We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all regards - as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This Fairmount in particular is our favorite for its location, newly redecorated rooms, service and general ambience. If we have a choice of hotel when visiting the LA area for business, this is our choice; our trip in March was for a concert in LA and we stayed here for all of the reasons stated. Wonderful experience. Close to 3d Street Promenade, the beach, the PCH and the park. It's a fun walk through the park down to the famous Pier. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueAgave42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear BlueAgave12 –

We love hearing we are our guests’ favorite Fairmont…thank you!!! We do our very best to offer consistently exceptional service to keep guests such as yourself returning time and time again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rooms are somewhat small in ocean tower but veranda that came with room makes up for tight quarters. Room is nicely furnished. Pool seats are limited- so get to pool before 11. Spa was nice. Staff very courteous and go out of their way to accommodate their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Charlarae –

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It is true our Ocean Tower rooms seem small, but we try to make up for it with floor to ceiling mirrors and stunning views of the coast! Please reach out to me before your next trip so I can tell you all about our newly renovated Tower Suites...

And regarding the pool chairs, again, where space is limited we find other ways to make our guests smile…stay tuned for when our Beach Club returns after Memorial Day and we shuttle guests to and from the beach in our custom open-roof Jeep!

Thank you as well for the kind words about our team. See you next time!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our first disappointing experience at a Fairmont. The staff was half hearted, the room was old , noisy and not that clean. We left after a 1 night. We were in he older part of the hotel because we had a President club upgrade. They don't upgrade to the remodeled rooms of the hotel... It seems ridiculous to treat your good customers by putting them in the undesirable rooms. I would never recommend the place to people on vacation. At best it could be for a business trip if the company is paying the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Nathalie D –

Please reach out to me directly off-line at carly.skinner@fairmont.com. I'm so sorry your stay was clearly not indicative of the services we provide and I would love the opportunity to discuss further.

We are extremely appreciative of our valued Fairmont President’s Club members and actually do upgrade to our newly renovated rooms…these decisions are based upon our availability and the room category originally booked. Sounds like there is some misinformation out there, so please allow me to clarify.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wonderful location, view and service. A bit expensive but very accesible. All the main attractions are at a walking distance. The facilities are very nice and the service is impecable. I would definitely stay at the Fairmont Miramar when returning to Sta Monica.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear M C –

Thank you so much for the five stars and the rave review! You perfectly summed up exactly what we are about – especially the part about service being impeccable. Above all we strive towards the highest standards in customer service. After all, where would we be without our guests such as yourself??

Looking forward to your next trip to the West Coast!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We splurged a little bit for spring break and the whole family wound up at the Miramar Hotel. First of all - it's a beautiful location. It's close to everything and essentially across the street from the beach - excellent views from the rooms. The pool was wonderful, but seating was a little limited. We didn't have any problem finding chairs at the pool and, of course, the kids loved the jacuzzi.

Service was excellent - as expected. And there is something about a Fairmont hotel - they are just comfortable and elegant at the same time and it's a beautiful combination for a hotel. I'd go back in a heartbeat and highly recommend the Miramar Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Derman –

Thank you for such a fantastic review and I’m beyond thrilled we were worth the splurge! That’s what vacations are for, right? We so look forward to Spring Break and Summer Vacation where we get the opportunity to show families such as yours a well-deserved good time.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our first flight since our daughter was paralyzed in an accident four years ago. She uses a wheelchair full-time now and after we decided where we were going the research started.

Much of this review will be helpful to other wheelchair users to know ahead of time. We have stayed at the Fairmont brand before and decided this location in Santa Monica would work well for us. We rented a ramp van that we picked up curbside at LAX. The Fairmont is valet only, however handicapped parking is available. I will note here that CA does a great job (from what we experienced) with handicapped parking and accessibility in general.

A few things about this hotel if you are a wheelchair user. The elevators to the rooms are up the stairs in the lobby. There is a small elevator there but it kind of becomes a hassle so we just went up the ramp from the valet stand and into the hotel. Much faster and easier. Our accessible room was quite far from the elevators down a carpeted hallway. If our daughter brought her manual chair this would have been a struggle for her to just try to get to the room by herself over the hall carpet. The room itself was roomy enough to use a wheelchair in however the transfers to the bed were very tight. There was not a lot of room for her chair on either side of the beds. (We had two doubles in the room.) Nice tiled bathroom with a roll-in shower which made things easy. We tried to enjoy some food and drink in the lobby bar outside but navigating the too close together tables, chairs and people in this part of the hotel is the absolute worst. Forget about it this area unless you really want to make a scene and make a point. The pool area is nice and has a lift for mobility impaired persons. HOWEVER, you will not be able to get to the lift because there is not enough room on the pool deck for your wheelchair. You will have to get help moving chairs/people, which if you are up to it is great but most people don't like to cause a scene when going for a simple dip.

So, now you know what to expect here. It is still a great location, great service and a good restaurant in a pretty flat area with the 3rd Street Promenade practically across the street as well a quick crossing of Ocean for views of the Pacific.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newdryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear newdryer –

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and informative review! We strive to make all our guests equally comfortable and it sounds like we are getting it right. Though there are some challenges with making changes to an older building, we do our very best to make sure none of our guests are inconvenienced and feel the need to “cause a scene” as you say.

And regarding the pool area, I have to say I know what you mean. In the morning when we set up the chairs, we leave ample space for a wheelchair to access the lift and move easily around the pool. However, our sun-hungry guests are constantly moving chairs around to catch the best rays…so it sounds like we could do a better job keeping things in order.

Again, thank you for the review, and please feel free to reach out to me directly before your next stay so I can ensure everything goes just as smoothly as this one.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

i would be certain to know if the rooms have been updated or not, although the location of this hotel is extraordinary, it did not have the value we expected by looking at the pictures. the hotel needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear George R –

I’m very sorry you feel misinformed by pictures of our property. We have a number of room categories, some recently renovated and some not, so I can understand how it may be confusing.

Myself and our Reservations Team are standing by to help choose the right room for you should you decide to stay with us again (which I certainly hope you do!) We are seriously updating the property on a daily basis, so if you return I’m sure you will not be disappointed.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,910 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,645 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $433 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing