so I can't comment on that, but we slept very peacefully and I do love the type of bedding used - very comfortable. The only downside is there's really nothing around - but the beach isn't too far down the same road (Pico) that runs beside the hotel.

Parking became a bit of a concern when we returned the next night late. There were no spaces beside the main building where the office was. There's a second and third building with parking between them (closed off) and another on the far end. They've also made a deal with Trader Joe's that lets you park in their lot, and the office gave me a card for the dashboard for that. But turns out I didn't need it, there was a space available in the far lot. Not sure I'd have liked to leave my care in a business' lot after hours, but at least they've got that option when the normal lots get full.

All in all, I was quite happy with Travelodge and would stay there again. The renovations being done are EXTENSIVE, and when complete I expect the hotel will be even better. (Prices may rise at that point, but that would be expected and probably still worthwhile). But, though the work being done makes the place look worse than it its, it really didn't hamper our stay much at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BlueDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your recent visit to Santa Monica. The good this is the stay was to your liking despite all the renovations. We strive every day to provide clean comfortable rooms and exceptional service. The breakfast area and building exterior is under renovation currently which will be complete soon and will be a welcome change for all guests as well as the staff. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Decided to take a spur of moment trip to Santa Monica with our extended family. Would love to have stayed close to the beach. Would love to be wealthy. Would love to be young and handsome. None happened so we moved up Pico Street to the Travelodge, based on recommendations on this site and the lack of other options either being available or affordable. (Extended family means my kids and their kids which means my credit card.) We had been on the beach all day and straggled to the hotel just before dark, just so we could get a glimpse of the much discussed construction. I was surprised how well all was functioning considering the wall to wall scaffolding and a couple good sized dumpsters. I wasn't planning to sleep on either, so it was mostly a curiosity. The lady at the desk was a great help, sorting out our three rooms, getting us parked and pointed in the right direction. The rooms were well put together, a touch larger than I expected, although still not spacious, but with an interesting floor plan; one designed for multiple night stays and some in-room snacking. The microwave, refrigerator, bar sink, and small table in a separate space worked well. The bathroom was clean and well appointed, but I would institute a 'knock before entering' rule for this area, particularly if one was spending any thinking time on the throne and had a healthy regard for his or her knees.
I was surprised to see a wood laminate floor on the two rooms on the first floor, with carpet on our third room, which was on the second floor. After thinking about it, however, it made sense with the thought of other beach going tourists dragging sand everywhere. Since the carpet's sound killing qualities would be necessary for upstairs, carpet it was, or so goes my interpretation.
The breakfast was temporarily served in room 109, way in the back corner of the first building, with five or six small tables and a couple tables out on the edge of the sidewalk. We opted for the sidewalk seating. Worked for us. The food, while limited, was fresh and someone was replenishing as fast as the crowd allowed. Definitely more than adequate.
It did seem a bit odd to walk beneath the scaffolding getting about the site, but no major inconvenience. It speaks to the dedication of the ownership that such a major project would be taken on for what is primarily appearance only.
I would certainly come back to the Travelodge should we decide to venture to the Santa Monica area again. Love to people watch and there is definitely a unending supply of watching worthy subjects on the beaches and piers in that area.

Room Tip: Pico is a busy street so getting to the back of building would seem most logical. Traffic wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is really important to us . Our team strives to ensure that each of our guests are provided with excellent service .Thank you again for being our guests and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
593 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,781 reviews
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Property: Travelodge Santa Monica
Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travel Lodge
Santa Monica Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing