We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Visit from Adult Kids”
Review of Sea Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Blue Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed in casual, "cottage like" two bed suite. one bedroom, one bath, and one Q bed surrounded by heavy curtains in main room. Two large leather couches, table and chairs in spacious main room. Good space for entertaining on a cool evening! Hardwood floors and definite beach feel. CLEAN! Easy walking to beach, restaurants and shopping. Would stay again! Coffee and breakfast muffins/rolls a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSN827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us how your stay went at our hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you again.

Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was very excited when I got a booking for this hotel on my business trip to California as it lays just feet away from the Santa Monica Pier and... well everybody knows the song, right? I was not disappointed at all: the location is great and even though it was January and everyone was complaining about how "cold" it was, coming from a freezing Las Vegas it was actually a bless and I sure used my chance and had a nice walk on and around the Pier enjoying the sun! Worth to mention that, being true Los Angelinos, the owners cranked up the heat to the max in the room, which was a bit too much for me (used to German weather) but in the end it showed that they cared and that was nice.
The room was nice and clean, with a nice feel of Hollywood due to the paintings and posters on the wall and the Eagles' "Hotel California" lyrics quote painted above the window frame was a really nice touch, meeting my original expectations about the place.
Overall, a positive experience. "Hotel California" offers a great experience at an affordable rate but if you are looking for a posh place with sophisticated food you should probably keep looking. If you are looking for a true and friendly place to experience the best of Santa Monica, then I can definitely recommend it for you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucibitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for writing this great feedback in regards to your stay at our hotel! We hope to see you again, perhaps you can come stay in the summer when the beach is perfect! You can check-out any time you like, But you can never leave

Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Hotel California is a fantastic place to stay ! What an accommodating staff in a "perfectly california" location. I will absolutely choose to stay again and will refer my family, friends and colleagues. The "swimming pool" is the beach of southern california. Completely surrounded within the BEST shopping, restaurants, night life, convention center, etc etc etc, etc ! As in all things exceptional, the customer service throughout was truly above and beyond. VERY affordable and delivering the truly best essence of Santa Monica and all that it has to offer to anyone. IF you have kids, the Santa Monica Pier is "right there" and the "backyard" of the hotel, hosts a complete playground on the beach. They have "bungalow" availability on the property where I look very forward to staying in for a good week during my next business trip to Los Angeles. The internet access and parking are "genuinely free" and not a noted surcharge to me as with most other hotel stays. Perfectly awesome place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealityVirtually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel! We aim to provide the best customer service, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the perfect location and all of the places close by. Come back and see us again soon!

Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was very accommodating when it came to checking out. The Marathon experience was made better by the proximity of this hotel to the shuttle busses and the finish line activities. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was just as described. I would stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timchristoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us for the LA Marathon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is going to be a tough one to rate. It is really all about your expectations. I’ll try to give you the pros and cons so you can make sure this is what you are looking for. The better half had stayed here before and when we arrived I was underwhelmed but frankly it has really grown on me.

The hotel is a series of two story tile roofed bungalows, nestled between similar private homes. The rooms are decorated with Hollywood and surf culture memorabilia, and hand painted “frescos” adorn the ceilings. Nice woods floors and simple varnished wood paneled wainscoting. The rooms are connected with large shared balconies and patios. We had the doors and windows open most of the time we were in the room to let the gentle breezes and sublime temperature waft through. Quite a change from two feet of snow in New Hampshire! A simple continental breakfast is available in the lobby. We took it back to our room. The beach is literally a hundred yards away, and the Santa Monica pier, a couple blocks.

As you no doubt already know, the price is less that the adjoining high rise hotels. But don’t come here on price, thinking you are going to get a contemporary hotel. If you want a modern hotel with long hallways and identical rooms, carpet everywhere, workout room, dining room on site, etc., this is not the place for you. This is quaint, a bit kitschy, eclectic, but in our mind charming and just right for a beachside getaway. So with that in mind, I rated it above average.

Our suite had one large leather easy chair. When we mentioned this, they brought an additional leather love seat while we were away during the day. Room was very clean. Bed very comfortable. Had a large flat screen if you need a TV fix.

One might consider these as potential downsides:
No AC. Ceiling fans only. If it is really hot, that might be a bother.
Each room is probably unique. The first room they checked us into had a kitchenette but no balcony. They moved us to another room with a large shared balcony and a partial view, but no kitchenette.
No elevators. If you have heavy bags, you may want to request a first floor room.
If you sleep with the window open, you will have some white noise from the road.
There is some construction noise from the huge construction project across the street.

The LA Segway dealer is right next door. You can rent a Segway to go cruise Santa Monica!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JonathanCalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review! Reviews like yours help our guests to better understand and picture our property as we are not like any other hotel. You were right when you said the rooms are all unique, our owner has personally added his touch to the property by customizing each room. This gives our guests the opportunity to enjoy a real beach hotel with an authentic and classic beach feel. Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again.

Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Location is pretty spot on, close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Rooms are basic, but OK. Thin, thin walls, so you'll hear everything that's going on. Minimalistic breakfast available in the microscopic lobby. There is no restaurant or other facilities. Like someone else wrote, it's more of a motel, except the missing parking space; you may have to park at the Loewes Hotel next door (only valet parking, $36) Full Wifi service is not free.

This place has some sort of backpacker atmosphere to it. It's decorated with guitars and surfboards, I think it's pretty ok for basic accommodation.

Staff was pleasantly "normal", I actually find the service-mindedness and politeness in many hotels a bit tiresome when it is overdone.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the front rooms you may be disturbed by both traffic and noise from other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martindengrusomste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest
As a limited service hotel we do not offer additional outlets to guests directly at the property. There is however a very wide selection of popular and famous restaurants within walking distance of our hotel. Our hotel is so close to everything that the noise can be loud during busy times of day here in the city. We do however have some rooms that are located further back on the property/not facing the street side. They do not have as good of a view, but they can be a bit quieter for light sleepers. Please let the Front Desk staff know when you are booking. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. Please contact me if I can better assist you for your future stays.
Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Place needs renovation. It's an older property that needs the restroom area renovated and/or upgraded. The feel is amazing with the atmosphere of the amazing landscaping and the surfboard headboard. The breeze and sounds coming off the Pacific is so comfortable and soothing. The parking is first come first serve and definately not adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Our hotel offers many different types of rooms for guests. We have some rooms that have new bathrooms, and we have some that have more original bathrooms. Some guests' prefer the classic look, some prefer the newer. For future visits, please let my front desk staff know when you are booking that you would like a newer bathroom so we can ensure your satisfaction. Our parking at the hotel is limited, however we have an agreement with a nearby hotel to take our overflow parking at the same rate we offer, so we never run out of parking spots for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
644 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,447 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,997 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
562 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Blue Hotel

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212 (Formerly The Hotel California)
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $195 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic, Oceanfront Santa Monica Hotel (formerly Hotel California) Unwind at this laid-back, oceanfront hideaway along the Pacific. Bask in the sun and carefree lifestyle of Southern California and stay a while at the Sea Blue Hotel. With a prime beachfront address, our tranquil, seaside refuge welcomes you to the heart of Santa Monica. Relax in our private courtyard with beach access, so you can dip your toes in the sand any time. Stay within walking distance of the Santa Monica Pier and the iconic Pacific Park Ferris wheel, and close to the local shops and galleries that line the Third Street Promenade. Just minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, and Malibu, our modern, surf-inspired accommodations with free Wi-Fi will leave you rested and relaxed, so you can head out to catch some waves and explore the best parts of coastal Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing