We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very thin walls and ceiling, too noisy to get any sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very thin walls and ceiling, too noisy to get any sleep”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The front desk service was great. The room was updated, had all the basics, and mostly very clean. The carpet was not so clean and I did not want to put anything down on it or walk on it barefoot. The window treatments did not block the very bright lights from the parking lot. The biggest drawback to this hotel are the thin walls and ceiling. I heard everything that was said and went on in the rooms adjecent to and above mine, and every step and thump in the hallway. Squeaky bed springs from the neighboring room woke me at 5 am and continued on and off until 7am when the noisy plumbing started screeching.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    853
    258
    55
    27
See reviews for
562
738
141
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The room I was provided in the first building was very small and dated, but a colleagues room in the fourth building (courtyard room) seemed fine. During my stay, the shower in my room would not run warm. The room was clean enough, but because it was dated, it gave the impression of uncleanliness. In the first building atleast, it was quite noisy in the hallway. I could hear people talking and leaving their rooms very clearly, and this prevented me from getting to sleep, and also woke me up early. For these reasons, we decided to move the next night to another hotel.

The internet, though free, is very very slow. If you stay here, you're going to need a car or to catch public transport, as Santa Monica downtown is far away, and we're told west hollywood is 45 mins away by bus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

A hotel/motel stands or falls on its staff, and this Santa Monica Travelodge really excells. In the three following examples, they batted three for three with this traveler:

I had trouble managing the TV system, and a maintenance man came within two
minutes of my call, and politely explained everything to me in words of one syllable!

I was trying to drag a heavy suitcase down a flight of exterior stairs, and a member
of the outside staff rushed up the stairs and asked to carry the suitcase down for me.

I somehow left my pajamas in the room when we left, and staff instantly sent them
to me by Priority Mail, and I had them again within two days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbfrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We booked on expedia before we came and on our first night was assigned room 104 on the ground floor, just off the lobby area. This room was more geared up for a single traveller but we stuck it out for the first night after being told they had no availability until the next day for the courtyard rooms. We were told that these cost $10 more a night. The next day I asked to see them and was so impressed with them I immediately requested a switch for the next two nights. The guy at reception (Brett) was so nice and friendly he said he would not charge me! The room was much larger, quieter and had a nice little kitchen area consisting of a fridge and microwave, sink and small dining area.
Our next two nights were great and I must reccomend the indian restaurant two blocks down as it served great tasting food (this coming from a seasoned veteran of indian eateries in the UK and a great mother in law who cooks nice pakoras and chicken curry!)

Location is good but you will need a car to get around. Santa monica beach is about 3 miles away and worth checking out. Overall a great place to base yourself in LA.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed in this motel with my fiance after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. It is really nothing special, but is comfortable, relatively clean and in a good location provided you have a car (just a couple of minutes from the freeway into LA, 20 mins from LAX and about a 10 min drive to the beach at Santa Monica). There isn't really anything nearby to see or do so you'll need to drive. The room was quiet and had a huge TV. The decor is a bit tired but the linens were clean. The breakfast was a bit of a strange affair - literally 4 tiny tables in the lobby and a counter with some cereal and toast on it and paper / plastic cups and bowls. Not really what I was expecting at all, but I gather that this is more normal here in the United States. For a European it felt like a strange set up - more like a quick snack than a continental breakfast. The staff seemed friendly enough, although we didn't have much contact with them. I think if I were doing this again I would probably stay in Santa Monica itself in one of the motels near the beach. However, if you had kids I suspect the Travelodge would be perfect as the room had a small kitchenette.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The staff here were genuinely friendly and helpful. It was very convenient having the free wireless internet and breakfast as well. The rooms were quite small but immaculate and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Everything is just like the other reviews. Room is clean and comfortable. There is a small kitchennette (sink, microwave, dining table w/2 chairs, safe) inside the room which is nice. Price is reasonable but not cheap as well. Parking and continenetal breakfast are free. Free Wifi as well.

Only thing is the location is on a noisy main street. Try to book a quiet room inside far away from the entry. The building in the court yard is nicer.

The staff is friendly, esp. the female staff in the morning (Amalia). The other male staff in the evening is not as nice but still ok.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Property: Travelodge Santa Monica
Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travel Lodge
Santa Monica Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing