We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveler rating
474
359
193
96
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
359
193
96
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel california movie posters eagles song great location the santa monica pier hardwood floors muscle beach queen bed separate bedroom an older hotel beach hotel third street promenade ocean view james carter surfboard block
Filter
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Loved everything! Sweet staff, nice room with cute decor. Best cheese bagel ever at breakfast! Within walking distance to EVERYTHING! forget the rental car till after your stay, you won't need it and you have to pay for parking. (Only negative here) I would go back and I would recommend to friends. You can check out, but you can never leave......fine with me!

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeluxeBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We appreciate the awesome feedback! The Hotel California is within walking distance to all the famous places in Santa Monica. We look forward to your return :) We'll even keep some cheese bagels for your friends!! - James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and we are so glad that we found this little gem near the beach! We stayed in a suite in the back area and there was plenty of space. The breakfast and coffee were great, and so was the staff. James went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and let us know about a really cool Hollywood hiking trail. Would love to visit this hotel again!

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicaaaa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks so much!! We've really upgraded our courtyard and breakfast offerings. I'm totally excited that you appreciated the hotel and enjoyed your stay! When you return, I've got plenty more hiking trails in mind :) See you soon! James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Super fun hotel! Loved staying here. Good location, even better price We got a better deal by calling the hotel directly and booking with James. He also checked us in when we arrived and was very attentive throughout our stay!! Cant wait to come back next holiday! Cheers!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind post. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay... We look forward to your next visit! - James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family stayed here for 8 nights after our massive Disneyland visit earlier. It was absolutely perfect in every way. The Hotel California is minutes to be beach, pier, shopping, and plenty of places to eat. Rooms were clean, and we loved the decorating in them, beds were a pleasure to sleep on. Breakfast was a bonus, and the random Pizza Parties were a lovely touch, my children are still talking about them! A huge shout out needs to go to Katie, Aaron, JP, James and Co, fantastic staff who were fabulous to deal with and totally awesome with my kids - thank you!

We highly recommend The Hotel California, and are already planning a repeat visit.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4jevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We're all pumped your family had a great stay! Since we've upgraded our free breakfast offerings our guests have been very happy! Sleeping on a BEAUTY REST mattress :) is popular as well...Remember your room key for your discounted return visit. We'll save some pizza for you! - James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The staff here is excellent. Even though it's a relaxed atmosphere no details are over looked when it comes to the service. The location is just a block away from all the action yet the hotel feels like it's tucked away in it's own little beach front world. I travel to Cali often and have stayed in luxury hotels but this place has become my new favorite spot to chill. Going back in August!

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petunia2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for posting such a great review! We look forward to welcoming you back in August - great weather and big waves ahead! - James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews