We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Blue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$188
$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$560
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$510
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveler rating
440
346
184
95
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
346
184
95
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel californiamovie posterseagles songgreat locationthe santa monica pierhardwood floorsmuscle beachqueen bedan older hotelseparate bedroomshort walk to the beachocean avethird street promenadeocean viewjamessurfboardcarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

A lovely little gem in the heart of Santa Monica! Walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier, one block from the boardwalk and a short walk to Venice Beach. Easy bike ride or bus ride to the mall. 20-30 minutes from LAX. Mornings are full of fresh coffee, milk, juice, fruits and pastry in the lobby. We had a two bedroom, I will say the beds are small, but all in all comfy! Character was abundant, beautiful dark wood, hard wood floors, flat screen tv, lots of room and clean! Staff was wonderful, as a woman traveler a safe feeling was had. Wonderful places to dine and fun bars are a half mile walk. Small court yards with fun wooded charis/tables surrounded by wonderful funa! Secured gate leadng to beach/boardwalk 24/7; front gate locked during evening hours.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms will hear walkers above, due to the beautiful hardwood floors!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located close to the Santa Monica Pier, and it has the basic necessities. Interestingly, no A/C and luckily we were there during cooler weather. However, the walls between other units seemed thin (noise coming through). It is old, but clean. They only have about 12 parking spaces for the entire hotel - so you can park at another hotel on the next block - if you park on the street you will be ticketed ($64 parking ticket versus a $25 parking fee by the hotel). The hotel clerks didn't seem to even care that you were there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It was a disaster from the start. We were promised a family suite, they booked us into a junior suite. We went down to complain and the lady at the front desk told us that she would take care of it by 1:30 we came back at 3:30 she was gone and we still had the junior suite. Steve at the desk told us he couldn't help us but he'd try. He couldn't do anything, so we stayed in the Junior suite. Dim lights, terrible bed, outlet covers were on crooked, it was very hard to charge our phones, bathroom was very small. We woke up to a very bad gas smell on Monday, when we complained they didn't know what to do. Mariel the day desk clerk was great, she said she could put us in a Family suite for the rest of our stay, it was a lot better. Bigger rooms, beds were very uncomfortable. Our TV didn't work so we called and they sent two of the maids to fix our TV. Neither one knew what they were doing. We ended up fixing it ourselves. I can say it was clean, but needs a lot of updating. Again Thanks to Mariel. She was the only hi lite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickMalizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We reserved room directly through the hotel web site and we got a confirmation by email. Upon arrival, the receptionist told us that "it was a mistake", no rooms were available and practically threw us out of the lobby. Extremely rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomasd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Avoid this place if you can. No AC, dirty, not very friendly staff and walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews