We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay in Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Palisades Suite with 2 kids.
The room was lovely and spacious with a big Bathroom, espresso machine and
THE BEST BED in the world!
We had 2 nice balconies overlooking the ocean.
Location is great and so are the views. We didn´t go to the pool because there
are so many other things to do in Santa Monica.
The retaurant was very good for breakfast and dinner, service got slow in the evening.
There are soooo many good restaurants nearby.
Ask the WONDERFUL concierge, he was the BEST and super helpful.
Valet parking is very efficient and friendly. Good value overall!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,296)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed with our 2 boys ages 7 and 10 in a Pallisades suite. The room was very spacious with a door separating the main bedroom from the sitting room with the pullout sofa. They also allowed a rollaway in the room so my kids didn't have to share the pullout. The bed was comfortable and bottled water was left by the bedside at turndown. Bathroom amenities were plentiful and there was adequate counter space.
The management had a lovely tray of pastry waiting for us when we arrived and housekeeping brought a fridge for us on request.
We used the beach butler service, but did not realize you need advance reservations for it as there are only 10 chairs at the beach for the Fairmont. We used the hotel car to get to and from the beach as the hotel is NOT on the beach.
We also rented bikes by the beach and rode to Venice beach. Stay away from the Pier at night, it gets a bit seedy.
Very short walk to the 3rd street promenade with lots of shops and Starbucks.
If you plan on being in Beverly Hills or Westwood alot, the traffic in LA is brutal. It took us 40 minutes to get to dinner in Bev Hills - even on a weekend!
The spa is really nothing special, though I didn't have a treatment, i used the shower area as the boys were busy getting ready in our room. The pool isn't that big and doesn't have alot of chairs around it, but it was heated!
The service was very good in all areas of the hotel and the concierge was spot on about the local attractions.
Valet was pricey at $30, but couldn't be bothered to look elsewhere to save $10.
I would stay here again, but only if I didn't plan on going too far from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyzrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Traveling with two teenagers, we had reserved an ocean tower suite, connecting to a regular room. The hotel upgraded us to a suite made up of a one-story bungalow connecting to a two-story bungalow. We had three terraces, three baths, flat screen with Bose surround sound, our own sauna, etc. It was absolutely spectacular. I did not want to leave the room.

We went to the beach only once, walking. We had reservations to use the hotel's shuttle service on another occasion, but I had to cancel so I cannot comment. It is a substantial schlep to the beach on your own on foot.

The hotel's Achilles heel is the beautiful pool. It was overcrowded and they ran out of lounge chairs most days and put deck chairs on the lawn for the overflow. My guess is that this would be less of a problem during an off-peak week for family vacations. Pool staff are attentive and do their best to accommodate.

The hotel's staff were well-trained, professional, diligent and friendly. Kudos to Michael at the concierge desk for securing a last-minute reservation at Lucques. Amenities, by Miller Harris of London, were also excellent.

I would definitely go back in a heartbeat for business, but if I went for leisure with family, i might pick a hotel with a better pool.

If you can afford to stay in a bungalow here, give it a try by all means.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz_and_cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My room was in the older wing and I pretty much liked it. Although the style was a bit old-fashioned, furniture were actually kinda old, and the bathroom is not on the shiniest side, I felt comfortable enough there. The entire building is not so new, so expect what you expect from older hotels. There are nicer hotels than this one in Santa Monica but this one has both the central location and the luxury. I'll certainly go back to this one whenever I visit Santa Monica. Next time I'm going to try one of those bungalows. Staffs were most kind and pleasant people! Oh I absolutely loved the fig tree in the garden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

A very nice hotel in a very good location.

It's a little pricey but on reflection well worth it.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Carll_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just returned from vacation in southern california and a stay at the fairmont. While the location was perfect, I was surprised by the poor service we received (i stayed 5 days). The check in was so slow, it was painful. The check in took about 16 minutes as the personnel would stare at the computer screen and then go to check on information with the manager (who i assume was in an office adjacent to the check in desk). All the while, we were standing at the desk (and this was early in the afternoon with no other customers).

I booked for 4 days (and then decided to stay another night) and needed to go to the check in counter again. Was served again by the slowest service in the hotel industry (and with the personnel checking again with the manager in the office). Arranging the additional day -- took another 16 minutes. Don't know why this took so long (as again i was one of 2 customers at the desk. In these recessionary days - i would think that hotels would be "on top of their game" as far as customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel more than lived up to its reputation and we had no complaints with our 4 night stay. Yes, it is a bit more expensive and we parked across the street to avoid the parking charges but it felt like a treat. The swimming pool area is lovely and the service from the pool staff very good. I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank Meredith on Reception who was really helpful when we arrived a night early and she managed to secure alternative accommodation when it was looking like we were going to have to sleep in the car - be warned, make sure you book in this area during peak periods! Anyway, many thanks to Meredith - she was great!
To be honest we didn't make much use of any of the other facilities as we spent most of our time sightseeing in Hollywood, etc. The hotel is very well located however for the beach, the pier and shopping in the pedestrianised 3rd St Promenade - this has all the shops you would expect to see in a large mall, has some good restaurants and great street entertainment. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont and in Santa Monica and the surrounding area with only one exception - Venice Beach, now that was just weird!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,893 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $436 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing