We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Awesome”
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Third stay here.. Wonderful hotel by the beach! I will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john21204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    329
    175
    92
    93
See reviews for
337
333
78
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inland Empire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

My husband I recently spent three evenings at the Hotel California in Santa Monica. I was not too excited about the reservation as some of the comments I had read on line were not very complimentary. However, we truly enjoyed our stay and found the accommodations modest but outrageously clean. The floors in our room were original hardwood and just gleamed! The bed was very comfortable and outfitted with down bedding. The internet service was excellent. The location was perfect for walking to the promenade for dinner, or going out on the pier for the sunset or getting to the beach for morning exercise The accommodations were affordable and the parking was included. If you want luxury this is not it, but if you want a step back in time and a very comfortable place to hide out, this is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC-BC-SKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Well its not the Hyatt or even Shutters but its good in its own way. My room was nice, cozy, and clean! Very comfortable beds. It was nice to have a ceiling fan in the room, I went right to sleep. I loved all the cable channels on my flatscreen tv. Also, I must say this is a very quiet hotel. It was great to be in LA and be able to walk places so I gotta say this location is amazing. Im glad that I stayed here verses the Loews because I didnt have to deal with an elevator and having to always walk through the lobby so it was also convenient. As far as the service...kinda a ma and pop operation. I could smell the young ladies lunch who checked me in. I feel bad that I interrupted her lunch but I was fast! So the only negative thing I could really say, is just the professionalism however maybe this was just a rare thing. The rest of the staff was really nice. You get bang for the buck here!! Santa Monica, the beach, comfortable clean room!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRobinsonLA2MIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

My 16-year-old daughter and I were looking at So Cal colleges and she insisted we stay here one night, so that "we could say we had." I thought it looked fun, so I waited for it to show up at a reasonable price (I believe it was $132) and booked it.

I was a little leery after reading some of the reviews here, particularly since the replies by the owners/managers seemed rather defensive and hostile, but we're always up for places that are interesting and I figured we'd be just fine.

We drove right past it the first time, but caught ourselves quickly enough to make a quick U-turn and squeeze into a "non-place" in the tiny parking lot in order to check in. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. She gave us our souvenir key cards (with American Gothic-themed beach/farmer!) and told us where our room was and where we'd be able to park for free. It was a Sunday night, so we were able to park right in front on the street for free after 6 pm. (as long as we moved our car by 9 the next morning)

We were going to explore the area before that, so we ended up leaving our car in the Santa Monica Place parking lot (near the 3rd St. Promenade) which was free for the first 3 hours, and we were able to walk from there.

Our room faced the street, but that was fine--the noise didn't bother me at all. Of course, it was a Sunday night in November, so that might have been more quiet that usual. We were on the second floor in an airy, charming two-double bed room. I loved the whimsical touches and amenities. The ceiling fan had a lovely hand-painted design bordering it and the beds had the requisite surfboard headboards. There was a weird little "dressing room/kitchen" area between the bedroom and tiny bathroom that had a closet, cupboards, a fridge and a microwave. I would recommend they spend some money renovating and pushing the bathroom out into this space to make room for a larger shower. The shower was about as tiny as they come. My daughter completely freaked out when she saw it. I'm not kidding, you could barely turn around in there! And it was dark. The window in the weird dressing room wouldn't shut completely, but since we were on the second floor, I wasn't too bugged by that; if I'd been on the ground floor that would've been unacceptable.

Breakfast in the morning was apples, tea, coffee and pastries and muffins. There seemed to be plenty for everyone. My daughter was disappointed there was no hot chocolate.

The courtyard to the side of the hotel was cute, and had a great path to the beach. The neighborhood was fine, and I never felt unsafe.

All in all, I thought this hotel delivered exactly what it advertises: a charming, funky beach experience at a reasonable price. I would recommend it to those who would understand the charm of the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Oh dear! Why didn't I check the reviews on Tripadvisor before booking. I had flown from UK via Chicago and arrived about 6.30pm to find that to park in their "lot" would cost another $20 - the room cost was $204 inc tax. I was shown to my room and at first was pleasantly pleased to see the surfboard headboard to the bed, a poster of LA Confidential on the wall and a filter coffee maker but there it ended. The bathroom was like something out of a 60's "digs" (boarding house) in UK. It was very small, hadn't been decorated for a long while, was not very clean and is easily the worst hotel bathroom I have ever set eyes on. I do not think a woman would have been able to open the shower taps ("faucets"). They hurt MY hands to do so they were so stiff and badly designed. I was so shocked I took no photos. Anyhow I had paid and was too weary to switch hotels anyway so I had to make the best of it. I checked out the "minibar fridge" and it was empty. I went back round to the "foyer" - a small office - and asked if I could get a beer to take back to the room. "We dont sell any drinks here. You could go to the bar across the street". If you want to say you stayed at "The Hotel California" - don't say I didn't warnya!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Walsh, Public Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
We are a 3 star property. We do not provide a liquor service or in room mini bars. However, surrounding us there are multiple establishments where you can enjoy a drink or 2. We provide a refrigerator in all of our rooms for any beverages that you would like to bring in. We also welcome any pre requests if there is anything that you would like in your room upon arrival. As far as our bathrooms we use top of the line linens. All of our bathrooms are inspected everyday for cleanliness and all components are checked for working order. We encourage any feedback during your stay so we can send an engineer to your room if there is something not to your expectations. Keep in mind, while asking for your beer, it would have been a good time to bring up your issue with the bathroom. We are glad that you enjoyed your surfboard headboard, in room art, and your coffee maker. Our rooms are designed to meet your comfort needs with style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscon
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Took a last minute trip to LA and realize that the hotel we booked was far from the beach so we canceled and took a chance. We walked in here checked the rates and the young guy showed us a room. We said sold. It was really cool. It reminded of The Hard Rock Hotel but before it became commercialized. The beds were comfortable!! Staff was great. Room was great. Bathroom could use a little work and maybe a new tv in the room but no complaints really! New management says stay tuned, so we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonalivingTuscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This hotel is a gem. I'm almost afraid to talk about it because they might raise their rates or it might be impossible to get a room. Right on the beach in Santa Monica and next door to the Loew's hotel (six times the price), the Hotel California is a collection of clean, trendy rooms - some singles, suites and even one-bedroom apartments with virtually full kitchens. They also have Los Angeles-themed movie posters on the walls, i.e. "LA Confidential", "Chinatown", etc. Staff is very helpful and friendly and there's coffee and muffins in the lobby each morning. The Santa Monica Pier is a five minute walk - and the Santa Monica Promenade ( I think that's what it's called) is also very close. There's even a good Italian restaurant with good pizza (not great, I'm from New Jersey) a few doors away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoxClamantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,859 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing