We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, old buildings”
Review of Sea Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Blue Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Location is pretty spot on, close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Rooms are basic, but OK. Thin, thin walls, so you'll hear everything that's going on. Minimalistic breakfast available in the microscopic lobby. There is no restaurant or other facilities. Like someone else wrote, it's more of a motel, except the missing parking space; you may have to park at the Loewes Hotel next door (only valet parking, $36) Full Wifi service is not free.

This place has some sort of backpacker atmosphere to it. It's decorated with guitars and surfboards, I think it's pretty ok for basic accommodation.

Staff was pleasantly "normal", I actually find the service-mindedness and politeness in many hotels a bit tiresome when it is overdone.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the front rooms you may be disturbed by both traffic and noise from other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martindengrusomste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest
As a limited service hotel we do not offer additional outlets to guests directly at the property. There is however a very wide selection of popular and famous restaurants within walking distance of our hotel. Our hotel is so close to everything that the noise can be loud during busy times of day here in the city. We do however have some rooms that are located further back on the property/not facing the street side. They do not have as good of a view, but they can be a bit quieter for light sleepers. Please let the Front Desk staff know when you are booking. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. Please contact me if I can better assist you for your future stays.
Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Place needs renovation. It's an older property that needs the restroom area renovated and/or upgraded. The feel is amazing with the atmosphere of the amazing landscaping and the surfboard headboard. The breeze and sounds coming off the Pacific is so comfortable and soothing. The parking is first come first serve and definately not adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Our hotel offers many different types of rooms for guests. We have some rooms that have new bathrooms, and we have some that have more original bathrooms. Some guests' prefer the classic look, some prefer the newer. For future visits, please let my front desk staff know when you are booking that you would like a newer bathroom so we can ensure your satisfaction. Our parking at the hotel is limited, however we have an agreement with a nearby hotel to take our overflow parking at the same rate we offer, so we never run out of parking spots for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Get the double room not the two single beds in separate rooms as the second room is freezing. Hotel is literally onto the beach so location wise it is great but the breakfast was not as we expected it was a cereal and pumped hot water in a flask in the reception area. At least we got parking which was good but expensive. The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful and all in all it was a nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
If you are ever here and find yourself cold, please let my front desk staff know immediately so that we can bring you a portable electric heater right away. I apologize for our breakfast not meeting your expectations; there are usually more options that the one you mentioned, I will remind my staff to keep the multiple options stocked all the way through the breakfast hours.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. If I can be of any assistance for your future stays, please contact me. You're satisfaction is important to us.

Alex
(Guest Services Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The rooms are clean and tidy but lacking in basic amenities such as a writing table. Had to walk to another hotel to get bottled water. The internet was impossible to use without your own "hot spot" connection. Never did figure out how to turn heater on.
It is overpriced considering it is nothing above an average Motel. I come to Santa Monica every 3 months and will not stay here again..

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allan44p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. Although we are not a full service hotel, we aim to provide the best value for the great prices we offer compared to other hotels in this prime Santa Monica location. If you visit us a gain, we do have alcove suites available, which all have a table and chairs. We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the wi-fi and heater. We would have been happy to help and send someone up to adjust your heater and/or bring you a space heater. We hope you had a great visit to Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is more of a motel than a hotel. When I checked in they increased the rate $25 a night, the free wifi was gone and they increased the price of parking to $36 a night. The room was dirty, cold and the heater didn't work.

I stayed for 20 mins before checking out and staying at Shore a few blocks away. The staff were unhelpful and billed me for two full nights. I disputed the amount through american express and got a full refund.

I have been staying in this hotel at least twice a year for the last five years. I've watched it go rapidly down hill. Santa Monica is such an awesome place, stay somewhere nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john21204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for travelers to Santa Monica. We are happy to hear you were a returning guest and hope you received the return guest discount on your room. We are sorry you had to go through American Express to dispute your charges and hope they didn't charge you a service fee. We would have been happy to help you with that, and also with the heater issue. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable and you had everything you need - flat screen TV with remote and sleep timer, coffee maker in the room and they provided coffee, tea, juice, breakfast rolls, yogurt in the morning. The paid parking is tight but available and it's a block to the beach, two blocks to Santa Monica pier and about three blocks to all the shopping, restaurants and night spots in the promenade area. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pathoranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for posting you review for The Hotel California. We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and overall visit to Santa Monica. We would love to have you back. You could mention you are a return guest and qualify for a return guest discount or upgrade when we confirm your previous stay. Call the front desk directly. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This review would have been very different if we did not have such a terrible experience at "breakfast" the morning of our departure. The rooms are fine but the heater is very noisy. Myself, husband and 18 month old toddler went down for the continental breakfast one hour before it was due to be finished and there was nothing left. The breakfast is a table in the reception, the tea and coffee pots were empty. One if the girls said they would get more pastries if we wished to wait it would be 20 mins which was fine. The other staff member was on the phone and seemed quite irritated by our presence. A we had our coffee waiting on the pastries, my toddler was yapping away and the woman on reception asked us to be quiet and stormed out of the reception on the phone. Eventually the breakfast arrived, my toddler was talking and playing as they do, there were no other guests in reception, the rude staff member, a lady with short curly brown hair, asked us to parent our child and then copied what my child was doing that was annoying her! She obviously has no relevant people skills or has dealt with children before. We got the mangers name and this "lady's" name and advised we will have to make a complaint as she was so rude! She kept her head down and did not apologise once for having us wait or being so rude. This is my first time posting on trip advisor but I would not want any other parent having to be treated like this. Stay Away!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hotel C, Front Office Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to post a review. We will take the information you provided us with to train our staff so this doesn't happen again. We hope your overall experience in Santa Monica was a great one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
721 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Blue Hotel

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212 (Formerly The Hotel California)
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $197 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic, Oceanfront Santa Monica Hotel (formerly Hotel California) Unwind at this laid-back, oceanfront hideaway along the Pacific. Bask in the sun and carefree lifestyle of Southern California and stay a while at the Sea Blue Hotel. With a prime beachfront address, our tranquil, seaside refuge welcomes you to the heart of Santa Monica. Relax in our private courtyard with beach access, so you can dip your toes in the sand any time. Stay within walking distance of the Santa Monica Pier and the iconic Pacific Park Ferris wheel, and close to the local shops and galleries that line the Third Street Promenade. Just minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, and Malibu, our modern, surf-inspired accommodations with free Wi-Fi will leave you rested and relaxed, so you can head out to catch some waves and explore the best parts of coastal Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing