We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I ever stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst place I ever stayed at.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First if all, NO AIR CONDITION. Room gets unbearably hot in 80 degree weather. Very outdated, especially the bathroom. Not a lot of space. Sheets didn't look very fresh. Mold in the bathroom. Dirty floor. Way overpriced!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karlheinz1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    317
    170
    92
    92
See reviews for
328
319
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel California is a fantastic boutique hotel that represents excellent value for money. We loved the location which is close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. The rooms are comfortable and the décor is very cool - exactly what you expect in a place called Hotel California. I would especially like to thank Katie at reception, she was awesome, always happy to go out of her to help.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are better ad some have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed staying here for the five nights, close to everything, very helpful staff, obliging in every way, along with a very comfortable beachy feel apartment, it was perfect end to our holiday. The seating areas outside the rooms were terrific for breakfast or relaxing at the end of the day, Loved it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very cool surfer retro rooms only steps to the surf or the Santa Monica Pier. We had a large up stairs room. Only draw back being that the TV was in the living room wall mounted in front of a couch with no place to raise your feet instead of in front of the bed like most nice hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Walter,

Thanks so much for the great review we loved that you enjoyed the beachy vibe the Hotel California exudes down by the Santa Monica pier. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit out.

Cheers,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double queen suite at the Hotel California and I would happily stay here again. Beds comfortable and the rooms quite quirky. The big winner is the location of this hotel just a minutes walk to the beach, right by the pier. It was reasonably priced comparative with other hotels. Breakfast was included and there were bread rolls, pastries, fruit and yoghurt. Free tea and coffee thought the day too which was a nice touch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Gemma,

You are welcome to join us back here anytime! We really enjoyed reading your detailed review that dives into all the positive aspects of having the location that we do at the Hotel California. We hope you had a great rest of your trip and had just as great of an experience everywhere else you traveled to. Please let us know when you will be returning to the beach.

Cheers,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is so very quaint. No air conditioning here...you don't need it...just open up all the windows and hear the rush of the ocean waves and the happy sounds from the Santa Monica Pier. Large rooms and comfortable beds. You really feel part of the "beach" experience here...no stuffy hotel rooms where you feel caged in - this place gives you all the sights and sounds of a great ocean vacation. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8BallGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Such a great review!

The staff was so happy to read this sterling review of our hotel and we really hope future guests get a chance to look over the wonderful things you said. You really appreciated the type of experience we try and provide here at the Hotel California. I especially enjoyed that you pointed out the "non-stuffy" room factor people experience with big chain hotels and got to enjoy the openness and fresh air style of our establishment. Hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, the staff here are great, really friendly and helpful. The location is excellent you literally walk down the steps cross the road and are on the beach right by the pier.

However the rooms are quite small, and it was quite noisey at night from the street. The breakfast also is not up to much. And parking is very pricey but you can park on the street for free overnight and it is safe.

You are basically paying for location here so it would be great if stopping for a few nights. However if you are looking for a romantic get away you will need to spend more as Santa Monica expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladyal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing